Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Let the party begin


I suddenly realize this is kind of awkward. Here I am in full party mode and I don’t know if anyone else is at the party. Well I guess only time will tell. In the mean time I am partying. Picture me doing the macarana, no idea as to the spelling even spell checker can’t help me with that one. I am going to just sit back waiting for 10:00 to say my little prayer and toast to the world.

Topping to pray, back at 10:00 with toast of goodwill to the world.

I genuinely mean this with all of my heart as I propose a toast to every person on this planet. “May the very best day in you past be not nearly as good as the worst day in your future”

I am not sure how this time delay thing is working or even if there is one. I am responding to the wonderful comments as quickly as I can. Can anyone tell me, is the a delay.

It is now 11:45 my time and I am worn out and heading for my nap. This has worn me out in a very nice way, I thank all that have participated so far. Please feel free to party on until I return in a couple of hours. Keep those comments coming and I will reply when I get back.

I thank you my friends for your support and for sharing your wonderful acts of kindness. Back in a couple of hours.

30 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Let the party begin

  1. DK says:

    Cheers to you mate
    I’ve been waiting for you to come on line
    My dear mum left us this April past. She read what you were saying every day. She was constantly at us, Bill said this or Bill said that. I know she found comfort in what you were saying and for that I do thank you.
    A couple of weeks ago when it came to the 6 moths of her passing, I was having a tough go of it. I thought to check out this Bill that mum had been going on about. I found where you said it was like me mum was going on a grand holiday and that I would see her again. It took me a while to make sense of it but you are right. It is easier when I think of it that way. I’m thanking you again.
    Every Saturday, me and me mates head to the pub. We decided this time to stay home. We put together the money we would have spent and will give it to a charity.
    I am not suffering a hangover I should thank you for that to.
    Cheers to a great man that has help me and me mum much.

    Danny in Ireland

    I thank you Danny, it is so kind of you to stop by. I am so very sorry to hear of your mother’s passing. I know how hard it must be for you as you learn to adjust to life without here. If you found any sort of comfort from anything I have said I am so very glad
    Bill

  2. Jo says:

    Jo Hart Says:
    November 1, 2009 at 1:06 am | Reply edit

    Well I’m as ever so confused about the time…. So not matter what, today is November 1st, and it’s time to celebrate.

    1st – Thank you Bill, It has been just over 2 years since we have become friends, I found you when my cousin was dying, and I wanted help in helping someone accept they are dying, your words and advice were of wonderful support and helped not only me, but my family through a really tough time, and I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart for your sincerety, friendship, and openess. I love that you allow your blog for all of us, to help each other out in times of needs and hardship. When we are set on a path, and we see no light, we can come to your site, type away our worries, and the support and love that comes back from your blog is an ever shining light.
    2nd – Thankyou Bill’s family, I know his blog takes alot of his time and his energy. Words cannot even express how grateful I am and I’m sure others would agree in “sharing” Bill with us all. As humble as he is, I’m not sure if you all realise the magnitude of Bill’s presence in alot of people’s lives. Again I thank you, he is a much loved man by a lot of people of whom he will probably never meet.
    3rd – My Gift
    Two days ago was my 35th Birthday. This year I decided to go with “Bill’s Logic” and I asked for Random Acts of Kindness to be done, instead of birthday presents. The deal was, that I could then as my gift to Bill, not only give him my random act of kindness, but also share others, so there for we have the “pay on” effect happening…. To make a long story short, (as I know I’m taking up room)… My parents have recently over the last month lost nearly everything to do with there business. They have gone into liquidation through as sad as it seems from the help of my brother and sister-in-law. It’s a very messy and very ugly story…. However this is were my Random Acts of Kindness have come in from my friends…..
    One dear friend has offered them a car, as his random act, another two dear friends, loyalty, support & love has been of great support & help I cannot even say without fear of under estimating it, Another dear friend has employed my mum, so as she has an income, another wonderful friend, who lost her husband earlier this year out at sea, she has gone and Billeted out a room in her house for the Victoria Bushfire Victoms, who are being sent up here for a holiday, anohter wonderful friend made a donation to the Cancer Council Research. I thank them all so much for my wonderful presents and feel very honoured to share them here today with Bill.
    My family were under strick instructions of no gifts, but they had to preform random acts of kindness. My 10 year old’s gift was to pay out of her pocket money entry ticket into the school dance for a friend that couldn’t afford to come, My 7 year old, this will make you laugh, but hey, Random Act it was…. Was to do her chores without complaint….. !! 🙂 of which she did… My 15 year old step daughter cleaned the house for me as her random act, and my dear wonderful husband who is a carpenter, went and did a job for a couple who couldn’t afford to pay. Not only that, I scored a massage as part of his random act…..
    My random act of kindness was thrown out of whack with what I originally had planned, so I’m saving that one for your birthday. I have been extremely busy in helping my parents through a really rough time, helping them try to accept how a son can be so cruel and in dealing with the effects of it all. Even though I don’t consider it a Random Act of Kindness as they are my parents, and I love them to pieces, this is what I have focused on, not only as your gift, but also the biggest lesson I have learnt in life not only just from this experience and from your blog, is that material possessions are nothing. Without the love and support from your family and your friends, what is the point. Life is to short to be taken for granted, and I really appreciate being ALIVE!!!!! Thank you Bill for making me realise it…
    Have a Happy Anniversery my dear friend.
    Love you Lots
    xxx

    Hi Jo, I don’t really have the words adequate to express my gratitude to you and your family. First off though I hope you don’t mind, I want you to be included in today’s celebration so I have taken the liberty of copying you message posted yesterday over to today.
    Jo you have been a dear friend over the past couple of years, it has certainly been my pleasure in getting to know you and in a way your family. You have contributed so very much to the blog over the years and I thank you.
    I am overwhelmed at your response to my request for kindness. Please thank you family and all those other wonderful people that have made me so proud and happy as I am sure they did for you at your birthday. Your birthday gift request shows the wonderfully kind heart you have. You must be so proud of your kids and husband.
    Jo, through your kind heart you have indeed changed the world making it a little better for us all, I thank you my friend.
    Bill

  3. Cat says:

    Happy I Am Alive Day to all! I am a wee bit late, but I raise my coffee in a toast to you! Also, I baked a cake for the occasion. Strawberry cake with strawberry frosting and red and white sugar sprinkles. Everyone help yourselves to a virtual slice!

    thank you Cat, picture me doing the Homer Simpson drool, cake, ohhhh

  4. Jennie says:

    Cheers to you Bill!

    Thanks for being here, my kind, wise, friend.

    This is what I did per your request. Last week I was shopping in a second hand store, purusing the book section. A mom with two very ‘active’ kids, around ages 3 and 5, were also there. The woman was trying to take a few moments to look at some books for grownups, but the kids were tired and whiny and seemed on the verge of a meltdown. The woman turned to her kids and said, “Please let mommy have a few minutes to look at some books.” She looked and sounded very worn out.

    I went up to the woman and offered to read the kids a story from a children’s book if that would be alright with her. I told her, “I kind of miss having kids around and it looks like you could use a break.” She hesitated a moment. I was a stranger after all, but then she said okay.

    I sat on the floor with the kids and read them stories for about twenty minutes while mom found a couple of books for her. The woman looked a lot less frazzled after even a break of a few minutes. It felt good to see kids and mom happier on their way out of the store.

    Jennie that was such a wonderfully kind and thoughtful thing for you to do. It shows your big heart. I am proud to have you as a friend.
    Bill

  5. Cat says:

    Now for the fulfillment of your requests for the day, Bill.

    Here are a couple of photos of me (hopefully these links will work; if not, I’ll try again):

    And for my random acts of kindness, yesterday I went to the hair salon, which is a pretty good drive from my house. Traffic was very heavy both coming and going, so I made a point that any time I saw anyone trying to merge or turn into my lane, I let them in ahead of me. A small thing, but I know how much I appreciate it when someone lets me in during heavy traffic.

    I also tipped my hairstylist double, as she has recently gone through a break-up and is now having to pay 100% of the rent on the apartment she shared with her boyfriend.

    Finally, I am going to sign up this week to have dinner delivered to Gabriella’s (my co-worker who is battling breast cancer, for those who don’t know) house one evening.

    And, Jo, I love your birthday idea! Mine is coming up this month, and I believe I will do the same thing. Random acts of kindness all around!

    Cat, my dear friend, I thank you so much for the pictures it is always nice to be able to put a face the the name. You acts of kindness were wonderful. The traffic thing, great, no act is ever to small to not be appreciated.
    Your generous heart shows in the tipping of the hair dresser and arranging for the dinner to be delivered. I thank you so much my friend.
    Please let me know about your upcoming birthday.

  6. Bill Howdle says:

    planetcity1 Says:
    November 1, 2009 at 4:01 am | Reply edit

    Hi, Bill.
    In honor of Survival and Spirit, a donation was made today
    to One Spirit, an organization whose motto is “Together We Can.”

    Visit their website should you care to learn more:
    http://www.nativeprogress.org/

    “The survival of the world depends upon our
    sharing what we have and working together.
    If we don’t, the whole world will die.
    First the planet, and next the people.”
    FOOLS CROW
    Ceremonial Chief of the Teton Sioux

    [Daylight Savings Time kicked in here at 2 a.m., which means everyone dealing with that should be setting their clocks back an hour.]

    Hi PC as I did with Jo I hope you don’t mind but I have copied your comment left yesterday over to todays post. I want you to be a part of todays celebrations.
    I thank you so much for the donation to the wonderful organization and for your ongoing support here on the blog
    Bill

  7. Betty says:

    Happy Anniversary Bill…….with many more to come. I visit the blog regularly and thank you so much for your inspiring words. My husband and I will leave shortly to visit my mother who lives in a Personal Care Home out of town……she is 97 years old. She is also an inspiration to us. As a personal act of kindness I may not have anything worthy to report right now, but I am still working on it before the day is over.

    Cheers to you Bill, your family and all your blogging friends.

    Have a wonderful day!

    Betty, thank you for stopping by and for your so kind words. Please give your mother my best wishes. You are right the day is not over, please watch for something anything, nothing is ever to small of insignifcant.

  8. Donna says:

    Bill
    Coffee is my beverage of choice also. I join you in that beautiful toast to the world. My act of kindness was today on the way to church I picked up and gave an elderly lady a ride. She is a member of our church but on that I don’t really know. Often I have seen her walking alone and have even felt sorry for her. I thank you for opening my eyes to be watching for simple acts of kindness. I am ashamed of myself for not having thought of offering her a ride in the past. Such an easy and simple thing to do yet I just never thought of it. Bless you for helping so many and for opening my eyes to all that is around me.
    Donna

    hi Donna, through your kind heart, you were a blessing to that lady. I thank you for your kind words, you actually bring up a point I have at times tried to make. There is kindness in the hearts of us all. We just have to be looking for ways to put it to use. The kindness this there, the ways to put it to use are there we just need to find a way to connect the two.
    I thank you my friend
    Bill

  9. Henri says:

    Morning Bill 🙂

    The message is wonderful, pretty much says it all. I am not aware of the original source or due credit would be given.
    Lessons on Life:
    There was a Chief who had four sons. He wanted his sons to learn not to judge things too quickly. So he sent them each on a quest.., in turn..,to go and look at a pear tree that was a great distance away. The first son went in the winter, the second in the spring, the third in summer, and the youngest son in the fall.

    When they had all gone and come back, he
    called them together to describe what they had seen. The first son said that the tree was ugly, bent, and twisted.
    The second son said “no” it was covered with green buds and full of promise.
    The third son disagreed; he said it was laden with blossoms that smelled so sweet and looked so beautiful. It was the most graceful thing he had ever seen.
    The last son disagreed with all of them; he said it was ripe and drooping with fruit, full of life and fulfillment.
    The Chief then explained to his sons that they were all right, because they had each seen but only one season in the tree’s life. He told them that you cannot judge a tree, or a person, by only one season, and that the essence of who they are and the pleasure, joy, and love that come from that life can only be measured at the end, when all the seasons are up. If you give up when it is winter, you will miss the promise of your spring, the beauty of your summer, the fulfillment of your fall.
    Moral:
    Do not let the pain of one season destroy the joy of all the rest. Do not judge life by one
    difficult season. Persevere through the difficult patches and better times are sure to come.

    Live Simply. Love Generously. Care Deeply. Speak Kindly.
    Happiness keeps You Sweet, Trials keep You Strong, Sorrows keep You Human, and Failures keep You Humble.

    Keep up the good work..
    I will be on-line with you again, next year. 😉

    Henri, thank you for those wonderful words. You are right read them and what more can you say. If I have anything to say about it I will be here next year still poking away and rambling on.
    Henri your act of kindness was fantastic. Henri has donated I am not even sure but at least 5 or 6 days to help with “my” kitchen reno. I thank you so much Henri, you are an Earth Angel in deed.

  10. Cat says:

    Bill, I just noticed your question at the end about whether there is a time delay on the posts. There doesn’t seem to be one.

    “thank you Cat, picture me doing the Homer Simpson drool, cake, ohhhh”

    There is never a bad time for cake, I always say! I just had a slice and wished you a Happy Anniversary before I dug in. 🙂

    Hi Cat, thank you for letting me know. I just took a bit of a break my head was getting wonkie but am trying to keep up with the comments.
    cake, ohh, Bill drooling

  11. Juanita says:

    Just a few lines to let you know that I am with you all the way. In your name I am heading to a local nursing home to see and be with people who never or rarely have visitors. I said your prayer for the world and added a few words of my own. May God bless and keep all. Love Juanita

    Hi Juanita, it is so nice to hear from you. I thank you for joining me in the prayer. It is wonderful that you are going to visit those people in the nursing home. You will be an Earth Angel to them as you are so often to all of us. Do me one favor please, don’t do it in my name, do it in your name from your heart.
    I thank you my friend
    Bill

  12. blissbait says:

    Hello Bill! I’m running SO late on today’s post, but just got it up and included an invitation to Your party! I’m running to make my rounds and answer comments, but will be back, back, back!

    Cheers to energy flying everywhere and Love, and Life! 🙂

    Namaste.

    I thank you for stopping by and will look forward to your return. I thank you for including the invitation.
    Bill

  13. blissbait says:

    Hello! I’m seeing confetti is in everyone’s hair! Quite a party You’ve got going here. I’m dodging out again but will be back. Truly am like that at real parties. The butterfly who bops around a lot. 🙂

    Great friends and the party is rocking

  14. Hello Bill, wow this party is happening hey.. I just woke up from my illness filled whole day sleep and said your prayer for the world, I got my gran to pray with me so she could say it out loud (I’m still unable to speak.)

    My random act was this: Last night I got my gran to finish gathering my barely and some never worn clothes, my brother took them to the orphanage today while I was sleeping. I parted with my remaining teddies as well except the gray one from my site.
    My aunt was kind enough to cook for a family whose mother is currently in hospital (I don’t know the story behind that)… My father was a bit hesitant but when I showed him your blog he wholeheartedly drove a woman from our hometown Estcourt back to her home in another part of the province, she was gonna take taxis back home and the weather wasn’t good.

    My mother’s act was the one I told you about that day, I hope she’ll do it every year.

    Though our acts are small we wanted to honour you and say Happy Anniversary to a very brave man.

    Looks like you’ve got a new admirer, my mom can’t stop talking about your blog now, I might need some duct tape;)

    Stay strong, may you keep doing what you do and I wish you all the best. Hopefully your day will catch on and soon be celebrated all over the world… That’d be the coolest.

    My dear friend, I am so glad you and your gran were able to join with me in the prayer to and for the world. I thank you for your generous donation of your clothing and teddies to the orphanage. You have a big heart as do your brother, aunt, father and mother. I am going to recopy the message you sent me about your mothers act of kindness and repost it here. Please thank them all for me.
    I wish you the best and thank you all.
    Bill

  15. blissbait says:

    Hey again! I’m hearing something about the macarena going on here! What? I’m still finishing up my morning rounds, but am smiling big and will return with requested report and hopefully a gift or two! Cheers and Namaste All! 🙂

    Oh I am a sight just dancing up a storm

  16. blissbait says:

    Ah, OH, Wow and THANK YOU ALL for Your wonderful presence on the planet and for sharing Your lives, love, and stories!

    Hey again Bill! Finally caught my breath, downed my coffee, made my rounds and have been able to sit here and read Your post and all the amazing comments. What beautiful friends You have.

    THANK YOU ALL FOR ALL YOU’RE DOING!!!

    The very last random act of kindness I did was to help an elderly woman carry her groceries last night. Now that I am awake and somewhat cohesive, I’ll have to dodge out and do something in Your specific honour!

    I hope Your nap was refreshing. Thank You for all the Love and Inspiration You’re sprinkling about Sir Bill.

    Cheers and Namaste All! 🙂

    Helping carry groceries is a true act of kindness, you became that ladies Earth Angel. You are so right when you say a big thank you to all that are participating today. The world is shining a little brighter.

  17. jpenstroke says:

    Just stopping by to offer some joy to another day in which we each have a chance to act – one kindness given. Thanks to blissbait for sending me over…

    I do thank you for the visit and hope you will return

  18. Jaymie says:

    A party to celebrate life and a directive to share kindness? How did Bliss know…COUNT ME IN! Here is to another amazing day to place as treasure in our pockets. Blessings to Bill for leading the way!!

    Hi Jaymie, welcome and thank you for your visit. I am glad I can count on you, please check out the page listed at the top of this post. Spirit within me. A challenge for ongoing acts of kindness is issued, Hope you will join in.
    Bill

  19. blissbait says:

    Hey Bill! I’m back to report today’s random act of kindness done in Your name!

    I have a friend I’ve been estranged from for a while. There is an event we both participate in which gives an option for donation if You’re able. I know she’s in a bit of a crunch, so I donated for her anonymously. In a few days a halo will show up over her icon. I know it will make her smile!!!

    Thank You, Kind Sir! 🙂

    Bliss, that was such a kind and thoughtful thing for you to do, I thank you.

  20. blissbait says:

    OH! (gee, I hope I’m not annoying You!!! But after all, a party’s a party!!!) And my apologies for getting Your info incorrect on the invitation I posted. You are so generous of spirit You let it ride. Rectifying immediately! 🙂

    Bliss my friend a visit from you could never be annoying. thank you.

  21. ichabod says:

    Hi Bill;

    i come this way to visit
    by way of Bliss
    i thank you for the toast
    as i toast you

    we don’t know one another
    in spirit we do
    for we are all brothers
    on this earth we share

    for when my day
    comes near
    i too
    will have a party
    just like you

    and share my blessings
    with my friends
    spending my time
    to spread good cheer

    i am glad to be here
    to read your thoughts
    and share mine too
    Bill keep it up

    for you have opened
    a present
    for all those
    who visit here 🙂

    from your compadre

    Hi ichabod, I welcome you to the site and hope you will return. The poem is beautiful, I thank you very much.
    Bill

  22. Doraz says:

    Every day I bring a smile to the faces of those that need an embrace. You have a blog that has a lot of discussion, which is great! 🙂 Glad I stopped in.

    Hi Doraz, I am glad you stopped in, welcome and I hope you will return. Please keep those smiles coming.
    Bill

  23. Silindile Ntuli says:

    I am taking the liberty of recopying the message left for me several days ago. It is the act of kindness of our friend Silindile’s mother. Most certainly want her include in todays partry

    Silindile Ntuli Says:
    October 20, 2009 at 3:44 am | Reply

    Hi Bill, I’m working on my act and have asked my family to help me. My mom will be buying school uniform for two kids from my aunts school who are sadly wearing torn up uniform and no shoes. It’s common here in South Africa but that doesn’t make it right.. As for my own act it’s not easy but to honour your 4 full years of rubbing it in the doctors face I will figure out a way to do it.

    Silindile, You should be so proud of your entire family for joining in with acts of kindness. Please thank your mother for me. Maybe they could honor me with a message of their own at some time.
    Bill

  24. kseverny says:

    the strangest thing just happened.
    i came in from blssbaits blog, thinking it would be just another diary.
    i instantly picked up the joyful vibes.
    Yet at the same time picked up an important message.
    .
    To apprecate my own life more and not feel so jealous of other peoples as i sometimes do.
    We all take the rough with the smooth

    hi kseverny and welcome to the blog. I am glad you found us. This is my journal or diary but I hope it is much more than that. Glad you picked up on the vibes and got the message. Hope you will visit again.
    Bill

  25. I’ll give her your blog address I’m sure she’d love to say hello… The other ones on the other hand well let’s just say their skills end on operating their calculators:)

    I would love to hear from her.

  26. clary says:

    I am with you!! Let’s celebrate! I went to see Michael Jackson’s movie This is It and I took away the way to make a difference in this world, begin with me! And love never dies. Let’s do it!

    Clary, I am glad to have you with us. We all have it within us to make a difference in the world. May it begin with each of us. Nice to hear from you my friend
    Bill

  27. Jo Hart says:

    Sounds like it has been the perfect day for a perfect party…… Looking forward to not only celebrating it again next year with you, but also, keeping my own eyes open for random acts of kindness that present themselves along this path of life….. Thanks for letting us share in your special day, it’s been fun..

    Hi Jo, I thank you for joining in on the special day. You and your entire family contributed so much to it, I thank you. I do hope to celebrate again next year. Keep in mind I have a birthday coming up in a couple of months. As I have every years I will be asking for gifts, you already know what they will be, more acts of kindness.
    I thank you for everything, my dear friend
    Bill

  28. Doraz says:

    I plan on it….I have added you to my blogroll…..

    I thank you

  29. Doraz says:

    It is on http://dorazsays.wordpress.com
    Have a great week! 🙂

    a great week to you also, I will be over to visit right now. Honored to add you to my blogroll

  30. Mel says:

    ((((((((((( Bill )))))))))))

    Dang….. I missed out on the ‘real time’ party you had going on here today–but I didnt’ miss out on the toast.
    10AM my time (which was also your time) I raised my cuppa coffee.
    Now, I’ll have you know I tried really hard not to become a distraction–I was in the middle of my normal Sunday meeting. LOL But I did offer a bit of an explanation when it came my turn to share……

    I could list some of those ‘random acts’ you challenged all of us to do–I managed to look for opportunities and I did quite a few things. I plotted and I planned….and I made some things happen that I honestly wouldn’t have bothered to MAKE happen had I not been challenged.
    The greatest act of kindness didn’t come from me.

    It came from you.

    I don’t think you know that.

    I doubt you’ll take credit for it.

    But I know.

    Maybe that’s all that matters, eh?

    http://melsdream.blogspot.com/2009/11/sleeping-with-bread.html

    (((((((((((( Bill ))))))))))))))

    Happy Anniversary of LIFE.
    It’s been an honor and a privilege…..
    I look forward to the continued celebrations.

    Mel, my dear friend, I thank you so very much. I popped over and read the comment on your blog. Your day was wonderful full of kindness. I don’t think I deserve the credit you are giving me, but I thank you so very much.
    Bill

Leave a Reply

