Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Earth Angel on hand


Am feeling really tired and worn out. Still working on the kitchen reno. Most days dedicating about 6 or 7 hours to it. Those are “Bill” hours, actually do something for about 5 minutes then huff and puff for 10 minutes (OK, often that 10 minutes may stretch to 20 or 30), I have to thank my brother-in-law Henri so very much. He has donated, gifted us with so much of his precious time. For most of the hours I have been at it, he has been at my side. HIS work hour is a full 60 minutes. HENRI IS AN OFFICIAL EARTH ANGEL.

I am truly blessed to have the people I do in my life. Earth Angels abound. When it came time to pick up the flooring, I needed the use of a truck. The only one I know with a truck is another brother-in-law Neal. I phoned to ask if he might have some time, I put in the qualifier that if he had other plans, no problem. His immediate response was: “sure, no problem when do you need me.” It was only after he arrived that I could see he was very ill and learned he had actually spent the previous 3 or 4 days in bed with this cold/flu thing. Another official Earth Angel.

This decline in my physical capacity has been a very humbling experience for me. There is a lesson to be learned in everything. I sent most of my life with the attitude, “I am a man” it don’t need help I can do it myself” or “it’s my job and I will get it done”. I think it was the unmanly thing mostly. I saw it as a sight of weakness or being less than, if I had to ask for help. I have learned it is not unmanly to ask for help, nor is it a sign of weakness, it is instead a sign of being human. Hey, maybe it has taken me all these years just to become human. lol.

I do though have a couple of very strict rules about asking favours or about asking for help. This is the MANLY me coming out.

I do not want to put upon or use people. I have to know in my heart that if the exact situation was reversed. If the situation was reversed and this same person was asking me for this same favor. Would I do it? If in fact I know I would do it without hesitation. Then and only then will I ask that favour.

Secondly, if I sense any sort of hesitation or reluctance, I will back off immediately.

I have a statement to make that I can say with absolute certainty. Now in the past some have joked (I think they were joking lol) that my head is like a basketball, full of nothing but hot air. I do know now for a fact that is not true. A basketball bounces, my head does not. Hmm, maybe that means it is more like a bowling ball, geesh.

Will be glad to get this whole reno thing finish. Last night had a “Bill” moment. That flooring I spoke of, well it is in a big 12 foot roll. Until  the flooring guy gets here, where do you actually store such a thing. Well at the time it seemed like the best place was on the floor directly in front of the front door. Now that means it stretches across the foyer and hall way. Now that means you are constantly stepping over it but it really isn’t all that high and should be no big deal. That is unless you are Bill, it is dark being in the middle of the night, you are half asleep. I wanted a glass of water and was walking to the kitchen. I have made that trip a thousand times before and “know it in the dark”, who needs a light.

I remembered the flooring just as I was hitting the floor. Hit it so hard the noise of the impact woke Vi up. Luckily for me, I was able to break most of the fall with my head, so no serious damage could have been done.

9 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Earth Angel on hand

  1. Jaymie says:

    Something happens the moment we decide to ask for help – isn’t it amazing?

    You are so right on. It is amazing

  2. blissbait says:

    Ack! Ah!!!!! I’m glad You’re alright! Thank You for reminding me that it’s okay to ask for and accept help. When You’re kitchen is finished, if You and Your angels are up to it….I’d love to see a picture!

    Cheers and Namaste and Watch out for big rolled up things on the floor!!!! 🙂

    Thank you, will try to get a picture up

  3. babychaos says:

    Now, I have a mental picture of you sitting up with your hand to your head and a big egg coming up on it, complete with cartoon birds flying round and round you chirruping until Vi comes rushing down and shoes them away!

    Glad you are ok and haven’t lost your sense of humour. Hope the kitchen is done soon!

    Take care and God bless,

    Babychaos

    Hi BC it is so nice to hear from you, it has been a while. I am sure I made quite the sight while on the floor. There are things in life we just have to laugh about.

  4. Doraz says:

    Well, remodels are a pain! They require a lot of hard work, and a lot of people helping out! It is good that you have folks that can lend a hand. I do ask for help….only if I REALLY need it. I guess I am tooo stubborn otherwise! Hope you do not have anymore of those “accidents!” OUCH…

    I really am blessed to have the people around me that I do, I am so grateful. Hey, sometimes stubborn can be a good thing at other times well..

  5. clary says:

    I know what you mean, when I am in pain is when I think of others the most. I don’t know why but I mellow out instead of getting impatient. I appreciate everything even more and I am thankful for helping hands. Wishing you the best always.

    Clary my friend your big kind heart is showing.

  6. Mel says:

    Well, good thing it was the head, sir! *laughing*

    Oh, it’s good to keep that sense of humor going. When I stop laughing at me and my blunders, I’ll be in serious troubles.

    Asking for help has never been one of my strengths. It’s not about ‘manly’ of course, it’s about appearing ‘incapable’. HEAVEN forbid that should be the case.
    But I’ve learned. And while it’s still a struggle for me to let people help me with some things, it’s required I let them help me with others. I don’t have all the answers and I need people around me who’ll point me in a direction or, at the very least, share what’s worked for them.

    I’m such a proud thing, filled with ego. Somehow I equate ‘help’ as saying something about ME. *sigh* Yup–it’s still a struggle, but it’s something I let myself do more readily than I ever have before. Progress counts, right? LOL

    Do us all a favor? TURN ON LIGHTS!
    Just a suggestion. LOL

    (thanks to the Earth Angels for all their help!!)

    Hey Mel, it wasn’t that terribly long ago I felt much as you do. It was my failing health that began to force me to more often ask for help. Actually, blessing can come in such unexpected ways.

  7. cocorue says:

    Love your sense of humour……

    Hellloooooo, breaking your fall with your head IS serious and I guess in your case, having a bowling ball head helps lol…

    Your earth angels are SENT and you are very lucky you are the chosen one.

    I’m with you on asking for help
    chikisses
    coco

    Sometimes having a bowling ball head does help, well me anyway. I should have been paying more attention. I could have been listening to hear if it did actually sound hollow and empty. Or, did it and I just don’t want to admit that here.
    I am a blessed and truly lucky man, I can certainly agree with that.

  8. Great headline. If your cookie has a bite-sized action and your reader completes the action, I think two things happen. Their self-confidence goes up (which feels good) and their trust in you increases.

  9. Very good post. You write verry good, keep up the good work and I will keep on visiting!

Leave a Reply

