Dying Man’s Daily Journal – No quit


My Aunt said something to me while she was here visiting. She doesn’t and likely will never really know how those few words impacted on me, in such a powerful and wonderful way.

Her words: “you are just like your mother, there is no “quit” in you.”

My mother passed over in 1992. I loved (love) her very much. I also had a huge amount of respect for her as my mother but also as the person she was. My mother most certainly did not have an easy life.  Many can relate to her life, essentially she was a single parent raising 3 sons on what was I am sure was a minimun wage job.

Geesh, right now I can’t remember, it was either 1981 or 1982 that she had open heart surgery. At that time I had been long gone from home, raising my own family in an entirely different town. My mother had a very strong work ethic. “They hired me to do a job, they hired me to be there 40 hours a week doing that job and not just when I feel like it.”

There may have been a few things that slowed her down or knocked her off her stride but nothing could make her quit. There just wasn’t any quit in her.

10 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – No quit

  1. slamdunk says:

    Being compared to one’s mom is indeed a high compliment. Nice blog.

  2. Hi Bill, I’ll be back to read all the posts I’ve missed… Been having a hard time but I’m stabilizing now… See you in an hour or so……………. Oh I also added you blog on my links page, please check it out and tell me what you think of your blog’s description, leave me a suggestion if you want changes.

  3. Mel says:

    Okay–that woulda made me prouder than proud.

    Bless that World Championship holder…..dunno if she had a clue what that meant to you.
    I bet she does now.

    <– is very glad there's no 'quit' in ya!

    ((((((( Bill ))))))))

  4. That’s a big compliment Bill, maybe the best compliment you’ll ever get… This post has inspired my next blog post

  5. Sherry Howdle says:

    This gives a whole new meaning to being “a mamma’s boy” doesn’t it? HA HA

    Seriously though, Mom (Aunt Isabel) is right. I have said for years that you, Bill, are like the Energizer Bunny. You just keep going and going…no matter what is put in front of you. I think you are right when you say that your attitude and outlook on life is everything. Your attitude is very much like your Mom’s, except instead of talking about work, you are talking about life and living.
    You believe you were put here on earth and have a purpose in life. You have a great attitude that the living, and appreciation of life and the people in it needs to be done all the time, not just when you feel like it.
    Your Mom would be very proud – as are we, the people who have been fortunate enough to have you touch our lives in some way! I’d say “Keep up the great work”, but you ain’t no quitter:) Love you lots. Sherry

    Cousin Sherry, I thank you so very much for this comment. I got a little choked up reading it. You know I loved my mother dearly and had the highest respect for her in all ways. To be so favorably compared to her makes me proud and honored to be a “momma’s boy”.
    She has been gone since 1992 but what I learned from just watching her deal with life has stayed with me. she really was a blessing in our lives. I am such a lucky man.
    Now speaking of mothers. That mother of yours (Aunt Isabel) is pretty great herself. Both of our mothers bless our lives.
    Sherry, I thank you for this and I love you very much.
    Bill

  6. Esther says:

    I have to say, this post has really touched me. When you admire someone as you did (do), you often wish you could be like them. So to hear her words: “you are just like your mother, there is no “quit” in you.” How proud and honored you must be. Bill know this, your mom raised a wonderful man.

    I’m wondering if we’re related. Because my sister and I have that same mentality, NO QUIT no matter what. Just kidding!!

  7. blissbait says:

    What a beautiful Mom and what a shining, wonderful spirit She had. That comparison would’ve overjoyed me as well. From what I know about You, it’s very easy to see why it was said!

    Thank You Bill! Big Hugs and Namaste. 🙂

  8. Tasneem R says:

    Hi Bill ! Well it’s good you have such fond memories with you of your mother, it will always make you smile:)She must be a really great as a woman too because raising 3 kids with little money in hand is not so easy.
    Are You Mommy-Friendly?- Find out what kind of relationship you have with your mother.
    http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/mommyfriendly/mommyfriendly_instructions.asp

    ( That’s a free test Bill…hope you enjoy ! )

  9. Doraz says:

    An inspiration to us all! 🙂

  10. Mel says:

    k..that made me choke up.

    Bless Sherry for putting it out there so well.

Leave a Reply

