Dying Man’s Daily Journal – I am a Lucky Man


Had my appointment at the Heart Failure Clinic yesterday. Our hearts are contained within a membrane sack, geesh, can’t remember the name of it. It is normal to have a certain amount of fluid within that sack. It turns out I have an extra amount of that fluid in the sack around my heart. As I understand it, having that extra fluid squeezes the heart muscle and can reduce it’s pumping ability. This can result in things such as fatigue, no energy and shortness of breath. Hey that pretty much describes me.

The Heart Failure Clinic is contained within the cardiac unit of St. Boniface General Hospital. The doctors in the clinic are also doctors in the main hospital. As chance would have it Dr. Tan was called away on an emergency in the main cardiac unit. My prayers go to who ever was having that emergency.

As a result I was unable to see the doctor. I guess when it became apparent that the doctor would be tied up for some time, one of the highly qualified and very nice nurses stepped in and explained the test results to me. She stressed several times the fluid build up has become chronic, nothing they can do about it.

At first glance none of this sounds so good and well I suppose it isn’t. But, some how driving home from the hopsital it really hit me. I am such a lucky man. So many have it so very much worse than I.

As I was travelling home I wondered. Around the world, I wonder how many other people at that exact same time were also making the trip home from a hospital. How many of those people had possibly just received a prognosis of only having several pain filled months to live? How many of those people were making that drive home from the hospital after the passing of a spouse or a child? I think in the big picture of life, I am really such a very lucky man.

This old heart of mine really does seem to be able to take a licking and just keep on ticking. For that I thank God, I thank all the expert medical experts God has surrounded me with. I thank all my friends for the prayers said for me.

7 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – I am a Lucky Man

  1. Doraz says:

    Your thoughts are heard by all of us and they help us to understand how lucky we all are in this world when we have each other. Your journey is not alone. Hope you have a great weekend! 🙂

    Thank you Doraz, I am so grateful to have you along with me on this journey.

  2. babychaos says:

    I’m sorry to hear that… for what it’s worth, you’re in my thoughts.

    Cheers

    BC

    BC, I thank you my friend

  3. Irene says:

    Dear Bill,
    Thanks for keeping us posted. You know you’re in my thoughts and prayers, Wiseman.
    Irene

    Irene, I do thank you

  4. Mel says:

    Excuse me while I have my very ‘human’ moment.

    I know it’s ‘chronic’.
    I just don’t like it.
    There.
    ‘Nuff said.

    *sigh* Like any other human being doing the process of grief, I’ll get to go through my stages with the news (again). Funny how we can let go of what we know is true, eh?

    You’re right, sir…..of course…….
    A bit of gratitude goes a long way.

    And just yesterday himself and I were talking to all we would have missed, how whole lives would have been changed had the prognosis made for me been fulfilled years ago.
    I’m humbled, and grateful for the opportunities I’ve been presented….and for the folks I’ve met on this part of the journey. (which includes you, sir)

    I’m sure the nurse did a find job of going over those tests with you. And I’m sure she has better lookin’ legs than the doc anyway! *laughing*

    Hi Mel, you are right (as always) and as prepared as I like to think I am on this leg of my journey, I still need a little time to get my head wrapped around each new development.
    We are all grateful your prognosis was not fulfilled those years ago. You truly have been a blessing in many lives, mine included.
    I can relate to what you are saying in that I also feel humbled, grateful and so very blessed by all that has happen and all I have met over these past years. I mean it when I say I am a lucky man.
    Now as to the nurse, I am sorry I (memory guy) can’t recall her name. But she did do a wonderful job. Sigh! how I long for the good old days when nurses wore mini skirts or hot pants.

  5. Cat says:

    “Sigh! how I long for the good old days when nurses wore mini skirts or hot pants.”

    Hahahahaha! That’s right; they all wear scrubs these days, don’t they?

    Bill, I’m sorry to hear of this diagnosis. I have another friend who has the same thing and I know it’s been difficult and not much fun for her. But just like you, she is still trucking along, not letting it stop her.

    I think this is definitely one of those times when it’s okay to say, “Yes, this definitely does suck and I’m not going to pretend it doesn’t, but I’m still going to be thankful for all that I have to be thankful for.”

    Sending good thoughts and prayers your way!

  6. Jaymie says:

    Saddened by this new development but once again lifted up by your reminder to have gratitude in all situations. We are blessed with whatever time we do have and it should be treated as such. Thank you again Bill.

  7. Jill says:

    We’re glad it’s still ticking too. You’re in my daily prayers.

    Thank you Jill

Leave a Reply

