Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Kindness spread the word


I was reading and responding to comments this morning. A comment from our dear blogging friend blissbait really got me thinking. I quote:

“I see such kindness
out and about all the time
it’s everywhere ya’ll!

Seriously…seems I see more people picking up trash, holding doors for one another, leaping to lend a hand. We are all so lovely and it seems to me that the worse the headlines get on the grander scale of things we can’t control that people are stepping up more and more on a personal level to make the world loving. It’s permeating. It’s spreading. Cowrazy”

I see it also people everywhere are indeed stepping up on an individual or personal basis. It is wonderful to see, all we have to do is really open our eyes to see it.

The second point that really got me thinking were the words: “the worse the headlines get.” It seems no matter where you get your news, newspaper, TV, radio…. The format of the stories presented is always the same.

Now this is a Bill statistic (what is a Bill statistic. Very scientifically obtained. I sit back and think about it for a few seconds. What ever seems to be reasonable to me, become an official Bill statistic.) Of the headline stories it seems to me that about 98 or 99% are of bad news. War, famine, murder….. now this is news that we should know. But, does it have to be the only news we hear.

Granted there are a few exceptions to that and there are individual columnists in the newspapers that do at times share very heart warming good news. Even here that is often not the case. Before someone points it out to me, I know much of the news can also be informational, good to that.

I think you can get the point I am trying to make here. If on a daily basis enough bad news stories can be found to “fill” an newspaper or TV or radio broadcast time, wouldn’t you think at least one good news story could be found on that same daily basis.

If all we ever hear is bad news, is it any wonder our view of the world and the people in it may become dimmed and tarnished. How could it be otherwise if almost all we hear is the bad. There just have to be many times more good stories, why do we never hear about them?

Could the news media not on a DAILY basis have just one small segment dedicated to the good and heart warming stories. If we could read or hear those on a regular daily basis, would our over all out look on the world maybe just change a little? I don’t know, but it certainly couldn’t hurt.

Why couldn’t or why don’t they spread that news, DAILY. Newspapers in the FRONT section could have a daily article with even just one good or heart warming story. TV and radio could have regular time slots for their good, heart warming story of the day. It could be called something a simple as “Good news for today”. I am sure people would go to that section of the paper or tune in for that part of the broadcast news.

I don’t know what do you think? If we were to regularly read or hear stories of what others are doing, might is not even plant ideas in our own minds of things possibly we could do?

8 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Kindness spread the word

  1. Hi Bill, Wanted to send you this short story because you have lots of people reading this blog.
    I came across this story on Facebook. It’s about a little boy that wants Christmas cards. I don’t know how much time he has but his family is going to be celebrating Christmas early this year. Here is the story and hope everyone helps out. My heart goes out for this little boy and his family. God Bless everyone and please pray for this little boy. So lets get lots of cards for Noah. Thank You!!!

    Passing this message on; Need a favor from all who would. 5 year old boy, Noah Biorkman, is in the last stages of a 2 1/2yr battle with Neuroblastoma Cancer. The family is celebrating Christmas next week and Noah’s request is to get lots of Christmas cards. Lets get him some. Please send cards to: Noah Biorkman:1141 Fountain View Circle: South Lyon, MI 48178.

    thank you for sharing this will gave a card out

    • Cat says:

      After reading this comment, I Googled the little boy’s name to find more information. His family keeps a blog on Care Pages, and I wanted to share the latest update they posted asking everyone to please stop sending cards and gifts now. They have received tens of thousands (actually I think it may be well over 100,000 now) of cards and gifts and are just overwhelmed. Here is the most recent blog entry:

      Wow!! Thanks! Please STOP!!!!
      Posted 1 day ago

      Wow! The outpouring of love and concern for Noah is just amazing! Scott and I never in a million years thought that so many people would want to send Christmas cards to Noah. However, please note: We did already celebrate Christmas LAST Sunday — November 8th.

      PLEASE STOP SENDING CARDS AND GIFTS!!!!

      Noah is very ill. He is not getting out of bed and it’s time for Scott, our families, and I to concentrate on our son. His time is very short and he needs us.

      Scott and I would like to say thank you so much for the support and continued show of love. However, we are asking that everyone please stop sending cards and gifts.

      Also, everyone please post the stop order on Facebook and any other websites or organizations that you belong to. We need the peace right now.

      Thank you for your understanding in this request.

      https://www.carepages.com/carepages/NoahScottBiorkman/updates/2427545?client_code=chmkids&ipc=mcr

      Hi Cat, thank you for the update. This is such a sad story for the young man and family. It does show the kind hearts contained in this world of ours.

  2. Jaymie says:

    I think it sounds like a great idea. I know our local news channel tries to sprinkle one or two upbeat articles on their online version. It is disappointing that often in the comment section of these articles people post that it is not news or they find a way to make a derogatory remark about someone in the article. I really don’t understand why. My response is to read the upbeat articles first (sans comment section) then glance at the headlines. Sometimes I don’t need to know everything bad that is happening or the media’s view on a subject.

    I think it would be a great idea also. I know what you mean though about the comments often left after the online articles. I just don’t get it.

  3. Ruby Dabling says:

    Perhaps people are finally realizing that it’s up to us to make the changes that we all seem to agree we want – a kinder world to live in.

    We can only hope, eh?

    Yes, hope we can and do our own little bit to help it happen. Thanks for the visit, hope you will stop by again

  4. Doraz says:

    Sounds to me like a feature you can have on your blog! What better place! I would read it daily, for one! 🙂

    Thank you for your kind words, I know I would read it also. Even if that were the only piece I got to read.

  5. Mel says:

    🙂

    I catch up on some ‘Only the good Friday’ posts that some folks have started–boy does that help me focus on all those things in my life that I’m so grateful for.

    I love good news! 🙂

    Hi Mel, “Only the good Friday” post not familiar with that. I also love hearing good news.

  6. Mel says:

    Oh…and that which we water and nurture we WILL make grow, dontchaknow.

    Thinkin’ if I opt, TODAY, to water the good–it’ll grow.
    OH it’s the simple things that get past me and the rest of the world, eh?

    ((((((((((((( Bill ))))))))))))))

    you water away girl, it will grow

  7. Mel says:

    <– will be mailing a holiday card

    Thank you mymarriedlife!

Leave a Reply

