Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Live Life Be Happy


One of my recent posts has come back to haunt me. I think it was in my St Patrick’s Day post I posed a few questions, thoughts that just occasionally rattle around in this empty head of mine.

One of the questions was to the effect, if you somehow knew you only had 5 minutes to live and could leave behind but one recorded message, what would it be, and to whom would you leave it? I was looking for thoughts or ideas from readers. Now I find I have received 3 different emails asking me how in fact I would answer that very question. Now that is actually something I have given thought to over the past couple of years. I”d know what I would want my message to  be, it is just how to find the words to express it. I have actually tried to write it out a couple of times but find myself getting lost and going in circles. I am not a writer and have never tried to pretend I am. I am a rambler, I just start typing and what comes out is what it is, so here goes.

First to my family I want to express my undying love. Tell each individually how proud I am of them, how proud, blessed and lucky I am to have them in my family, in my life. i would want to thank all of my friends for honoring me by spending some of their precious time on this earth with me. To any that may chose to read this,may God bless you.

Live Life, be happy. Seek to enjoy every  moment of our precious time on this earth. The ability to live life, enjoy life and be happy is right there in front of each of us. We just have to recognize it, reach out and grab it. Every day, every moment we are faced with a decision. As our lives unfold before us, circumstance, situations will develope around us, many of which we have no control over.Life just happens and we are there for the ride. Life or at least any individual part of it may not be the ride we had hoped for but it is what we have at that moment. There are no constants in life, this to shall change. If you are in a bad patch, live the best way you can,knowing this too shall change. If you are in a high spot live it to the max. remembering this too shall change, this is life something will come along to give your ride even a little bump.

There are always 2 ways to look at everything. We make the choise to look at events with a positive mindset or a negative mindset. As hard as it may seem at times that choice is indeed ours to make. As we make that choice we affect no one but ourselves,  the quality of the life we live, the enjoyment we get out of it.

Don’t take things in life personally. If someone say lashes out at you in an unkind, rude or nasty manner. Try to remember, their action is prompted by where they are in their heads at the time, the type of mindset they are carrying. Just because they in their mind are in a bad place doesn’t mean we have to allow them to drag us in our thinking to a similar place. We are only responsible for our own lives, our own thoughts and actions. as we are responsible for our own lives, it is up to us to ensure we care for ourselves by not allowing others to drag us down.

There is another conscious choise we make regularly. Is it better to be “right” or is it better to be happy. I chose happy. Every single person we meet in our journey through life is travelling their own path, which may not be the same as that i have chosen for myself. With this thoughts and feelings on virtually every topic you can imagine may vary. This applies to family,  friends,everyone you are going to meet. As I have followed my path, based on my own experiences,  my thought on any individual issue my well differ from yours. There is always more than one path any where, always more than one way to do most things in life. What could make me think my way is the only right way? Suppose I was in a conflict with anyone, a spouse, in-laws, coworkers. Suppose in this conflict, I “KNOW” I am right. At the very same time based on their lives, they also “know” they are right. I am faced with a choise, 2 ways to look at everything. Do I  want to push on to “make” everyone else see that I am indeed right or do I want to be happy. I choose happy. In my own mind I am comfortable knowing for me and my thoughts I am indeed right and as I do want happiness more than being recognized as being right I just let it go. Don’t take things personally, be happy.

I likely have more but 5 minutes might be up, don’t know and I am tired.

10 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Live Life Be Happy

  1. Jaymie says:

    Always seems like it should be the easy choice but if I don’t practice daily it gets more difficult. Maybe I am starting to catch on? 🙂

  2. Betty says:

    Hi Bill,

    Great post!

    Wishing you, Vi and your family a very Happy Easter.

    Betty

  3. nodoubtrocks says:

    The Charlie Schulz Philosophy

    The following is the philosophy of Charles Schulz, the creator of the ‘Peanuts’ comic strip.
    You don’t have to actually answer the questions. Just ponder on them.
    Just read the e-mail straight through, and you’ll get the point.

    1. Name the five wealthiest people in the world.
    2. Name the last five Heisman trophy winners.
    3. Name the last five winners of the Miss America pageant.
    4 Name ten people who have won the Nobel or Pulitzer Prize.
    5. Name the last half dozen Academy Award winners for best actor and actress.
    6. Name the last decade’s worth of World Series winners.

    How did you do?
    The point is, none of us remember the headliners of yesterday.
    These are no second-rate achievers.
    They are the best in their fields.
    But the applause dies..
    Awards tarnish..
    Achievements are forgotten.
    Accolades and certificates are buried with their owners.

    Here’s another quiz. See how you do on this one:
    1. List a few teachers who aided your journey through school.
    2. Name three friends who have helped you through a difficult time.
    3. Name five people who have taught you something worthwhile.
    4. Think of a few people who have made you feel appreciated and special.
    5. Think of five people you enjoy spending time with.

    Easier?
    The lesson:
    The people who make a difference in your life are not the ones with the most credentials, the most money. or the most awards.
    They simply are the ones who care the most.
    Pass this on to those people who have either made a difference in your life,
    or whom you keep close in your heart, like I did.
    ‘Don’t worry about the world coming to an end today. It’s already tomorrow in Australia !’

    ”Be Yourself. Everyone Else Is Taken!”

  4. Mel says:

    Awwwwwww…… ((((((( Bill )))))))))

    I’ll admit that reading what you had to pass on, made me a bit choked up. You do yourself proud, I hope you know that.

    I hope for the dignity and grace you share with us here, Bill.
    And I hope I end up with half the wisdom you possess–even with your wonky head. 😉

    Enquiring minds wanna know, of course–just ‘zackly who took the World Championship in Cribbabe. :-/

    (((((((( Bill ))))))))

    I hope you’ve had an awesome Holy Week–and enjoy your Easter weekend, sir!

  5. Cat says:

    You reminded me of a quote from a recent episode of the t.v. show “Bones.” Agent Booth and his brother are having a disagreement over something Agent Booth did (running a background check on his brother’s new girlfriend and then telling his brother what he found out). Booth’s brother is upset with him, and Booth is talking about the issue with Bones, and he asks her, “So you think I’m wrong?” She says, “I don’t think you’re wrong, but I fail to see the point of being right.” That line really stuck with me for some reason.

    Happy Easter to you and yours, Bill, and to all of your readers!

  6. tzongyih says:

    Nice sharing, thank you.

  7. Jill Cooper says:

    This one is a keeper Bill. Hope you had a lovely Easter. Blessings to you.

  8. starlaschat says:

    Thank You, that was very good advice in 5 minutes. I can tell very heartfelt, I appreciate your insight.

  9. Gloria says:

    Hi Bill,
    I am sure it has been a hectic few days and we have been giving you time to enjoy your visit.
    Enough of that! How was Easter dinner, what all have you covered?
    And most importantly……. WHO won the championship of the world? Is the current champ, still the Champ? Or were the Crib Gods (horse shoes) with someone else?
    I am looking forward to hearing all about, but would appreciate “Balanced feedback”, just in case.

    Looking forward to hearing from you.
    Gloria

  10. Sherry Howdle says:

    Looks like a stacked deck to me! HA HA Congratulations on your big win! Wow! Beating Bel and Garry is a big deal. Did you need that 28 to win or were you already skunking them?!

    Looks (and sounds) like you’re having fun! Can’t wait to hear all about it!

Leave a Reply

