Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Small wonders in life


It is almost hard to belief how winter has hit us with such a sudden bang. It was only about 2 weeks ago that we had no snow and now we have an amount equal to about 2/3 of our entire snow fall last year. It is beautiful when the snow first arrives. It is suddenly so much brighter outside as the snow reflects the light of the street lights in the nights. Now I have lived through enough winters that it shouldn’t surprise me yet every year it seem to do just that. The first snow fall carpets the ground and the streets. This “carpet” on the roads deadens a lot of the traffic noise and vehicle glide by almost silently. Now that only seems to last for about a day as the snow gets packed down to form ice and ruts and we are back to normal. But, for that day it is almost magical.

I have noticed that some how I have changed over the past while. I do seem to notice and appreciate those small wonders.Our street is lined with beautiful old elm trees. I have always thought that was nice, a street lined with a bunch of trees is beautiful. I still see that but I see each individual tree as its own unique, beautiful and living self. OK, an elm tree is an elm tree but put a long row of them together and if you really look you can see the uniqueness of each, I suppose the individuality of each. Does that make sense?

Over the past month or so I have started about a dozen different post but life seems to keep getting in the way of me finishing them. A couple I am struggling with as they have deep and special meaning to me, messages I do want to share. I am going to try to be more diligent in getting them done and post more often.

I thank all for the prayers offer for my cousin Judy, please may they continue, I thank you

6 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Small wonders in life

  1. Irene says:

    Dear Bill,
    Thanks for the post. I really dislike winter, but you reminded me to try to find the “wonder” in all that whiteness. On the topic of finding things amazing, may I recommend a book? It’s called The Book of Awesome. It’s all about finding the miracle in the mundane. It really is awesome…Praying for you and Judy. Thinking about you often, Wiseman.
    Irene

  2. Eric says:

    I have here a raging forest fire. It doesn’t look that it will head in our direction but nefarious people may be behind it so we are diligent. Over 40 people have died. My point being Bill, don’t put off till tomorrow…

  3. souldipper says:

    If the transformation that has been predicted, and is actually proving to be underfoot now, is achieved in the next two years, you have just expressed the caliber of appreciation, awareness and openness needed to bring about the change we have to make as a society. It is in your sentence expressing that you see: “each individual tree as its own unique, beautiful and living self”.

    Sounds simple, but it is profoundly evolutionary. You are an example, Bill. No simple matter.

  4. souldipper says:

    Just thought I’d share a blog that is done by an artist who only uses nature to create her art. She just happened to be featuring trees today! http://clegyrboia.wordpress.com/2010/12/03/trees-and-the-climate-bomen-en-het-klimaat/#comment-118

    Just in case you would love some out-of-the-box thinking.

  5. Mel says:

    After several inches of snow, I sat in the 23 degree weather to listen to the silence. It was worth the coldness. I shall love the return of the bird song–but cherish the silence of today.

    Awakenings happen. Sounds like a few have happened for you. I eagerly await more.
    Discovering the uniqueness in all of G-d’s creations is an awesome thing, methinks.

  6. Freda says:

    I’m finding it hard to cope with the cold today so your post is a great blessing. Tomorrow, I need to try and take some photos of the white wonder around us. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

