Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Proud to be Canadian


 I have said it bef0re and I say it again. I am very proud to be a Canadian. I hope and pray everyone is as proud of their own countries as I am of mine.

The Winter Olympics are happening right now and they are right here in Canada. Vancouver, Whistler and surrounding areas. Now Vancouver is virtually straight west of Winnipeg. Sounds handy and it would be except  for the about 25 or 26 hundred kilomiters that separate us. i should google the exact distance, what ever it is, it is a long way.

Now being  Canadian naturally I cheer for the Canadian atheletes. This may sound strange but that at times is actually causing me a bit of a dilema. I find myself cheering for each individual athelete as they take their turn to compete. All  have worked so very very hard to get to the point where they are, competing in one of the highest levels of sporting events or activities there is. How can you not admire and respect all that work and dedication. When it comes down to it, I see an individual standing there ready to compete and I wish everyone my very best, irregardless of the country they may represent.

From everything I have seen or read about these games, I am proud of the Canadian fans in attendance at the games. Yes, we may cheer loudest for our own Canadian atheletes, but we cheer loudly for every athelete. Good job.

I am hoping my computer delema is being straightened out this afternoon. Getting the 3rd. on. This one I am assured will be check out top to bottom before I pick it up. I wish to thank Jennie and those that have emailed me offering to help with my computer issues by contacting the store on my behalf. Now I do thank you for the kind offer but I have never sought anything for myself from the blog and have even turned down gifts and awards when offered. I do not wish any personal gain other than the tremdous support and freindships gained here through the blog.

Earth Angels can appear when least expected and from what you may think would be the most unlikely of sources. Such an Earth Angel has touched our lives. I told her I would be writing about her here on the blog. She specifically asked that I do not mention her as she is a very private person and would prefer to keep it that way. OK, I accept that and understand it, but if you do happen to read this know we thank you.

4 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Proud to be Canadian

  1. Mel says:

    Thank you, Earth Angel.

    Just sayin’……

    And I’ve caught a bit of the Olympics cuz himself is a viewer–what an awesome thing to be able to compete in. And what awesome hosts you all are. 🙂

    I do hope Vi’s feeling better–and that you’re feeling better about how she’s feeling…..

  2. Betty says:

    Good luck with computer #3….how frustrating this whole thing must be for you. Also, hope Vi is feeling better and receives only positive news when she visits her doctor tomorrow.

  3. blissbait says:

    Hey Bill! Happy Belated Christmas and New Year!!! Wow…I’ve missed Your whole computer dilema thing, but I’m crossing my fingers that it resolves itself soon….and Cheers to Your Earth Angel, whomever she may be! I can relate to how You feel about the atheletes….I do find myself cheering for Americans just because I’m American, but I seriously am stunned, thrilled, awed by and cheering for them ALL. That’s some serious commitment and dedication. Yowza! Thanks for the kindness You left on my site while I was doing all my tech stuff (still ensconsed!) and Big Hugs and Cheers to You! 🙂

  4. Cat says:

    I know what you mean; I find myself rooting for all of the athletes no matter what country they are from, and I always cringe in sympathy when anyone falls or makes an error. But I cheer extra-loud for the US athletes, and for the Canadians, too, as I used to live there. Found myself singing along with the Canadian national anthem this evening during a medal ceremony. I still remembered all the words. 🙂

    I hope the third time will be the charm with the computer!

Leave a Reply

