Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Happy St. Patrick’s Day


Ah, ’tis a grand day to be having the blood of the Irish in your veins. Imagine me trying to speak with an Irish accent with that.

Have you ever had one of those days that at the time is really embarassing, but you know in time you will be laughing about it. Brain tumor guy here had just such a day yesterday. When I get to the laughing point I will likely be posting about it, if I can even remember it.

I have a lot of time on my hands to just think. My mind can sometimes seemingly travel to the most “unsual” places. I remember my daughter one time asking me. “where do you come up with these things?” Here are a sample of but a few.

When you plant a tiny seed in your garden, you cover it with dirt. When it starts to grow, how does it know which way is up to allow it to sprout through the ground to the sunlight. Even the tiniest of seeds have some level of intelligence????

There are millions of vehicles on highways today all around the world. Those vehicles travel on rubber tires. The tread on those tires does wear away. When is wears away, were does all that rubber go?

The hands on the face of a clock rotate in what we call the clockwards direction. Is there a reason they rotate in this direction or was it just an abirtary decision made by who ever it was that first invented the clock?

THe concept of time fascinates me. The idea that it extends enlessly into the future. It is hard for my physical mind to grasp that concept, of anything being endless. Now if it extends endlessly before us, it stand to reason it also extends endlessly behind us, it had no beginning!! Nothing happened in all those years prior to mankind???

Why is there a statute of limitations on crimes except as I understand murder? Now petty crime I can understand but things like rape???

What does skin color have to do with anything??

If somehow you knew you only had 5 minutes to live and could leave behind only one recorded message, what would it be? To whom would it be directed? Why would you have waited until that point to have delivered that message? Are you thinking of delivering that message now,  instead of waiting? If not, why not?

3 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Happy St. Patrick’s Day

  1. Jaymie says:

    Excellent things to consider. Have a happy day!

  2. Mel says:

    Holy moly, Bill…..

    The good news is the older I get, the more I just plain don’t know…. And honestly, I think most times I’m okay with that.

    But I’m guessin’ the rubber hits the road.

    Maybe that’s the answer to more than one question?
    LOL

  3. Cat says:

    I like to come up with questions like those, too. I’m glad I’m not the only one whose mind comes up with these things. 🙂 And I am totally with you on the statute of limitations for rape — especially now that we can use DNA evidence, there should not be a statute of limitations for a crime like that.

Leave a Reply

