Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Will You Dance with me


Today, I went for my regular check up at the heart failure clinic. I really can’t say enough good things about the wonderful doctors, nurses and staff there. All are so patient, kind and so very good at what they do. I do thank them all.

Today I really go the special treatment. There was the usual review of my medication, listen to my heart…..

Listening to my heart, Dr. Tan said he would like to have an echo cardiogram done as soon as possible. Apparently there can be quite a wait to have this done. He said he would have it scheduled and I would be advised when it would be. I had asked about getting the N1H1 flu shot and found I could indeed get it there. Dr. Tan excused himself and left as the nurse went to get my vacination.

The doctor returned within just a few minutes. He had gone to check on scheduling the test and found there had been a cancellation or a no show and that it could be done right then. How is that for lucky. How many times have I said it I am a very blessed and a very lucky man.

I am not even sure the procedure took 30 minutes or so. During that time Dr. Tan actually stopped in once or twice just to look at the ongoing images being produced. I heard him say things like, “that explains it”,  “now it all makes sense” and “that is what I thought it had to be”. Now I didn’t get a chance to actually see the doctor after the procedure was done. I was told the doctor would be phoning me within the next few days.

It is my increasing difficulty in breathing that is the concern.  From the bit I heard, it sounds like he may have the answer or at least I can hope.

I have to thank my wonderful cousin Gloria, she sends me the most beautiful and inspirational emails. I received this one and I just have to share it as it really says it all.

Will You Dance With Me?
READ THIS VERY SLOWLY…. IT’S PRETTY PROFOUND.

Too many people put off something that brings them joy just because they haven’t thought about it, don’t have it on their schedule, didn’t know it was coming or are too rigid to depart from their routine.

I got to thinking one day about all those women on the Titanic who passed up dessert at dinner that fateful night in an effort to cut back. From then on, I’ve tried to be a little more flexible.

How many women out there will eat at home because their husband didn’t suggest going out to dinner until after something had been thawed? Does the word ‘refrigeration’ mean nothing to you?

How often have your kids dropped in to talk and sat in silence while you watched ‘ Jeopardy ‘ on television?

I cannot count the times I called my sister and said, ‘How about going to lunch in a half hour?’ She would gas up and stammer, ‘I can’t. I have clothes on the line. My hair is dirty. I wish I had known yesterday, I had a late breakfast, It looks like rain.’ And my personal favorite: ‘It’s Monday.’ She died a few years ago. We never did have lunch together.

Because Canadians cram so much into their lives, we tend to schedule our headaches. We live on a sparse diet of promises we make to ourselves when all the conditions are perfect!

We’ll go back and visit the grandparents when we get Steve toilet-trained. We’ll entertain when we replace the living-room carpet… We’ll go on a second honeymoon when we get two more kids out of college.

Life has a way of accelerating as we get older. The days get shorter, and the list of promises to ourselves gets longer. One morning, we awaken, and all we have to show for our lives is a litany of ‘I’m going to,’ ‘I plan on,’ and ‘Someday, when things are settled down a bit.’

When anyone calls my ‘seize the moment’ friend, she is open to adventure and available for trips. She keeps an open mind on new ideas. Her enthusiasm for life is contagious. You talk with her for five minutes, and you’re ready to trade your bad feet for a pair of Roller blades and skip an elevator for a bungee cord..

My lips have not touched ice cream in 10 years. I love ice cream. It’s just that I might as well apply it directly to my stomach with a spatula and eliminate the digestive process The other day, I stopped the car and bought a triple-Decker. If my car had hit an iceberg on the way home, I would have died happy.

Now…go on and have a nice day. Do something you WANT to……not something on your SHOULD DO list. If you were going to die soon and had only one phone call you could make, who would you call and what would you say? And why are you waiting?

Make sure you read this to the end; you will understand why I sent this to you.

Have you ever watched kids playing on a merry go round or listened to the rain lapping on the ground? Ever followed a butter fly’s erratic flight or gazed at the sun into the fading night? Do you run through each day on the fly? When you ask ‘ How are you?’ Do you hear the reply?

When the day is done, do you lie in your bed with the next hundred chores running through your head? Ever told your child, ‘We’ll do it tomorrow.’ And in your haste, not see his sorrow? Ever lost touch? Let a good friendship die? Just call to say ‘Hi?

When you worry and hurry through your day, it is like an unopened gift….Thrown away….. Life is not a race.  Take it slower. Hear the music before the song is over.


‘Life may not be the party we hoped for.. but while we are here we might as well dance!

12 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Will You Dance with me

  1. blissbait says:

    awwwww! bill, bill, bill, bill!
    thank you thank you thank you so!
    yes….let’s boogy down!

    Brilliant. Cheers and Namaste. 🙂

    Hi bliss, I have my dancing shoes on, let’s boogie

  2. babychaos says:

    Very good. Best of British – or should that be Canadian with the results of the scan! Rooting for you.

    Cheers

    BC

    Thanks BC. It is really nice to hear from you. I pop over to visit you at times, to see how motherhood if going for you. It is nice to hear from you
    Bill

  3. Your cousin’s words are truly profound, when you think how many things I wanted to do in my life but said later thinking I had a later, now I wanna fo them but can’t……….. Thank God for Gloria, I’m sure reading her wise words gives you strength and courage, and permission to eat eat and eat.
    Good luck with the results, I’m holding thumbs and directing my wishes to God in prayer.
    Stay strong…!!!

    I send the stay strong wishes to you also my friend. Live each moment to the fullest.

  4. ‘Life may not be the party we hoped for.. but while we are here we might as well dance!
    How good is that?

    Excellent

  5. Cat says:

    Well, that was just perfect timing! I sure hope when the doctor calls you to go over the results, he has some good news for you. I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed!

    Thank you Cat, I have my fingers crossed also.

  6. Mel says:

    Well, I’m glad it explained stuff to him….. Sheesh. I love it when they make comments and then announce that some other person has to read it.
    What’s up with that?!
    Yeah, I know what’s up with that–I just think it’s silly.

    But Cousin Gloria done good!
    Excellent message…and now I’m gonna go eat all the wheat/malt/barley products I want!
    k…..LOL…..not really.
    I get that the message doesn’t give me permission to do things that are bad for me, I was just wanting toast this morning. 😉

    *hugs*
    REST when weary, sir.
    (In case you failed to hear that message….LOL)

    As always you are right my friend, we still need that balance in our lives. I do need to rest, am feeling worn out and am dedicating today to being lazy.

  7. serendipity hopeful says:

    Let us be prepared to dance and let us prepared to let go!

    well said

  8. Doraz says:

    I LOVE TO DANCE!
    Count me in!
    Best thoughts coming your way!
    🙂

    Excellent, hey, maybe we have to figure out how to have a blog dance party.

  9. Hola Bill,

    Would you like to dance the Cumbia with me? It’s a traditional Colombian dance. It’s not difficult and not crazy fast but it’s wonderfully fun. You even get to wear a great hat. (it’s called a sombrero volteao) Who can resist a great hat?

    I get to wear a hat, how could I turn down an offer like that. I have never seen the cumbia and have no idea what it is but I would love to dance with you. Just have to keep it slow. lol

  10. Jo Hart says:

    Dancing to the party too here myself. Finding I’ve been very short tempered lately with life in general. My Miss 7 year old wanted to paint my nails, bright orange I might add. Shrugged her off and told her later, her little face was so disappointed, and the words broke my heart – Oh your just no fun anymore mum. So took a deep breath, sat down, and I now have bright orange nails and toe nails (also half the hands and feet!!) I’ve kept it on to remind me to enjoy the simple things, and stop putting the kids off because there stuff to be done…..

    Hi Jo. I worry about you my friend. You have so much on your plate. Email will be out to you today.
    I am glad you took the time to enjoy a few minutes with your daughter. I have such fond memories of times like that. Don’t spread this around, it might not be good for my “macho” man image. lol. There were times when” I had my nails polished (hands and feet), I had I imagine ever type of make up put on my face. My hair was a little longer then (this was back when I had hair) and I had all sorts of clips and bows put on. AND, I loved those moments.

  11. Jaymie says:

    I just embraced a weekend of impromtu moments…thank you Bill. Today I will dance!

  12. Maria says:

    Just read your Blog.. found it by accident? think not! I am guilty of putting things off and full of so many shedules… endless chores and places to be..

    But not the things that I would enjoy.. I think I will
    take that hot air ballon ride.. I will go on that marathon run.. I will go on a missions trip..

    I want to live .. and not watch life pass me by..
    I will not stay in the kitchen when others are enjoying them selfs and Im stuck cleaning..

    and up to my elbows in suds..No More.. I also want to Dance .. sometimes we spend our life taking care of others.. That we forget self.. its okay to have fun… there is no guilt in spending time with self .. believe me you would be more pleasenat to be around …so I will kick back and read a book and just breath and relax..you cannot fix everything and everyone.. it will take care of it self .

    Hi Maria glad you did find us. You go girl relax and enjoy life as you can. Hope to hear from you again.
    Bill

Leave a Reply

