Dying Man’s Daily Journal – My celebration plans pt1


We are quickly approaching November 1st. a very special date in my mind.

A doctor told me I had 2 years left and that was if I was lucky. On Nov. 1st. it will be 6 years since I heard that and I want to have a party with you, my friends. You are scattered all over the world or I would invite you over to the house. So how do we have a party with people scattered so far and wide. So what can I do to bring us all together at the same time?

I have come up with an idea to bring us all together at the same time, even if it is only for a minute or two.

At exactly 10:00am my time, I am going to say a short prayer. A prayer to thank Our Heavenly Father for this wonderful gift of life. To say thank you for blessing me so very much, with the people, the friends that have come into my life. To say a thank you for all of the love, beauty, joy and kindness that there is in this world.

I am then going to raise a glass, saying a toast to every single being on this planet. The toast I will be saying is: “May the very best day in your past, be not nearly as good as the worst day in your future.”

OK, the glass I will be raising in the toast, will actually be a cup of coffee but it isn’t the beverage of choice that counts.

I hope every one will synchronize their times to match mine. If we all can’t be together maybe we can do this one thing together.

I went to google and tried to copy a map to post it showing the various time zones through out the world to help with the synchronizing of watches. BUT, being the high tech guy I am not, I couldn’t get it in a readable form. Maybe someone could help me with that. I am in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. I hope many will join with me Hey, if you can’t do it at 10:00 my time, really anytime is fine, it is more the thought that counts than the actual timing.

I pray that all hearts will be filled with nothing but love and joy of live, even if only for those few minutes.

Hey, I am not finished yet. I am asking each and every person that may read this to go out and change the world. An impossible task many may immediately think. To that I reply: No it is not, it is quite easy in fact. Positive change can come in all sizes, forms and from the most unexpected places or ways. Many might think that to change the world, it would take a monumental task, bringing about world peace, finding a cure for cancer or something such as that. Now, for sure something like that would be wonderful.

I am just sitting here wondering. I wonder how many have the idea that to change the world would take a monumental feat far beyond my capacities and since I can’t do that, I am not even going to bother trying to do anything. Or, that anything I could do would be so small and insignificant that it wouldn’t matter or make any difference. I wonder.

I believe the Good Lord, sees us all as being human and therefore subject to all the normal weaknesses and frailties that come with being human. As such, He doesn’t expect us to be perfect. I believe He does expect us to keep trying to improve ourselves and the world around us, in what ever ways are available to us.

OK, what ways are available to us as just average people to make the world around us a better place. There are millions of ways. I realize I am rambling as I always do. To keep this shorter, I will give but one example to I hope get my point across. What if I recycled even just one glass jar. The glass is reused instead of sitting in a land fill site for a gazillion years. With that one small act did I make the world a better place, YES. By doing that did I make a huge difference, maybe not but I did make a difference.

Really, when we get right down to the bare bones of the matter, every single person on this planet is exactly that, a person. Race, color, faith, sex we are all people, none are any better, none are any worse, we are people.  Can this be something that could unite us all as people in which we are able to put aside other differences. As people we each can do our best to make this world a little bit better every day.

Geesh, I got on such a long winded ramble, I have tired myself right out, just as I was heading for the random acts of kindness. I will try to get that up later today or tomorrow.

4 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – My celebration plans pt1

  1. AM says:

    Haven’t been here for awhile and am so glad you are with us and continuing to write. You still make me stop and think for which I am grateful. Would be honored to join you on Nov.1.

    Hi AM it is nice to hear from you. I look forward to hearing from you on Nov. 1st.. I hope my memory is not failing me when I say this, but how does it feel to be a grandma?
    Bill

  2. Daria says:

    Your post creates hope for others … thanks!

    I’ll be watching your blog for the November 1 celebration … I’m in Edmonton which should be only a hour difference.

    Thank you and I look forward to see you on Nov. 1st.
    Bill

  3. Cat says:

    Hey, we are in the same time zone! That makes it easy to synchronize with you. 🙂

    Excellent

  4. Mel says:

    10:00am your time is 10:00 Central Standard time for me in the good ol’ US of A.

    Which means I don’t haffta worry about setting a clock to remind me of a time difference–I just need to set a clock to remind me it really IS 10:00am on November 1st and you and I are having a toast with our coffee cups! 🙂

    <– will now set the cellphone reminder clock dealy so it buzzes me cuz things fall out of my brain!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

