Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Is there a shortage of kindness in the world??


A few days ago I started a post on kindness, Why isn’t the world swimming in kindness. I was unable to finish it at the time and asked for your opinions on why it isn’t. I thank all that took the time to leave me their thoughts, good points raised in each and everyone of them.

I posted the very scientific “according to Bill” stat. No matter where you go in this world you will find about 90% of the people are just good, honest, KIND, good hearted people doing their best to live their lives. Another 5% are what I refer to as Earth Angels, those going way and above the norm in acts of kindness. That leaves the remaining 5% which I just call jerks. It is important also to remember that on a minute by minute basis we can all float back and forth between groups.

Using that very “scientifically” obtained math at any given point in time about 95% of the worlds population has goodness and kindness in their hearts. So why don’t we see more evidence of it?

I believe in the goodness within people, and I mean all people. I think that fact has been proven right here on this blog. On various occasions my birthday, anniversaries etc. I have asked for random acts of kindness to be done, the what or for whom didn’t matter. All that did matter that an act of kindness that came from the heart had been performed somewhere for someone. With the goodness and kindness people carry in their hearts I have never been let down. I have always been rewarded with stories of wonderful acts being done literally around the world. i thank all so very much.

I do believe in the goodness, the kindness all carry in their hearts, we just need a way to SAFELY be able to put that to use, and literally change the world.

This is how I see the world today.

We all lead very busy, very hectic lives constantly on the run to get this or that done. We see it as we don’t even have enough time to slow down to care for ourselves never mind caring for others. (excluding family and sometimes I even question that). I can just speak from my own experience here but I know I got myself into an almost frantic mind set. I HAVE NO TIME. A valid point, or is it? If something is really important to us, we CAN make time for it. If we truly can’t then I ask is it time to look at the priorities in our lives?

We are shy and fearful of rejection. What if they don’t want my help? What if they thing I am butting into their business? What if they just tell me to f— off.

We are suspicious of strangers. This was really brought home to me a while back. I am usually up early. In the summer I like to take my morning coffee out on the front step and listen to the millions of song birds welcoming the day. it was like 6:30 or maybe 7:00 in the morning of a beautiful warm day. At that time of the day no one else is about I had this beautiful world all to myself.ย  I noticed a young lady walking down the sidewalk coming in my direction. I didn’t pay a whole lot of attention until I noticed that as she got closer to my house, she left the sidewalk and walked down the middle of the street. After getting a short distance past my house I notice she returned to the sidewalk. The thought hit me, she must have seen something or someone that made her nervous for her to act like that. Is there a mugger or someone lurking in the bushes or between our houses. I grabbed my baseball bat and went to check. No one around, then it occurred to me. It was me that made her nervous. At first I just thought that was ridiculous. I am one of the very last people you would have to fear. As i thought of it, I realize she didn’t know me and was playing it safe and understandable thing to do. We are fearful of our personal safety, understandable particularly for the ladies.

We are also suspicious of strangers, why are they offering to help, what are they after, they must want something. No one does anything for nothing. Again I can sort of relate. I have in the past even been questioned about this very blog. “What is it you are really after, what is your agenda”? Do I have an agenda, well I suppose I do. I want to try to help people if I can in anyway I can. I have declined awards and even gifts. Why is this so hard for us to believe someone may want to help, just to be kind

Some feel that for an act of kindness to amount to anything, it must be some grand huge gesture. “There is nothing I could do that would make a difference so why even bother?” That thinking is just so wrong. Every little bit matters, every little bit helps. Even the longest journey begins with the first step no matter how small that step may be it is indeed a step in the right direction. Something as simple as a smile can light up the world. The wonderful ripple effect.

I think it would be fair to say we would all like to see a better world, to be able to do something to change the world for the better. It just takes one simple act of kindness to do that.

I actually have more to say on this and was going to get into how we ourselves benefit from performing these wonderful acts. In my usual style I have ramble on for so long I have tired myself right out and will try to get back to it tomorrow.

Think of this. One definition of insanity is continuing to do the same thing over and over again in the same way day after day and yet are still disappointed when the end result remains unchanged.

This can be applied to thoughts of ourselves and of the world in total.

Your thoughts please, how do we change this

7 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Is there a shortage of kindness in the world??

  1. Jill says:

    We change it one person and one deed at a time.

    You are so right in saying this. Keep working at it and we will get there.

  2. blissbait says:

    i agree with jill
    that, and by trumpeting calls
    as you do, Sir Bill!!!

    I’m ALWAYS saying this! The world is CHOC’ FULL ‘O’ GOODNESS!!! That’s why I love traveling so. It puts me in positions to HAVE to reach out. People are amazing. I think Your post brings a LOT of this wonderful stuff to light. Thank You and Cheers and Namaste. ๐Ÿ™‚

    You are so right, it doesn’t matter where you go in this world, people are people and NOTHING else matter when it comes to that. There are WORLDLY difference that may separate us, but in the heart we are all the same, just people,wonderful people

  3. Jaymie says:

    Just echoes here.

    Jaymie, I thank you

  4. Mel says:

    I tell people and tell people and tell people—

    What you DO— Matters.

    And what you do, sir…..matters.
    Especially matters to this one.

    Back to the starfish story, yaknow?

    (((((((((((( Bill ))))))))))))

    Mel, I thank you for your so kind words. Thanks for the reminder of the starfish story. It pretty much fits the situation doesn’t it. I will have to dig back in the archives find it and put it up again.
    Have a good day my friend
    Bill

  5. Jo Hart says:

    It’s really sad isn’t it. I’m so big on my kids not talking to strangers etc. And I’ve often said, it seems so rude, but there safety is my paramount responsibility. When going through with my daughters the dangers etc they sit and listen and we role play etc, but then when I bring up if they get lost at a shopping centre, go into a shop and ask the store person to ring my mobile. There reply, but we can’t talk to strangers mum. It’s such a tough world and I think this is why everyone seems so rude these days, personal safety and we have a “Can’t trust anyone” attitude.

    Jo, you are so right, it is sad but personal safety has to take priority. Good for you in teaching that safety to your daughters. Keeping that priority in mind I hope we can still look for other ways.

  6. Doraz says:

    This is a tough one, because until a person realizes they need to make some changes….talking to them or trying to help them…. gets you NO WHERE FAST! What I try to do is what has been said already. One day at a time and one miracle at a time! I will never give up! ๐Ÿ™‚

    you have the right attitude, never give up. I have said. “I believe God sees us as human. As such He does not expect us to be perfect. But, I do believe He does expect us to keep trying and never give up.”
    Thank you my friend

  7. I think it starts with just one person, the one who will say I won’t give up…….. You help someone even when they kick you to the ground, you talk even when you know no one is listening and one day a little seed will fall on fertile soil, the person may try to reject it but the seed will grow. All that can be done is touch one heart, touch it in such a way that it becomes an itch for that person to pass it on…………… Maybe one day kindness can even be contagious.

    Hi Silindile, you are so right on. With everything you have said. I think though that kindness is already contagious. It lightens our hearts and makes us want to pass it on. It is just do we pass it on? If we keep working at it it will become so contagious in the way you mean that we will want to AND then will make the effort to pass it on.
    Good point. I always enjoy reading you comments. Still waiting to hear from your mother.
    Have a good day my friend
    Bill

Leave a Reply

