Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Inspired


I fooled Santa, he only leaves presents for the good boys and girls. I was blessed with many wonderful gifts. I treasure and appreciate everyone. In saying that I am including the many kind and loving Christmas cards and greetings I received, be they received through the postal service, email or right here on the blog. I do thank all.

But, one of the many wonderful gifts I received was a book. This book touched me deeply. It is written by a man that knows he is dying. Randy Pausch in fact knows he has but months to live. The book titled “The Last Lecture” is written by Prof. Pausch with Jeffrey Zaslow. To really describe the book I am taking a great liberty here and am copying directly what is written on the inside jacket cover.

“A lot of professors give talks titled “The Last Lecture”. Professors are asked to consider their demise and to ruminate on what matters most to them. And while they speak, audiences can’t help but mull the same question” What wisdom would we impart to the world if we knew it was our last chance? If we had to vanish tomorrow, what would we want as our legacy?

When Randy Pausch, a computer science professor at Carnegie Mellon, was asked to give such a lecture, he didn’t have to imagine it as his last, since he had recently been diagnosed with terminal cancer. But the lecture he gave – “Really Achieving Your Childhood Dreams” – wasn’t about dying. It was about the importance of overcoming obstacles, of enabling the dreams of others, of seizing every moment (because “time is all you have…and you may find one day that you have less than you think). It was a summation of everything Randy has come to believe. It was about living.”

The actual lecture is over an hour long but worth the watch.

I have also attached a copy of the youtube message he gave to a university graduating class. This is only 7 or 8 minutes long and again worth the watch.

His attitude and thoughts mirror my own in so many ways. His are presented in a professional manner as opposed to my rambling style. But our messages are the same. Live life, appreciate the time we have,, make the most of it. Time is our most precious asset. We need to see how precious it is and not just waste so much of it.

6 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Inspired

  1. Shady says:

    Congratulations on receiving the book, Bill. I have watched part of the lecture on YouTube, but didn’t get around to watching the rest. I will have a look at the graduates talk later on. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Hi Shady it is nice to hear from you. As I read the book which I understand is an expanded version of the lecture, I didn’t watch it all either. The talk to the grads is excellent.
    Happy New Year my friend
    Bill

  2. Jill says:

    He was an amazing person – I’ve seen him in interviews but haven’t read the book. You are just as amazing though and I wish you many blessings in the New Year.

    Jill, I thank you for your so kind words. I hope your upcoming years is filled with nothing but the very best.
    Bill

  3. Jaymie says:

    Great book, one I will read again. Inspiration for embracing life – nothing better. Wishing you and your family love and blessings in the new year Bill

    Thank you Jaymie, those same wishes go back to you and yours.
    Bill

  4. Mel says:

    Now isn’t that funny.
    I received the same book.

    I have watched the presentation and it made me teary. (more than once I might add) I was sad when the battle was lost …. but his legacy and his wisdom live on. Now….if I can just crack the cover and get started on the book……

    Mel, you are so right his legacy and wisdom will live on forever. Much as will yours by the wisdom you share with us on your blog, here and everywhere in life.
    My very best to you in the New Year.
    Bill

  5. Billie says:

    You’re welcome dad. I’m glad you have enjoyed it! I love you!

    Thank you Billie, the book is great as were the other gifts. I just blew a great big grandpa kiss your way. Please catch it and pass it on.
    Love you
    Dad

  6. Cat says:

    I read that book last year (and it made me bawl like a baby) but haven’t yet watched the lecture. I will have to make a point to do that soon! I actually heard of Randy Pausch through a friend of mine who went to church with him and was asking for prayers for him while he was ill. He was truly an inspiration.

Leave a Reply

