Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Prayers please


This bout with pneumonia has really given me a kick in the butt and literally to the wind out of my sails. I am happy to say with prayer, rest and the doctor’s antibotics I am on the mend still have a ways to go but am getting better. I do thank all that left me the get well messages and all that said prayers for me.

I had a bit of an idea about a post for today. I so often write about how wonderful people are. Had the pleasure of meeting a young man Jesse on Saturday, another example of the Earth Angels in my life. I will get that post up in the next few days.

Today though I just have to put up a request for prayers. The power of prayer is an amazing thing.

Cathy left us this so touching comment:

My sis-in-law, Sandy is 48 & Hospice was called in this week. She has been fighting lung cancer stage 4 for since Dec.08. She has been ill this past yr. but she is very ill now as I speak. She opted against the final radiation & she told Hospice that when she got better, she would not need them anymore. Death is not in her vocab,for she continues to say that God will heal her and she believes it. Her hope is in Christ the Living Savior. She has had many treatments this past yr., to no avail. The cancer has spread to her brain, esphogus & probably other major organs.I came on this web site as I have search for encouragement and what to say to someone who is terminally ill. What I have read has humbled my heart. I can honestly say that my heart hurts for each of you. To know that death is inevitable and you life is so beautiful, precious, and every moment counts. I hear it in every word that you write and I see it in my precious, sisters face. Yes, she is very scared and is afraid to sleep for fear of the unknown. I think pills are being given to calm her, but I cannot fathom how the body can just shut down and the mind is so determined to continue on with life? I can promise all of you this, you will be in my prayers and I pray that God our Father will carry you in His loving, gentle arms and give you love & peace in your latter days.We will be gone from this earth one day and yes, it frightens me. I do not dwell on it for as of now, I am so thankful for every breath I take, for tommorrow it could all be gone in a blink of eye. May God, creator of this universe, give you all comfort for your beautiful souls.

6 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Prayers please

  1. Jill says:

    Prayers for you Bill that you heal and feel better soon. Hugs!

    Thank you Jill

  2. JC says:

    Bill, what a wonderful post. I will be back to read more of your posts when I get a chance. I will also say a prayer that you heal and feel better. Best wishes for 2010.

    Thank you and welcome to the blog

  3. jel says:

    ya got it !

    I thank you

  4. Mel says:

    Yup. Done deal..for you, for Cathy and for Sandy.

    *hugs*

    Thinkin’ of ya…..

    Thank you Mel

  5. Irene says:

    Dear Bill,
    I’ll get right on that prayer request…calling all angels!!! What a tough situation. I so often wonder how I’ll react/respond when my number will be called. Will I react with fear, anger, quiet resignation, denial, or all of the afore mentioned?? I just hope I can make peace with it all…kind of a “well, alright then” attitude and move on.

    Sure hope you’re taking care of yourself and getting enough rest. You’re always in my prayers, Wiseman.
    Irene

    thank you Irene. I don’t imagine any really know how they will react until actually facing it. It is tough.

  6. Cat says:

    Prayers and good thoughts being sent for Cathy and Sandy, and for you, Bill — I hope you are seeing the tail end of that pneumonia by now!

Leave a Reply

