Dying Man’s Daily Journal – My Earth Angels


I write often of the Earth Angels that are amongst us. What is my definition of an Earth Angel? Well, I believe that at certain time the Good Lord will call upon each of us to help, guide or mentor another. Somehow, we are in the right place at the right time and there before us will be an opportunity to in some way assist another. I do believe that if we sieze the moment and act on that opportunity we for the moment become Earth Angels.

It is those times when we step up and perform and act of kindness or generousity that comes from our hearts. When it is not expected of us, we are are under no obligation nor do we expect any payment, reward or recognition. We do so when our hearts see a need and our minds tell us that we can do something be it big or be it small. We can do something to help another. There are even times when our hearts must “over rule” our “pesky” earth bound physical minds.

Our “pesky” physical minds will often fill us with thoughts such as: “I don’t have time” or “what could I do that could make any difference”. I say phooey to both of those thoughts. We so often seem to think that if we are to do anything it should matter and for anything to matter it must be something big. Again I say phooey. Every journey no matter how long is really nothing but a series of steps. Anything and everything done to help another with even one of the steps on their journey is a help. A lot of little bits add up to a big bit.No act of kindness is too small to matter.

One my page shown at the top of this post, I challenge people to spend 5 minutes a week looking for and then performing an act of kindness. I don’t care how busy you are, 5 minutes a week can be fit into any schedule.

Back to my own Earth Angels. I am going to be making more of an effort to recognize the wonderful people around me every day.

I have written of how, we are remodeling our kitchen and replacing the counter and cabinets. Now money is never that plentiful and this is can be an expensive proposition. To save cost I have elected to remove the existing cabinets and counter myself. In fact, “I” got the top cabinets down and out. Well I say “I” did it, maybe I should concede that Vi’s brother Henri helped a little but I did the rest. Well to be fair I suppose I should say that Henri actually did quite a bit, but I did the rest. OK, OK I confess, Henri did virtually it all, but I did the rest.

Henri, truly is a great guy and has helped us out so very many times. Now this is also the same Henri that has so often left very wise comments right here on the blog. Henri, I thank you so much. You are indeed and Earth Angel.

4 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – My Earth Angels

  1. blissbait says:

    i love your challenge
    i try to do this but there
    are times i forget…

    Nice reminder! I feel the same way about Earth Angels being all around. I do believe you’re one of them. Thank You and I take my hat off to Henri as he flaps his sparkling wings!

    Cheers!

    I thank you for your so kind words, Henri keeps those wings hidden pretty well but we all know they are there.

  2. Irene says:

    Dear Bill,
    Sure had a good giggle about the cupboards! All glory comes from daring to begin. I suspect that the whole project was your idea, so technically…You should get all the glory, right??? LOL Nice try!!
    Have a great day, Bill. Hope the renovations get done without a hitch. Praying for you always, Wiseman.
    Irene

  3. Mel says:

    I’m kinda liking this concept–renovate the kitchen by watching someone else do the work. LOL I might have to snag that concept. 😉

    ((((((((( Henri ))))))))))))

    Thanks Henri!! 🙂

  4. Ha ha ha ha ha ha your sense of humor is sharp my friend, youu sure know how to put it out there.
    You’re also an earth angel Bill, you’ve invited us into your life, you’re telling us your story and transfering your strength to someone every single day… I salute you.

    Thank God for Henri, he suonds like a great guy.

Leave a Reply

