Dying Man’s Daily Journal – The value of our precious time


I have often written of how I love to receive emails of all sorts. So very often the messages contain such wonderful messages. This is a message I received today, it really is something to think about. It came to me in an email not sure of its origins or due credit would be given.

Something To Think About!
 
Imagine that you had won the following prize in a contest:
Each morning your bank would deposit $86,400.00 in your private account for your use. However, this prize had rules, just as any game has certain rules.

The first set of rules would be:
 Everything that you didn ‘ t spend during each day would be taken away from you.
You may not simply transfer money into some other account.
You may only spend it.
Each morning upon awakening, the bank opens your account with another $86,400.00 for that day.
The second set of rules:
 The bank can end the game without warning; at any time it can say, It ‘ s over, the game is over! It can close the account and you will not receive a new one.
What would you personally do?
 You would buy anything and everything you wanted, right?
 Not only for yourself, but for all people you love, right?
 Even for people you don ‘ t know, because you couldn ‘ t possibly spend it all on yourself, right?
You would try to spend every cent, and use it all, right?

ACTUALLY, this GAME is REALITY!

Each of us is in possession of such a magical bank.We just can ‘ t seem to see it.
The MAGICAL BANK is TIME!

Each morning we awaken to receive 86,400 seconds as a gift of life, and when we go to sleep at night, any remaining time is NOT credited to us.
What we haven ‘ t lived up that day is forever lost.

Yesterday is forever gone.

Each morning the account is refilled, but the bank can dissolve your account at any time….WITHOUT WARNING.

SO, what will YOU do with your 86,400 seconds?

Aren ‘ t they worth so much more than the same amount in dollars?
Think about that, and always think of this:
Enjoy every second of your life, because time races by so much quicker than you think.

So take care of yourself, and enjoy life!

Heres wishing you a wonderfully beautiful day!!!

7 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – The value of our precious time

  1. Leora says:

    Dear hudds53:

    My name is Leora Trub and I am a student in the Clinical Psychology Ph.D. Program at The Graduate Center of the City University of New York (CUNY). I am conducting a study of the reasons that people blog and what benefits it brings, which at this point are still largely unexplored in research studies. I am therefore reaching out to you as a blogger who can help deepen our understanding of this phenomenon. I believe that your voice is an important one to be heard and hope you will enjoy participating in the study. I have developed an online questionnaire that asks about specific aspects of blogging as well as asking about feelings about yourself and others in your life. The survey is a mix of numerical scales and opportunities to reflect in an open-ended format about the role of blogging in your life, and how it has changed over time.

    You are eligible to participate if you are at least 21 years of age and have been maintaining an English-language personal blog for at least six months that you update or visit at least twice a week (on average). Your participation involves completing a confidential online questionnaire. The data will be downloaded onto a secure server to which only I have access. No identifying information, such as your names or address, will be collected. If you desire, you may choose not to share your blog name, in which case I will not access your blog for any reason after this point. If you do share your blog name, it will NOT be connected to your responses in the survey. Additionally, you will be given the opportunity to be identified by a code name in research reports and to have your blog description changed slightly so it cannot be identified.

    The survey takes approximately 45 minutes to complete and participation is completely voluntary. Three participants who complete the survey will be randomly selected by a lottery to receive a $75 cash prize.

    There are no foreseeable risks to participation in the study. Although some of the questions are personal in nature, participation in the study provides an opportunity to think about the role that your blog plays in your life.

    If you have any questions about this research, you can contact me at (732) 407-7928 or ltrub@gc.cuny.edu, or my advisors Dr. Arietta Slade at (212) 650-5658 or arietta.slade@gmail.com and Dr. Tracey Revenson at (212) 817-8709 or trevenson@gc.cuny.edu.

    The study has been approved by the Institutional Review Board of the Graduate School of the City University of New York and meets of their guidelines as well as all state and federal guidelines for research with human participants. If you have any concerns about the project at any time, you can contact Ms. Kay Powell, Institutional Review Board at the Graduate School of the City University of New York (212) 817-7525 or kpowell@gc.cuny.edu.

    In order to participate in this study, I need to send you an invitation through survey monkey. If you are interested, please send an email to ltrub@gc.cuny.edu from the email address to which you would like the invitation sent. I hope that you will decide to participate and also that you will share it with others if you decide you would like to. Please feel free to contact me with any questions.

    Sincerely,

    Leora Trub, M.A.
    Doctoral student in Clinical Psychology
    Graduate School of the City University of New York
    365 Fifth Avenue, New York, NY 10016-4309
    ltrub@gc.cuny.edu

  2. babychaos says:

    I think, as a mum, my time spending is very much controlled but at the same time, I do try to enjoy and value my day!

    Cheers

    BC

    Hi BC, being a mum is so time consuming. I speak here as a dad. I hope you get ever moment of joy your can out of the mom experience and out of life.

  3. Mel says:

    251,564 (in case you were wondering…..)

    Day’s more than half gone–honestly, I’m not real thrilled with how I spent a chunk of the 86,400.
    BUT!!
    I can change that! 🙂
    NOW.

    Right on my friend we can always change the day or even our lives starting right now. Would you consider elaborating on your day so far.

  4. Cat says:

    I have another Gabriella update for those who are interested. She had a CT scan last week and got the results today — no signs of cancer anywhere!! She still has five and a half weeks of radiation treatments left, and she will get regular CT scans to make sure the cancer stays gone, but at the moment, she is cancer free!! Thanks to everyone who prayed for her and kept her in your thoughts.

    Cat this is wonderful news about Garbiella, she is in my prayers

  5. Jill Cooper says:

    Interesting and very thought-provoking. The only seconds I’d give up gratefully today are the seconds I’m going to spend in the dentist chair this morning LOL

    Hi Jill, I agree there are those occasions such as in a dentist’s chair. Hope it all goes well, I know it will

  6. Derek says:

    By chance I happened across your blog about 6 months ago. By its title, I had initial thought this would be a whiney negative narative of a man mostly complaining of his medical ailments. As I started to read though, I realized I was so very wrong. This is not a dying journal but a journal on how to live. I congratuate you on having the courage to open yourself up and share your inner feelings as you have. Reading a little here and a little there made me realize I just had to go back to the very beginning to get the entire story.
    What you have shared over the years is nothing short of inspiring. You have provided a manual with which to live a good healthy life. I thank you.
    You often use the words, struggling with wording. That is what I find myself doing here. This is your blog and you have done a wonderful job with it. You said you have over 800 posts, that is a lot of reading, I know as I have read it all. Sprinkled thoughout your posts are many life leasons, I feel many would benefit from reading. I question though how many would take or even have the time to read it all the way through as I did.
    Your blog is your blog and is wonderful in what ever way you present it.
    Please forgive me if you are in anyway offended when I take the liberty of offering a suggestion. Possibly better put would be to ask a favor.
    You have different pages on your blog. Would you or could you possibly start one more. You could call it Bill’s wisdom. Readers such as myself could copy and put up different of your postings from over the time. The ones that were of help or meaningful to us individually. Now, please understand that it not to mean I don’t thind each of you posts are not meaningful and good to read. They are that, it is in some you share more profound wisdom. These sort of posts would be right there in one place and not spread throughout the entire blog. I do hope you understand what I am saying and are not taking any sort of offence. It is just an idea.
    I congratulate you on a job so well done and thank you so very much.
    Derek

    hello Derek, I thank you for this very thought provoking comment. I could very easily set up another page, I am not so sure about calling it Bill’s wisdom, maybe Bill’s ramblings or something like that. I am not sure which posts would fall into the category but I will give it some thought. I am glad you enjoyed the reading and thank you for your kind comment.
    Bill

  7. Derek says:

    Bill, you set up the page and I have a number of your posts I would copy and put in it as I am sure many others would.
    D.

Leave a Reply

