Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Building ourselves within


Repost of a portion of a post from way back 02/07

I spend so much time reflecting back on my life. I seem to see things so differently now. Via email, I received one of those inspirational type messages. It was the story of a very skilled carpenter that took great pride and care in ensuring every job was done well. After many years of quality work, it reached the point he decided to retire and informed his employer of this. On hearing this his employer practically begged him to build on last house. Out of loyalty and respect for the employer he agreed. But as the construction began it was obvious his heart wasn’t in it. He began taking short cuts, using shoddy materials, putting forth less than his best effort, anything he could to just get through each day. Ultimately, the house was finished, on the outside it looked good and only the carpenter in his heart knew of the inferior work contained within. Upon completion the employer handed the carpenter the keys to the house, gifting it to him in recognition of the years of good work. Now only when it was to late did the carpenter regret the quality of the work he had put into building that house. Only then did he regret, every thing he had done. Things he had done just to make it a little easier to get through a particular day, were coming back to haunt him.

I see this as such a good comparison to life. Our inner selves our true selves are a continual work in progress, constantly, “under construction”. Our bodies are our personal houses. Housing the true us, our spirits contained within, during our time on this earth. Do we want to end up as the carpenter did? Reach our end, with our houses (bodies) looking good or at least OK. But, in our hearts knowing of all the flaws and defective workmanship contained within.

Is it possible to attain perfection, of course not. At least not in this physical world. We are human and as such will always have some internal imperfections. We can though at least try our best. Our every day, every act is one more step in the building of our internal selves. Our every act whether and act of love, kindness, cruelty, deceit or what ever put another brick in place in the construction of our inner selves. Every time we take the easy way over what we may know to be the right way, another brick.

If only we would stop and see the big picture, today is not just today. It is an important day in the building of the true me.

3 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Building ourselves within

  1. souldipper says:

    What a great analogy, Bill. In the end, we only shortchange ourselves so it is so worthwhile to give our best at all times. Thank for a great meditative focus for me. – amy

    Thank you Amy
    Bill

  2. Mel says:

    Have I been around that long? Geeze….

    It’s a great story–and I know how ‘tired’ goes, when I compromise the ingrity of my work and my name. Shoulda stopped, shouldn’t not ventured into the circumstances with only half of ‘me’ present. (darn ‘shouldas’….) It happens. I know why WPIML tells me to ‘be present’ when I’m bodily somewhere–or ‘rest when weary’. I cheat the other person, and I cheat me.
    Funny….I’m okay with cheating me–it’s the cheating someone else that’s horribly difficult for me.

    I enjoyed the story, sir.
    I’ve missed the wisdom you share here.
    And more than that, I’ve just missed YOU.

    (((((((((( Bill )))))))))))
    Be safe, stay well, sir.

    Thanks Mel, we have been blogging buddies for a long time and I have enjoyed and appreciated ever moment of it. I was curious as to how long it actually has been. I went back into the comments and found you have been gracing the blog since way back in Jan/07. Thank you.
    Bill

    • Mel says:

      *laughing* I guess that makes me an ‘old fart’ around here, huh?!

      LOLOL Here and everywhere else, I guess!

      (((((((( Bill )))))))))

      Jan. 07….holy moly I’m a tough one to get rid of huh? 😉

      Hey Mel, you may be the “old fart” lol but getting rid of you would never ever be a consideration. I so appreicate all you have added to the blog and in all the wise ways in which you have helped me.
      Bill

Leave a Reply

