Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Faith/Religion merely a crutch used by the weak???


I was looking through some of my old saved draft posts and came across this one. I think I almost have a bit of a memory of starting but can’t be sure. Anyway, this is what I had written.

I came across a comment the other day that must have been written by someone with a very scientific mindset. It was worded something to the effect:

“Faith/Religion is a crutch leaned on by those that are too weak to face their lives on their own. Science is slowly explaining all and with time and further advancement will be able to explain away all. Belief in an afterlife gives those without the strength to accept the finality of their death merely an element of hope”

OK, that is as far has I had written at that time. Anyone that knows me will know I have my strong beliefs in this regard. I will try to get a post up in the next few days explaining all as I see it.

I would be interested in hearing your thoughts on this.

7 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Faith/Religion merely a crutch used by the weak???

  1. Cat says:

    I think the author of that comment has faith in science. How else does he know that science will eventually be able to “explain away all?” 🙂

    I’m not anti-science by any means, but that doesn’t mean I can’t also have religious or spiritual faith. It’s not a blind faith — I question it often, but I still have it. I take a dim view of zealots on either side who believe that science and religion are mutually exclusive. I would prefer it if everyone would refrain from trying to push their own beliefs on others.

  2. souldipper says:

    I’ve had too many life-altering experiences to doubt the existence of some incredible power that no scientist has been able to measure or quantify. An example of one experience: http://souldipper.wordpress.com/2010/01/17/i-knew-i-was-going-to-die/

    And actually, there was a study done on prayer and the results were unarguably significant even according to stringent scientific research standards.

    I, too, am going to clean up my Drafts…

    Lots of blessings and healing light to you, Bill,
    – Amy

  3. Mel says:

    I’ve had too many experiences to doubt. People can argue opinions, but they don’t get to argue my experiences. Explain away all you like, I experience what I experience.
    I have no real need to defend the relationship I have with my Maker. Nor do I have a need to argue the value of science. I might add that science can only know what they know until they know more/experience different. That’s how come they get to keep changing their ‘truths’.
    Gosh…..I think that means we’re in the same boat! LOL Sorta kinda maybe? 😉

  4. Irene says:

    Dear Bill,
    I haven’t been here in a while, but that doesn’t mean that I haven’t thought about everyone!!
    Gee, Bill…don’t you love Mel’s wisdom?? Somewhere between your posts and Mel’s responses, I find my peace. It’s great to have such friends…
    Praying for you, Wiseman.
    Irene

  5. Lou Lou says:

    Dear Bill,
    I stumbled across your blog looking for a phrase that I had posted on my FaceBook: “When we truly love it is never lost. It is only after death that the depth of the bond is truly felt, and our loved one becomes more a part of us than was possible in life.”
    Oriental Tradition
    This phrase ment alot to considering I lost my fiance on July 2, 2010. I guess I have been searching for reasoning to his death..sudden heart attack. We are both 46 yrs old. I have so many mixed emotions right now. I’m hurt, sad, mad, lonely and a little depressed.
    After browsing your blog a little, I decided to start at the begining. Your first amazing thought that encourages me is the one associating dying with the birth of a baby. How great of an explanation to why we fear death. Of course fearing death and facing the troubles of being the one left behind are two different issues, I’m hoping to find a little peace of mind through your blog. I plan on reading more of it each day. I truly believe, from what I’ve read so far that you are a very spiritual man and this last post probably fits in somewhere down the line. I wish you the best and hope that the remaining days of your life are not painful days but blessed ones.

    Hello Lou Lou and welcome to the blog. I am so very sorry to hear of the passing of your fiance, you are in my heart thoughts and prayers. Your comment is full of much wisdom and I thank you for sharing it with us. You are so right on when you say the fear of facing death and facing the troubles of being the one left behind are two different issues. Personally, I believe it is many times harder on the loved ones left behind trying to pick up the pieces of their lives and carry on. When someone of great significance in our lives dies, our own lives going forward will never be the same again. It can’t be the same as someone that played a big part in our lives is gone. Now, that in itself is a very sobering thought. With your fiancee having passed so very recently I can only image that this well may be how you see the world at this moment. At this time so soon after his passing, it is alright to feel that way. You must grieve and that can take time. How we deal with our grief is a very personal in individual thing. We each do it in our own way and in our own time.
    I hope though that you will remember this one thing as you go through and learn to deal with your feelings. It is true you life will never be exactly the same but with time it can become just as good, different but just as good. It is very possibly too early in your grieving process to even consider such a thought and that I can understand. Maybe just bury that thought way back in your mind until the time is right.
    You are in such a very difficult time, I encourage you to reach out to family, friends, a minister. Lean on them for support in this time of need. It is not a sign of weakness to reach out, it is a sign of being human. “I’m hurt, sad, mad, lonely and a little depressed”. You can face a whole range of emotions you may at times feel angry at your fiancee for leaving you, at God for taking him from you and that is OK you are human.
    I feel honored that you chose to share you feelings with me here on the blog and I do welcome you to return anytime you like and as often as you like. This is a very supportive, understanding and loving spot. you are welcome to return to rant and rave, to cry, to grieve in the way that you need to at the moment. Understanding and support will be here for you.
    You are the number one priority right now, take care of yourself in healthy ways.
    I am so touched by your message, I hope you don’t mind I am going to email you directly.
    Bill

    • Jennie says:

      “Faith/Religion is a crutch leaned on by those that are too weak to face their lives on their own. Science is slowly explaining all and with time and further advancement will be able to explain away all. Belief in an afterlife gives those without the strength to accept the finality of their death merely an element of hope”

      The comment is rather arrogant, i.e. “I’m strong and logical and believers are weak, dummies.” For some people, it may be that faith/religion is mostly a crutch. More often it seems to me that trying to live the way Jesus taught us, requires a good deal of strength. It gives comfort and meaning, but also asks a lot from us.

      I’ve heard the same sort of arrogance from some believers who say “Atheists are people who are too weak to live up to a moral code”. That’s just as silly. That may be true of some atheists, but many are fine people with strong ethics who are highly motivated to make the most of this life, because they think that’s all they’ve got.

      Arrogance, from any angle, is usually a sign of weakness in that person.

      I believe in an afterlife, yet, I recognize I could be wrong because I haven’t had the experience of dying. (at least that I remember). The more intellectually honest, and humble, atheists I know, also acknowledge that they may turn out to be wrong as well.

    • Cat says:

      Lou Lou, I am so very sorry to hear about your fiance. I hope that you don’t mind if I share a couple of passages with you that were very comforting to me after my brother died. The first one is from “The Prophet” by Kahlil Gibran:

      “For what is it to die but to stand naked in the wind and to melt into the sun? And what is it to cease breathing, but to free the breath from its restless tides, that it may rise and expand and seek God unencumbered?

      Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance.”

      This excerpt from a sermon by Henry Scott Holland also helped me a lot:

      “Death is nothing at all. It does not count. I have only slipped away into the next room. Nothing has happened. Everything remains exactly as it was. I am I, and you are you, and the old life that we lived so fondly together is untouched, unchanged. Whatever we were to each other, that we are still. Call me by the old familiar name. Speak of me in the easy way which you always used. Put no difference into your tone. Wear no forced air of solemnity or sorrow. Laugh as we always laughed at the little jokes that we enjoyed together. Play, smile, think of me, pray for me. Let my name be ever the household word that it always was. Let it be spoken without an effort, without the ghost of a shadow upon it. Life means all that it ever meant. It is the same as it ever was. There is absolute and unbroken continuity. What is this death but a negligible accident? Why should I be out of mind because I am out of sight? I am but waiting for you, for an interval, somewhere very near, just round the corner. All is well. Nothing is hurt; nothing is lost. One brief moment and all will be as it was before. How we shall laugh at the trouble of parting when we meet again!”

      I hope these are helpful to you, as well, and I hope that you stick around on Bill’s blog. It’s a wonderful place to find compassionate, supportive friends.

Leave a Reply

