Dying Man’s Daily Journal – A New Beginning


There is something strange happening in this house. There is an old guy living in our mirror, every time I look in the mirror I see him there. Now how did that happen? Every time I look in the mirror, there he is, geesh. This guy in the mirror obviously looks much older and has less hair than I do?????

It is strange in that I do face that mirror at least 10 or 12 times a day between shaving, brushing teeth, washing……. but i guess I never really look at the reflection. i suppose I am concentrating more on the task at hand. This morning I was brushing my teeth and I am not sure what prompted me to do it but I really looked at that guy staring back at me. I am sure glad I have been getting all those emails about how it is good to grow and look old. lol. Actually, none of this bothers me in the slightest.

THis all brought to mind something my dear mother used to tell me,  way way back when.

Everyday at some time you are going to have to face yourself in the mirror. When you do look beyond the physical person you see looking back at you. Look at yourself as a person who you are. Get past the physical appearance and ask yourself, am I happy, content even a little proud to be the person I see staring back at me in the mirror. As you stare at your reflection ask yourself, am I the person I want to be, living the life I want to live. If in fact the answer to any of those questions if no, then ask yourself, OK, what am I going to do about it? She was a great believer in every or any single moment in time was the perfect time for a new beginning or to start a change. Putting it off was just wasting time.

Dwelling in or fretting about the past will ruin your today and possibly spoil your tomorrow. Anew beginning is exactly that, beginning anew, the past is gone let it go, concentrate on today. Now  by her definition though the past was gone and should be left alone. EXCEPT for yesterday, that one day only.

As you look into that mirror think of yesterday. Am I satisfied with my behaviour etc. on that day. If not what am I going to do to make ammends, or learn from it. What am I going to do to ensure, what ever it may have been doesn’t happen again.

Some how that message has struck with me over the years. I can look back  to my younger and maybe a little bit wilder days. There were days when I dreaded the thought of facing myself in that mirror. Maybe there weren’t enough of these times, but I do remember a few times when the thought of facing  that damn mirror in the morning actually did cause me to stop and think before leaping into action.

20 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – A New Beginning

  1. Dennis Robinson says:

    I read your first two pages articles today and I have to wonder about that man that is writing such nonsence. I was diagnosed 19 years ago with “Cancer it’s Terminal”. I do believe if you sit around waiting to die you are not living, you are already dead. Some people don’t have the balls to live. It sounds like you want people to feel sorry for you and I am sure you have found this forum a good place to elisit sympathy.
    You said that one should forget about the past but yet in your past some man diagnosed you with cnacer and heart problems, tells you that you are going to die and of course you go home to die and would probably be dead except you wanted to tell people how unfair it was and this is your way of cursing God.
    I am alive not because the doctors the doctors were in error with what they saw inside my body while I was cut open on the table but their error was saying death would be the effect.
    Healing begins in the mind and I give information to people everyday to believe in posibilities. You are the Gate Keeper to your own tomorrow and if you want death then you can have it. I have known many that were so scared of life they ran to death.
    But I think you could posibly live a few years because you have this web-page so people can feel sorry for you because you are a loser. If you do not like your life then change it, but don’t whine about it. I also am 57 years old and at age 17 I had several doctors tell me I had an incurable lung disease and would not live to 25 years unless it was in an Iron Lung. At age 38 told Terminal Colon Cancer with matastisi. I just simply changed my life my thinking and would everyday visualize my life and used that energy of negativity to make my life better both times.
    But then I am American Made and we do the best workmanship in all the world.
    Dr. Dennis Robinson PhD. Philosophy

    I pray for you as you struggle with your illness and do wish you a nice day.

  2. Jennie says:

    Yay! Dennis gave me my first chance to use my new garbage truck pledge.

    “When I see Garbage Trucks,
    I do not take them personally.
    I just smile. I wave. I wish them well.
    And I move on.”

    Hi Jennie, thanks for stopping by. You got it, just smile and move on

  3. Doraz says:

    Sometimes I “forget” to look in the mirror! 🙂 I guess I am deep in thought! Smile when you see yourself…it will make your day,right? 🙂 Will do!

    Hi Doraz, thank you for stopping by. Ahh, the power of a smile, it can be awesome.

  4. Elle says:

    This is to Dennis.
    I have read Bill’s blog for some time now and have come to be a great admirer of him and respect everything he has to say. If you had taken the time to read his blog you will read of how he has helped many many people.
    I have not commented before but can not just sit by and read a comment as you have made without getting in my say. You Sir are a garbage truck and are full of everything that a garbage truck would carry. I would say exactly what I think of you but I don’t think Bill would allow such language to remain on his blog. He has some class. Read more of what he has to say and you may get some yourself.

    Hi Elle, thank you for stopping by and welcome to the blog. I hope you will visit again. I do thank you for your kind words about both the blog and I.

  5. Tasneem R says:

    Well yes to forget the past is the best way you to carve the road for future happiness. When I look at the mirror I don’t think much .

    Hi Tasneen nice to hear from you. All of us have a past full of mistakes and regrets, or at least I do. The best is to try to learn from the experience then let it go and move on.

  6. Mel says:

    Isn’t it amazing how some people’s glasses distort things?

    (((((( Dr. Dennis Robinson PhD. Philosophy ))))))

    *smiling and waving*
    I wish you well, sir.

    With that being said, I can’t say I ‘see’ so clearly when I look in the mirror. Like you, I see the task and not the gal in the mirror–not the physical gal. I’ve always had difficulties ‘seeing’ that accurately. Like Dr. Robinson’s apparent malady, I know I distort what I see. I have trust in the people around me–that’s the responsible thing to do when it comes to me. (I know–I’m an odd duck!)

    But as for that introspective ‘me in the mirror’–that’s a constant for me. It’s a learned constant, a comfortable (not always easy) constant, and just a way of life. It keeps me ‘okay’ with me, ‘right sized’ in a world where ‘getting a bit big for our britches’ seems to be acceptable and sometimes even embraced. (Ohmygoodness the paychecks some folks take home while other’s are sleeping in the streets…)

    Humility has always served me well. I guess that’s what I search for in that mirror. Humility and gratitude…..
    It’s what I see you finding over and over and over again.
    And in my book, that’s a good thing.

    ((((((((((( Bill )))))))))))) 🙂

    Mel,my friend so nice to hear from you. You always have such wisdom to share and I thank you. I agree, “that introspective ‘me in the mirror’–that’s a constant for me. It’s a “learned” constant, a comfortable (not always easy) constant, and just a way of life.” For me I find I sometimes become complacent with life in general and still occasionally need to really take a good look.

  7. Jill says:

    Mr. Dennis Robinson (Dr. Philosophy – was that degree one of those on-line degrees or one from a college?) How sad that you are so bitter about your life. Funny but I always thought philosophical people looked at all sides of a thought process/problem/idea regardless of their personal feelings about it. Guess not. I’m “American made” also but feel ashamed of the way you used that phrase. None of us are any better than the other. YOU need to take a long hard look in a mirror!

  8. Lori says:

    Bill,
    Your mother was/is a very smart woman! I am going to try to follow her way of thinking and each time I look in the mirror remember her words and work hard at being a person I want others to know and act in a manor that will make me proud. After all “do unto others as you would have others do unto you” is a saying that I have always tried to live by.
    As for “Dr. Dennis Robinson PhD. Philosophy” he sounds pretty bitter and doesn’t know you at all! I am Canadian and proud to say so.
    I am also so glad that the majority American Made people as he put it don’t think as he does. I pray for God to help him in his time of troubled thinking.
    Lori

    Thank you Lori, my mother was indeed a very smart and wise woman. It is nice to hear from you it has been a while.
    Bill

  9. souldose says:

    Bill when I first saw your blog I was in the process of building my website, I was still hesitant but I saw your blog and thought what a courageous man.. I’ve followed you and I respect you, you’ve helped so many people and to me you’re an angel without a halo.
    Never mind the mirror, the heart matters the most

    hi souldose, you are pretty inspirtational yourself. Oh, I keep my halo in a drawer and only wear it on special occasions. LOL. Thank you my friend
    Bill

  10. Gloria says:

    Hey Bill,
    Great to see you posting again!
    I laughed as I read your post!~ So often when I look in the mirror, I see either my Mother, one of my Sisters, even some of my Brothers!!! My kids often say to me, “you look just like Auntie whoever” or “you sounded like so and so”. But, that certainly isn’t the end of the world, they are all great poeple, I just don’t remember us looking alike when we were younger.
    Your Mother was right-as always. I would just add, with age comes Wisdom, and I think we are close to bordering on BRILLIANT!!!

    Great feedback from fellow bloggers on Dennis’s rant. I am not going to comment, another Motherism, “if you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at
    all”!!

    Take Care.
    Lots of Love to You and Vi.
    Gloria.

    cousin Gloria so nice to hear from you. I appreciate your comment as you are one that actuallty knew my mother. I have to agree with the getting more brilliant part. lol. Any chance you might consider joining us for the Easter get together.

  11. Henri says:

    The message is wonderful, I think it bears repeating, phylosophically speaking, pretty much says it all. I am not aware of the original source or due credit would be given.

    Lessons on Life:
    There was a Chief who had four sons. He wanted his sons to learn not to judge things too quickly. So he sent them each on a quest.., in turn..,to go and look at a pear tree that was a great distance away. The first son went in the winter, the second in the spring, the third in summer, and the youngest son in the fall.

    When they had all gone and come back, he called them together to describe what they had seen.
    The first son said that the tree was ugly, bent, and twisted.
    The second son said “no” it was covered with green buds and full of promise.
    The third son disagreed; he said it was laden with blossoms that smelled so sweet and looked so beautiful. It was the most graceful thing he had ever seen.
    The last son disagreed with all of them; he said it was ripe and drooping with fruit, full of life and fulfillment.

    The Chief then explained to his sons that they were all right, because they had each seen but only one season in the tree’s life. He told them that you cannot judge a tree, or a person, by only one season, and that the essence of who they are and the pleasure, joy, and love that come from that life can only be measured at the end, when all the seasons are up. If you give up when it is winter, you will miss the promise of your spring, the beauty of your summer, the fulfillment of your fall.
    Moral:
    Do not let the pain of one season destroy the joy of all the rest. Do not judge life by one
    difficult season. Persevere through the difficult patches and better times are sure to come.

    Live Simply. Love Generously. Care Deeply. Speak Kindly.

    Henri,what can I say other than wonderful as always.

  12. Mel says:

    (((((((( Henri ))))))))))

    Brilliant.

    Have I ever mentioned how much I LIKE Henri?
    (just did….) 🙂

    Hi Mel, I am sure anyone that reads the blog has figured out Henri is my brother-in-law. He really is a nice guy and you know what he is even single if any of you ladies are interested. I can just imagine him blushing if he reads this. Well he will be reading it, I will be telling him about it.

  13. Betty says:

    Hi Bill,

    Thank you for the great post and your humor. Mirror, mirror on the wall who is the fairest of them all…..not I, but who cares. Time marches on, but there are so many things we can still do for friends, family, strangers and ourselves to make life worth living. When I look in the mirror and see healthy colour on my face….I am just grateful that my 10 year old mechanical heart valve is still doing it’s job and has given me the opportunity live, love and be happy. Oh yes, today when I looked in the mirror I realized it is time to dye my hair….thanks Bill for bringing that to my attention.

    Henri thank you for sharing such a wonderful message. This is why this blog is so important. Too bad Dr. Robertson doesn’t see it for what it really is.

    Hi Betty and thank you. We are all so very glad that mechanical heart valve is working

  14. Betty says:

    Opps, sorry Dr. Dennis Robinson PhD for referring to you as Dr. Robertson in my post. I must be more careful in the future.

  15. blissbait says:

    Bill, Bill, Bill, Bill, Bill, Bill, BILL!!! THANK YOU FOR THIS! You just gifted me BIG TIME with Your words and Your (and Your Mum’s!) wisdom!!! Thank You and Big Hugs and Namaste. 🙂

    hi bliss, so very nice to hear from you. I do appreciate the words and the visit.
    Bill

  16. Slamdunk says:

    “Get past the physical appearance and ask yourself, am I happy, content even a little proud to be the person I see staring back at me in the mirror…”

    Great advice that should be a starting point for my day. Life is precious and it is time that I am reminded of such…

    hi Slamdunk, appreciate the visit and the comment. You are right every second of life is precious.

  17. Esther says:

    What an excellent post! I remember a few months past looking in the mirror. I tohught, who is this woman looking back at me? I felt so young and full of energy, but her eys and face had somehow changed. I was older and the lines around my eyes showed the change. When did i grow old? lol Isn’t it funny how we go along living our life and then one day we realize we’re getting old? I stepped back that day from the mirror and started to chuckle, then say, “your all grown up now, go face the world with the smile!”

    The mirror may show us an older looking face, but it doesn’t define us. Attitude is everything.

    ATTITUDE

    “The longer I live, the more I realize the impact on life. Attitude, to me is more

    important than facts. It is more important than the past, than education, than money, than

    circumstances, than failures, then sucesses, than what other people think or say or do. It

    is more important than appearance, giftedness or skill. It will make or break a company…

    a church…a home. The remarkable thing is we have a choice everyday regarding the

    attitude we will embrace for that day. We cannot change the past…we cannot change the

    fact that people will act in a certain way. We cannot change the inevitable. The only thing

    we can do is play on the one string we have, and that is our attitude…I am convinced that

    life is 10% what happens to me and 90% how I react to it. And so it is with you…we

    are in charge of our Attitudes.”

    Here’s to Not Spoiling Tomorrow! 🙂

    Your Friend,
    Esther 🙂

    http://estherhuff.wordpress.com

    Hi Esther, I thank you so very much for sharing this with us. It is wonderful, attitude the key to life.Hope to hear from you again

  18. Cat says:

    Excellent advice from your mother, Bill! Thank you for sharing it.

    As for Dr. Robinson, all I can say is that I just do not understand why some people feel the need to leave negative, insulting, argumentative comments on blogs that they don’t like. It’s a big internet. If you come across a blog that is not your cup of tea, just move along. His diatribe says much more about him than it does about you, Bill. I hope that he overcomes his anger and bitterness.

Leave a Reply

