Dying Man’s Daily Journal – I am not a dying man


Yikes, the thought just came to me. I have been trying to have a celebration here on the blog on November 1st.. Geesh, I suppose that means I should try and put a little thought into a post, beyond my normal. I don’t consider myself a writer just a rambler. How much prep time do I put into a post? NONE.

I just sit down, do my prayer routine and from there just let it go. Typing the thoughts that come to my head. This is my journal, I don’t proof read anything, I am getting better at remember to use the spell checker but that is it.

I am going to have to get on this, it may require some thought, somthing this old head of mine isn’t that good at some days. Oh boy, what have I gotten myself into.

I came across something the other day mentioning the blog. It again was very flattering and I thank you. It stated that inspite of the title of the blog and my health, I don’t often mention death or dying. That I in fact talk more about living.

That is true. I realize I have reached a point where I no longer even consider myself to be a dying man. I am very much a living man. OK, granted a living man with a few health issues that will shorten my life span. But, I am a living man that is going to go on with living my life the very best way I can, right up until the very last moment, when I am called Home.

I have written all my thoughts on death and dying. I realize those posts are somewhere in the past. Possibly I should bring them back and repost them as some may not want to go all through the archives looking for them. I will do that.

So, why would a “dying” man be writing about living? I have reached a point when looking through my eyes I do see live differently than I did back  even when I started the blog.

I realize, see more clearly how precious life is. Every moment of time wasted is a moment of potential joy gone forever. I look around and see so many people sqaundering precious time and I just want to bang my head against the wall. If you are just going to waste your time, it is just to bad you couldn’t give it to someone that would appreciate it.

Can we learn from the mistakes of others, usually not it seems. Will the words of a “dying” man possibly impact on others. I dont’ know. I do know I can try.

I do believe the Good Lord sees us as human and there for perfection is not expected. I do believe though that what is expected is that we keep trying. That is what I am doing

9 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – I am not a dying man

  1. blissbait says:

    You remind me of one of my favorite quotes which I’m going to paraphrase cause I heard it years ago and at the time the person who shared it with me credited Dustin Hoffman with having said this:

    Be kind. Everyone You meet is dying.

    Ha! Not to make light of Your situation….but, a bit mindblowing, huh?

    Loved Your thoughts today. And I say a big ‘YES!’, you inspire life greatly! Thank You and Cheers!

    You are right that is a mind blowing and very sobering thought. But it is true, we are all dying just on different time schedules. I have to really think about this, I think a post will be coming on this topic. Thanks for sharing with us.
    Bill

  2. HI, Bill. You were on my mind and heart, and so I just wanted to say “Hey!” 🙂

    Hi right back to you. It is so nice to hear from you again. I hope you can pop by again on Nov. 1st
    Bill

  3. Mel says:

    Just keep writing……..cuz……

    Every day I land here is another day well spent. I get reminded of what’s good and true and loving.
    And with this brain (things fall out of it on a regular basis) I need all the reminders I can get!

    (((((((((( Bill )))))))))))))

    Mel, I thank you so much for all your support and kind comments. I happen to know the brain can only hold so much information at anyone time. With all the wisdom you carry around it is small wonder some things just have to fall out, your brain is overloaded.
    just like mine. lol to the mine part anyway

  4. I can say without a doubt that your give at least one person hope every single day.

  5. Jo Hart says:

    What you share Bill with us all, is something I carry with me everyday. Because of you I feel a better person. Keep it coming I say and ramble away all you like…..

  6. Irene says:

    Dear Bill,
    Just thought I’d drop by and say Hello and am hoping that you had a great day.
    Glad to hear that the project is under control and that Earth Angels have shown up to lend a hand (or wing!!)
    Praying for continued blessings, Wiseman.
    Irene

  7. Julie says:

    Hi,

    Well my friend who is a Vet.. has been told by his doctor’s that he has stage four lung cancer. They have told him there is no need for treatment it would not do any good. Is this true? For him to not even try? Please tell me your thoughts. He has resigned himself to just letting himself die. The prognosis is 3 to 6 months. He won’t even attempt a second opinion. Is there anything I can do to change his mind? Is there anything you can tell him to help him seek some support? To at least give it one more shot? Please help.

    Hi Julie, you are facing what I believe to be one of life’s hardest challenges. I remind you, I am not a doctor or a man of the Clergy. I am just a regular guy sharing his thoughts based on my own experiences.
    I know very little about cancer other than it is a terrible terrible disease. I can only share with you my thoughts and feelings as I await what lies before me. Just possibly I can relate to your friends decision. I don’t know how much time I have left, I live day by day realizing I may not have a tomorrow. I want to live each day as peacefully, calmly and as comfortably as possible. My diagnosis was made by highly qualified professional doctors as I am sure your friend was. I trust their judgement and abilities.
    Again, speaking only for myself. I cherish life and I want to really live every moment of it that I have given to me. For me I needed to reach a level of acceptance of what lies ahead. With that acceptance came a calmness, a peace of mind that does in fact allow me to live each day that I have left. I did not want to allow myself to go into what I call panic mode. I would be frantically running from doctor to doctor continually seeking alternative cures. I feel I would be depriving myself of the enjoyment of the time I do have left. I can only assume that possibly this is what your friend is in search of.
    I agree with the comment left by Planetcity. From your comment, it sounds that your friend has made an informed decision in choosing how he wishes to spend his last days. As PC also said it is so difficult to just stand by and watch helplessly, wanting so very desperately to help a loved one, ultimately realizing there really is nothing you can do to “fix” the problem.
    What you can do though is provide loving support for you friend, helping him to attain that level of internal peace. It is hard I know, but in doing this you will attain a level of internal peace for yourself.
    Planetcity referred you to the hospice site listed on the right hand side of this post. Please go to it, check it out, read what they suggest. I think I can provide you with a great deal of support.
    I know I have not answered your comment and questions in the way you would have liked. Sadly, sometimes bad things happen to good people and all we can do is support them through it.
    I hope you will continue to return to my blog to share any thoughts or feelings you may have. I invite your friend to please do the same. Here you will find a loving supportive community of friends that will welcome you and provide support in anyway possible.
    You are in my heart and prayers.
    Bill

    • planetcity1 says:

      Hi, Julie. One of the toughest things one has to do when someone has been diagnosed with a condition that has been labeled terminal is to stand back and allow that person the dignity of making his or her own end of life decisions. We want to jump in, to do something, to pull a rabbit out of our magical hat; to make everything go back to the way it was. Emotionally, we never want a friend or a loved one to ever leave us. Your friend is doing what he feels is right for him. There is a link on the side of this page that leads to Hospice. Now is the time to get acquainted with the services they provide.

      Hi PC. A wonderful, wise comment I thank you for sharing it with us.
      Bill

    • Mel says:

      ((((( Julie ))))) It’s a very hard, painful thing to hear–when it’s terminal and what it’s untreatable. I heard the same prognosis for someone who’s close to me. Inoperable, untreatable–she was given 6 months. They’ve done some things to make her comfortable and hopefully slow the progression, bit the disease will win. I’m sad….and angry. I know so many who’ve successfully been treated with their cancers, including myself–I have a difficult time wrapping my head around it. I want to jump back to what I know has been true for other cancers, other people’s circumstances.
      They’re not the circumstances for this one. And that’s hard.
      It’s painful.
      The disease will progress and in a very short amount of time, I will have ‘lost’ someone who matters to me.

      Her choices are limited, just as I’m sure your friends are. And within those limits, she has to decide how she’ll handle leaving this realm. My job is to walk through it with her. It’s a tough walk…but I above all, I do not want her to go through this alone–whatever ‘this’ turns out to be.

      I know it’s hard to accept. I know it’s hard to watch. I also know while her time is limited, so is mine…..with her.
      And that’s been my choice to make. I choose to walk it with her. She’s allowed me to….which I consider a gift.
      It doesn’t stop me being angry about the circumstances–but there is a sense of rightness to remaining. She can’t do anything about her circumstances–but I can do something. I can be there with her, yaknow?

      (((((((((((((((( Julie ))))))))))))))))))))))
      Peace to you…..and warm, peacefilled thoughts for your friend who’s walking a very difficult path.

Leave a Reply

