Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Celebration gifts


When I get a thought in my head and I think it is a good one, I just can’t ever just let it go until I have done my best to act on it.

The idea floating around in this other wise empty noggin of my is the November 1st. celebration of “I am alive”. I would hope everyone reading this would see the word “I” in that phrase as being themselves and not me. This is a special date to me and I have ample reason to celebrate but then so does everyone else.

I see several good reasons why we should have a day of celebration.

Geesh, I have been sitting here trying to actually write something and my thoughts just seem to ramble around in my head and get lost in there somewhere. Back to my rambling style, let her rip and see what comes.

Sometimes we sadly realize we are taking many of the things in our lives for granted. Most often I think that is family and loved ones. There is something we take for granted even more than that, our health and even the very fact that we are alive.

Life is a gift and not a given. It should not be taken for granted. It is taken for granted that we have a tomorrow, a next week and a next year. It really just isn’t given any thought. Well, that is until suddenly we find ourselves in some sort of condition, likely medical where we realize, I may not have a next year, I may not have a next week or even a tomorrow. Oh, believe me, then you suddenly realize the value of every precious moment of time we are gifted with. Does it have to get to this point before we can appreciate the value of our own lives. I mean really appreciate it, appreciate it from way down deep inside each of us.

I wonder how many will read this and just think to themselves: “Of course I appreciate being alive but I am just too busy to give it any thought right now,  I have such a busy stressful day ahead I have to get on with it.” Or, maybe: “How can I appreciate my life with all the crap I have going on in it right now.”

I don’t care what kind of “crap” you have going on in your life, it will all seem pretty minor, if it were to be suddenly replaced by the knowledge you are dying. Then and it seems only then will you realize that compared to what could be, my life really isn’t all that bad. I should be celebrating having the life I do.

Now our birthdays could be taken as such a celebration but really do we see it that way. When we are younger we eagerly await each passing birthday awaiting the age when we can get our drivers license or get into the bar. As we mature, we almost dread birthdays as they just signify we are another year older. We put more joyful feelings into the celebration of the birthday of others than we do our own. Why?

On November 1st. I will be celebrating, I AM ALIVE. I invite all to please join with me as you have your own celebration. We can band together as we each individually celebrate.

I don’t want to take away from anyone’s individual celebration but this is a milestone date for me. As such I am going to actually ask all that join with me to come bearing a gift. I have actually asked for this same gift many times in the past and have always been rewarded with an outpouring of love and support.

I hopefully have a post planned for tomorrow on this expanding on and explaining my idea. But for now what am I asking for as a gift. Please go out and perform a random act of kindness. For whom the act is performed doesn’t matter, the size of or even what the act is doesn’t matter.

All that matters is that we do something kind to help another. An act for which we expect no reward or recognition. We do it from our heart, simply because we can, and we are celebrating being alive.

4 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Celebration gifts

  1. blissbait says:

    love your posts always
    a random act of kindness
    roger doger, sir!

    Thank You for the reminder! I’m planning to join Your celebration full force on November 1.

    Cheers and Namaste. 🙂

    thank you blissbait, I am looking forward to your participation in the party.

  2. Mel says:

    Yup–I have a plan or two in my head. But ya know, sir……the best gifts are going to happen as the circumstances avail themselves on November 1. I’ve no doubt The Big Guy will drop opportunity after opportunity after opportunity in front of me on that day. That’s seemingly how it goes.
    Truth is, those opportunities are undoubtedly there everyday and I miss them…..or don’t take them cuz I can be such a self absorbed person. *sigh*
    Maybe that’s the practice for me……look around at others and stop being so focused on MEMEME, eh?

    BTW–I didn’t answer the question you posed when you shared Vi’s story with us.
    I think I’m embarrassed to admit that I probably wouldn’t have even seen the couple.
    Maybe that’ll help you understand why I said I need more practice at looking around at others. I need to get my eyes off of me, yaknow?

    Hi Mel, can’t wait to see your ideas. You are so right though, the Big Guy I am sure will provide ample opportunities for all.
    As for answering the question, I am really not sure what I would have done, if I had even notice.

  3. Mel says:

    Can I just remind you that a HUGE part of how coming here has helped me ‘stay on the beam’ in how I walk through life?

    You help me turn the tables to look at ME…..and for that I’m forever gratefully indebted.

    *hugs*

    I thank you so kindly. Never discount the huge contribution you make regularly to our spot here.

  4. Tammy says:

    Good Morning!
    I stumbled upon your post today as I was trying to figure out how I would post on my blog about my young cousin’s death, he was born with a heart defect, received a heart transplant when he was 9, he passed away last Sunday at the age of 27.
    Thank you for offering up your blog during this trying, difficult time in your life. I pray that many more people would find your blog. It is inspiring and I pray that you and your family have nothing but peace, happiness, grace and mercy through all of this.
    I will also offer up my gift of random kindness 😉

    good morning Tammy, I thank you for stopping by and leaving your comment. You and family have my deepest condolences at the passing of your young nephew. Please know you are welcome to post here any thoughts you may wish to about your nephew, the circumstances or anything else you may wish to share.
    Bill

Leave a Reply

