Dying Man’s Daily Journal – To All Faithes


I am very happy to see that many seem to like my idea of having a celebration on November 1st.. I do hope and pray many will join with me on that day in celebrating the fact: “I AM ALIVE”. OK, November 1st is a date that has particular significance to me, but that is not the point.

I hope many will join with me as I have my celebration of life but at the same time each individual will see it as their own celebration of life, the very fact that they are alive. We band together as we each have our own celebrations.

Now, I am most definitely not a computer guru, but I did do a search trying to find something that represented an I am alive day and could find nothing. When I really think of it, I have to wonder why?

Now, I would think if you approached the vast majority of people and asked them to make a list. A list of the most important things in their lives. I imagine the majority as would I say the most important thing in my life is my family, to some it may be the work that they do. But, I would guess that no matter how long was the list you asked for, very few if any would have list the very fact that they are alive. Maybe, it is at least partly because of my current health condition but I have to wonder, why?

For me, family would with out doubt would by far top my list, my heart holds no greater love. Prior to the past few years, i don’t think it would have even occurred to me to put the fact I am alive on any such list. Why? Because I believe it is something that is just taken for granted and not recognized or truly appreciated. Again, I have to ask why? We take life for granted and do not appreciate it.

For me, never will my own being alive become more important to me than my family. It just won’t. But shouldn’t the fact that I am indeed alive be at least somewhere on the list of things important to me.

I can’t seem to think of the words to describe what I am about to say, without it sounding overly simplistic or even just plain ridiculous. It is by the very fact that I am alive that I can feel the love of family, or do the important work that I do or what ever made it high on your list of important things. Life is something we just take for granted and wrongly so.

By my thinking there are something like 6 1/2 billion people on this earth, that would equate to 6 1/2 individual celebrations. many would obviously band together to celebrate but hopefully never lose sight of the fact they are celebrating their own life.

When I think of it, people are people all around the world. We are often separated by physical geography, faith, culture or I suppose hundreds of other things. No matter what separates us, we are all still the same just people.

What are the two things we all have in common, with no exceptions to this. Bluntly put, it comes down to the simple fact that we live and then we die. Here we have at least a starting point for something we all have in common. Can we somehow us this common factor to recognize and appreciate the wonder of being alive, both ourselves and all others.

My blogging friend Silindile left this comment and I ask is it possible, what do you think?

“think this idea of yours should be made into an international day where, there are so many holidays that are really not important when you think about it, this one is relevant and would change peoples thinking and touch hearts on a grand scale.”

7 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – To All Faithes

  1. Jo Hart says:

    Bring it on – Like I said, November 1st will be a day I celebrate from now on, regardless of whether it has been recognised or not. It’s a day I am passing on to my children as well, and hopefully they will pass it on to their children and so forth. I’ve already told the kids to start thinking of what special “act” they are going to do on that day…

  2. Cat says:

    Count me in!

  3. Cat says:

    Bill, I have a prayer request for you and your blog friends. A co-worker of mine, Gabriella, was diagnosed with breast cancer about a month ago and had a double mastectomy this past Wednesday. Unfortunately, during the surgery, the doctors discovered that the cancer has spread to her lymph nodes. She will be starting chemo and radiation soon. She is just 34 years old and has two beautiful young children. Please keep her and her family in your prayers. She is a fighter and is maintaining a very upbeat, positive attitude, but I am sure prayers and good thoughts would be appreciated.

  4. planetcity1 says:

    Candles lit and prayers said for Gabriella.

  5. Mel says:

    *sending prayers and healing thoughts to Gabriella*

    It’s amazing how we overlook the simple, easy things–or how we simply don’t bother when we could cuz we convince ourselves it won’t matter one way or another.

    Pshaw….everything we do/don’t do–matters.

    *HUGE hugs*

    Now, where’d I put that thinking cap of mine. LOL I have a project to come up with for November 1st!

  6. Sending lots of prayers to God asking for strength for our girl Gabriella, stay strong and God Bless.

    It can start small but I think it can be done, being alive is what makes everything else possible and should anne below faith and family on our lists.

    I’ve convinced my family to celebrate November 1st together at my grandmothers house, hopefully it’ll catch on and be passed down from generation to generation;)

  7. Irene says:

    Dear Bill,
    November 1st is going to be fantastic!! I wish everyone around the world would celebrate it. But let’s start local–it’ll catch on. What a neat idea though. Let’s just celebrate that we are alive, together. Everyone is trying to eek out a life in all different ways. We’re all trying to do the best we can with what we have and what we know. Surely that’s worth celebrating!! Some have more, some have less, but we’re all in this crazy game called life TOGETHER. We’re losing and gaining “game-players” every minute of every day. That, in itself, is cool. This is such a great idea. It’s got potential to get big, really big.
    Dreaming wonderful ideas, Wiseman!
    Irene

Leave a Reply

