Dying man’s Daily Journal – Medical update


Not feeling so spry today. I see the doctor again on Tuesday. The diarrhea is continuing without let up, 6 weeks, geesh. Between that and I think trying to do a little in the kitchen just has me worn out.

Can’t remember if I wrote about my visit to my neurologist, I think it was last week. I have been taking dialantin, an anti seizure medication. It has been so long (5 or 6 years) since I had my last fall down seizure so he has cut my medication back slightly from 450mg/day to 400mg/day. Everything seems fine so far. He did a couple of basic tests and the results surprised me.

Now I have known for a long time my balance is off. Lack of balance hasn’t actually made me fall but I have often done that little stumble step thing. The doctor had me out in the hallway and asked me to just walk a straight line. But doing it while putting the heel of one foot directly in front of the toe of the other. What we used to call baby steps in games. Huh, I couldn’t do it, I lost my balance with each step. I just got a chuckle. It is like you see on TV on the various cop shows. When they are checking to see if someone is drunk, you see them having the person taking these steps in a straight line. Supposedly if the person is drunk they can’t walk that straight line and are often seen being arrested. Huh, wonder what they would do with me, I could stumble as I am getting out of the car and then can’t walk the line. LOL. I guess I should give up my plans to walk a tight rope over the grand canyon. Now that is a really big LOL.

My neuropathy has also worsened. It used to be it was only in my hands and feet that I had limited to no feeling at all. It seems to have spread from my feet to about half way up the calves of my legs.

This neuropathy is something you have to be careful with, but as I always say there are always 2 ways to look at everything. OK, I must be careful in that I could put on my shoes and have a small pebble of something inside of one and I would likely never even know it. It could cause sores or blisters or something. Or, there is the “Bill” way to look at it, which is. Hey I am a really really tough guy. Want to know how tough I am?

Well let me tell you. These are actual things that have happened to me. I was walking bare foot here in the house. I stubbed my big toe so hard it actually tore the nail right off, which cause it to bleed. Now, I am so tough I didn’t pay it any mind, in fact I didn’t even realize it had happened until Vi saw blood on the floor. I have been using a hammer to pound a nail into the wall. Missed the nail and just wacked my thumb. I have been able to look at my thumb and say, wow that must have hurt.

I remember something my mother used to say, “no sense, no feeling” hmm.

7 Responses to Dying man’s Daily Journal – Medical update

  1. blissbait says:

    Good Morning Bill!

    Yikes and ack. Doesn’t sound like the funnest time, for sure. Sorry about the diahrrhea thing…I had that for six weeks once as well. Horrible horrible. You have so much going on, and when that happened to me I we otherwise healthy, so please, please forgive me if this is intrusive and annoying. The thing that finally stopped it for me was sticky white rice with cinnamon on it. I’d gone to a few doctors and no one knew what was wrong and no medication would stop it. A friend had me go to a Chinese herb doctor, and that’s what he told me to do. He told me to eat little bits and chew them very well. And it worked. I feel a little like an idiot leaving this comment, so seriously, please forgive me if I’m out of bounds!!!

    You’re in So Many Hearts!!!

    Thank You for Your honesty and humour and Cheers! 🙂

    Thank you for the hint. I will give it a try. I like rice, have never tried it with cinnamon but am going to give it a try. Thanks again. Any hints of any sort intended to try and help someone are never out of bounds. Thank you for sharing.
    Bill

  2. Jill Cooper says:

    Sorry about your bathroom problem…no fun at all. I saw someone else suggested cinnamon – it’s good for a whole host of things so it can’t hurt to try. Also if you like yogurt, you could try eating that everyday for the probiotics. You can also get them in pill form at the drugstore or grocery store. They help restore the ‘good’ bacteria in your colon. Anyway, hope it stops soon.

    Thanks for the tip. Yogurt is something else I like, will give it a try. Thanks again.
    Bill

  3. I like the Bill way of looking at it, it’s always great to find your own defination of things and find ways to explain what you’re going through.. I like the fact that you don’t sit around feeling sorry for yourself, you’re such a strong man Bill.

    I’m trying to picture hammering my whole toe without even realizing what happened and though there are disadvantages to not feeling pain, that part is an advantage:)

    What is affecting your walking though? I don’t have any advice for anything except to say hang in there, you’ve done a great job.

    I thank you so much for your kind comments as always. It doesn’t really seem to affect my walking that much other than my balance. I hope you are having a good day, my friend
    Bill

  4. Irene says:

    Dear Bill,
    Gee, Bill, sure hope that “poop” thing clears up soon. It must cramp your style a bit–no real pun intended!!
    I’m sick of winter already and it’s only been 2 hours of snowy weather. It truly depresses me. I’ve got to find something really good about winter…make it my friend. I’ve always thought of winter as being the end of everything rather than the start of something new and different. The biggest problem is that I don’t care for hockey, I don’t ski, I don’t skate, I don’t curl, I just don’t anything during the winter. Any suggestions for winter time activities other than those??? The pickings are pretty slim. It’s Manitoba for crying out loud. I’m such a wimp…I hate the cold. After this many years of living, after this many years of surviving blizzards and sub-zero weather, icy roads, and gale force winds, after this many years of mountains of snow to move and meters of heavy shoveling to do, you’d think I’d be prepared for the dastardly season. But, it always catches me by surprise. I waste so much time and energy fighting it. This winter, I’m going to try to find the positive side!! Wish me luck because that’s going to take awhile!!!!!
    Praying for you always, Wiseman.
    Irene

    Irene, I hear what you are saying. Our winters can be a little trying. Especially this year, it seems like we really didn’t get a summer and here is the snow already.Here in Winnipeg we didn’t get much snow just enough to cover the ground, but it has stayed. Some areas I hear got 15-20cms. this will melt and we will get a little bit of nice weather yet. (don’t hold me to that this is Manitoba.)
    A lot of people see spring as the new beginning. I see winter as being the new beginning. I like to thing of it as, nature has gone into a rest period, resting up to burst forth in the spring.
    I am with you on the winter activities part. I am getting either to old or to wimpy to want to spend much time out in that cold.
    For me a good book or more time on the computer is the answer. If we am lucky, possibly you will spend more time with us here.

  5. Mel says:

    Gotta tell ya, Bill–it was the flu and the prolonged diarrhea that led me to a ‘gluten free’ lifestyle. NOT that I’m promoting it. Geeze it’s been a transition and a half…and a whole different problem for me to get to deal with.
    *shrugs* I’ve had bigger battles–this is just an inconvenience, yaknow?
    I hope you find an answer that works for you.

    I’m well aware there’s more than one way to look at things–I’m glad for your attitude. I’m also glad you’ve got Vi checking on you cuz you well know that pain’s an indicator of something not being as it should be. Without that–…..I know ya know….
    Just….take care of you, will ya please?

    And I must say you had a very wise mother. LOL

    (((((((( Bill ))))))))

    😉

  6. Mel says:

    Oh…and Irene!!

    Winter’s when I drag out fun ‘make it’ things. It’s either that or baddddd things start to happen. *laughing* I’m not good company for myself, I’m just not!

    Quilting is best done in winter–and what better way to stay toasty warm than to have a quilting hoop on your lap.

    And really, we make our holiday cards out of a need to stay sane, not cuz I’m that wonderfully creative kinda person….LOL
    I catch up on vacation photos/small scrapbook projects–I’m not giving up my patio time to do all that stuff!
    And winter’s a great time to do volunteer projects or do a class or two at the local community college.

    Did someone mention more time on the computer? LOL
    ACK…………that, too! 😉

Leave a Reply

