Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Celebrating I am Alive


I am off to see the Doc this afternoon. I hope he can give me something to settle down my system.

A big hello to Quinn. Quinn is a very nice young lady. Years ago while in my stay in Beusejour I met Quinn when she was about 10 or 12 years old. It is a very small world as I ran into her a few weeks back and Vi and I saw her again last night. Quinn was married several weeks ago, met the lucky groom John. My best wishes to you both.

I have been thinking about having a blog party. Now I am not even really sure what I mean when I say having a blog party. I had thought of doing something then the blog hit 200,000 hits but missed it. Then thought about doing something at 210,000 hits but again somehow missed that. It seems the  actual number of hits is becoming less and less important to me. I am satisfied just knowing people are reading what I have written and that I am seemingly able to help some. It really is such an amazing feeling to know you have helped another.

I have though realized I do want to have a celebration. A celebration of the fact that I am still alive. Now that very statement may sound strange to many. But, really we all should celebrate every day the fact that the Good Lord has given us another day on this earth, with our loved ones. Life has no guarantees and everyday should be seen as a gift, recognized and celebrated as such.

Now I have chosen November 1st to be my celebration day. I want to turn that day into a day of celebration of the fact I am alive. Why November 1st..
Well that wast the date that I heard the one and only time expectation I have had from a doctor as to how long I might have on the earth. His words are still burned into my mind. “There is no way to tell, it could be 3 days, 3 weeks, 3 months, a year, a year and a half or even two years if you are lucky.” Hearing news like that can certainly cheer you right “Down”.

Well guess what. Two years if I am lucky, phooey. November 1st. will mark 6 years and I am still going. Granted maybe I am not going as strongly as I was but I am still going and that is what counts. Never give up on living life to the fullest extent you can. You just never know.

I believe this blog has had a lot to do with my life, my very survival. I have received so much encouragement and support from around the world. Thousands have said prayers for me, for which I am so very grateful. Mere words can not express my gratitude.

On November 1st. please join me in my celebration, I AM ALIVE. maybe we can take that celebration one step further so that every single person that may read this will celebrate the fact they are alive. The I am alive celebration will be for me but for each and everyone. Everyone will take the I AM ALIVE wording to mean themselves.  We will all celebrate the fact we are alive.

Now for me this is a big anniversary to be celebrating. Now to help me celebrate I have done in the past I am asking for gifts from all that may read this. That’s right, I am flat out asking for a gift from everyone. I mean doesn’t an anniversary this big for me deserve a gift of some sort.

This is the gift I am asking for. Perform a simple random act of kindness. What the actual act is, doesn’t matter. For whom you perform the act doesn’t matter. It doesn’t have to cost anything, the size of the act again doesn’t matter. All that matters is that you did it. You made the world a little bit better with a simple act of kindness, for which I thank you.

So where does the gift for me come into the mix. I ask that you leave me a message here on the blog, telling me what you did. Help me to know I am making a difference.

Each such message will be seen by me as the most wonderful gift I could have possibly received. It will not be seen as boasting or bragging, nothing like that. Reading your messages may encourage others to do the same. We can change the world, one small act at a time.

Usually, all we read about in the news is the bad stuff. Good hard working people make up the majority of this world and kindness does prevail everywhere. Let’s tell the world about the other side of things, the good and kind side.

15 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Celebrating I am Alive

  1. dcmattozzi says:

    Bill – God Bless! I pray that our world leaders will ask God for the courage and motivation that you have.

    That is kind of you to say, thank you
    Bill

  2. blissbait says:

    you brought me soft tears
    i’m glad that you’re still around
    you’ve made my heart smile

    Thank You for all You’re gifting! What a great celebration idea! I’m marking my calander!

    Namaste and Peace All.

    Looking forward to “seeing” you at the celebration

  3. You’ve definitely helped me Bill, more than you can ever know. I wake up and check for an update, when I read your blog it’s not only because you write beautifully, or that you throw in a joke here and then, I read because I get another reason to stay in the fight. Maybe you won’t help a million people, but to me your help has earned a million thanks.

    Maybe it’s the comfort I get, maybe it’s realizing there is someone out there I can relate to, maybe it’s thw fact that I tell myself that reading and leaving a comment makes you feel good, I don’t know, but I do know that you’re one hell of a man and you deserve a celebration…

    I’ve decided to donate all my clothes to the orphanage on your day, I never use then I only use a handful. I figured what’s the point of wearing my fantastic clothes in bed when a lot of people need them. So your gift from me is gonna be just that. I now have to get my brother to take them to the orphanage.

    I thank you so very much for you kind words. If my writings are able to help you in any way I am so very glad. A million thanks from you is more than I could have ever asked for, I thank you for you comments and on going support here on the blog. Reading your comments does make me feel good and I hope you will continue.
    The donation of some of your clothing is a wonderfully kind and generous thing to do. It shows the big and loving heart that you have.
    Blessings to you my friend
    Bill

  4. Jo Hart says:

    Count me in, I have a few ideas in mind. Will let you know on November 1st, I’m getting the kids involved too this year.

    Hi Jo, looking forward to hearing from you on November 1st

  5. Juanita says:

    You can count on me as I try to live my life doing for others. love Juanita

    Hi Juanita, you are a good person living a good life as you are.
    Bill

  6. Jo Hart says:

    Hey Bill, I have a theme song for your big celebration, I’ve you tubed it, and I found this one with some beautiful quotes and pictures to go with it. And not to mention Celine is Canadian, so what more can we ask for??? Read some of the quotes, they are really quite thought provoking…. Hope you enjoy

    Thank you Jo, this is beautiful. We have the theme song for our celebbration

  7. sounds like a plan Bill! Count me in on Nov 1.

    Hi Martha, so nice to hear from you. Looking forward to “seeing” you at the celebration.

  8. Mel says:

    Woooooohoooooooooo!!

    A PARTY!!! :=)

    k…..lemme put on my thinkin’ cap….
    (and find my dancing shoes….LOL)

    ((((((((((( Bill ))))))))))))

    (is it okay to mention that I’m glad you’re surrendering and going to see the doc?…)

    Mel, when you find those dancing shoes, please save one dance of me.

  9. Dawn G says:

    I came across your writing just by chance. I was searching for info on improving life not on dying. I was taken back when I saw the name of your blog come up on the computer in the search. I found myself quite nervous about even entering such a site almost fearfull of what I might read. I was looking to improve my life not have it dragged down by the depressed melancholy of a depressed dying man. I was so pleasantly taken back to discover your writings are nothing of the sort and are in fact the exact opposite of that.
    A short time back I finished reading your writings. By that I went back to your first article and read everything up to today. It was a bit of a go reading all that you have written. You have put up many hundreds of articles and thousands have replied to them. Once I had begun it became like reading a good book you just can’t put down. I had a need to just keep coming back to read more and more. it is brilliant. It gave me pause to think of my life situation. My plight pales in comparison to yours and you are living it in such a positive courageous manner. I have marked as a favourite you article on what you call the highway of life and the little bumps it may have. I return to it many times when I become swamped with life. I am now able to more clearly see a bump in the road for what it is and I no longer become overwhelmed as I did. I owe you so much thanks.
    I have been trying to come up with an idea that will help me even the score for what I owe to you.

    Hi Dawn, I thank you for your kind words and am so glad if some of my writing has been a help to you.
    You can ask my family or anyone that knows me, it is not often that I am left not knowing what to say about almost anything. You have me in that position now. I feel both flattered, humbled and even a little embarrassed and uncomfortable. I know that was not your intention. I am so very flattered at the thought of the project you are proposing to other readers. Please understand it has never been my intent that my request for random acts of kindness be directed towards me, but instead to others, anyone else, the who doesn’t matter. My request was just to be told of acts done because of my request. That is more than enough for me.
    I am so very flattered that you would think of a project such at this and I do thank you with all of my heart. I understand what is in your heart and I pray that you understand what is in mine.
    Please, don’t be offended but I am deleting the second part of your request to the other readers. Your kind and thoughtful idea would be so very time consuming, time if given the choice I would prefer to have used seeking acts of kindness for others.
    I am sure I have not worded this well and am sending you an email.
    Bless you my friend, just knowing you had this wonderful idea, is an act of kindness in itself.
    Bill

  10. I’ve added you on my links and written a short description, I hope more and more people will see your blog and offer you kind words on hard days, while also learning from you.

    Stay strong mate

    Thank you, I am honored to have been added to your links
    Bill

  11. Irene says:

    Dear Bill,
    Well, I’m back!! The road has been tough and rough and bumpy and full of unexpected twists and turns, but I think I see the light at the end of the tunnel. All I have to do is to keep walking in and toward the light. The ALL CLEAR sign isn’t shining brightly yet, but the “switch” is on and I can see where I’m going once again.
    I can’t thank everyone enough for the support given. It felt so good to have a bunch of people rallying for me even when I couldn’t rally for myself and even if we’ve never met! This site is a real guiding light–a lighthouse per se. I’d be a ball of smoosh without it. Bill, you’ve been such an inspiring influence on so very many people. The wisdom that is posted by you and other postees is what gets me going and keeps me going. Literally, this place is a life-saver! I’m going to try to think of a really good gift to give you on November 1. I’d like to make it really special! I owe you so much I can’t even put it into words. Perhaps the best thing I can say is simply: Thank-you.
    Praying for you always, Wiseman.
    Irene

    Irene, my dear friend. I am so very glad to hear things are starting to look up. You remain in my prayers and in the prayers of many. Speaking for myself and I am sure the many other “postees” all the thanks we require is the knowledge things are at least starting to fall into place for you and that you have returned here to be with us.
    Bill

  12. Jo Hart says:

    Irene – So glad to hear that all is starting to map out for you. I’ve been thinking of you often…. Much love and peace to you…

  13. Mel says:

    (((((((((((( Irene ))))))))))))))

    There’s light!! 🙂
    I’m so glad to hear that you’re starting to see it. Soon I’ll hope for you to find a bit of rest and warmth.

    (((((((((( Bill )))))))))))
    And the doctor said???? :-/
    You know people care about ya bunches, sir.

    Mel, I appreciate the concern but I am doing OK. I am taking a new drug. It doesn’t seem to be having any effect yet, but I am confident it will soon

  14. Amy Klinka says:

    Hey Bill,
    It’s been a while since I’ve last posted. I have to share something with you that I found in a hospital gift shop. It was a plaque and it read:
    I believe in the Sun even when it is not shining,
    I believe in Love even if I’m alone,
    I believe in God even if he is silent.
    This was found etched into a wall in Germany by someone who was trying to escape the Nazi Concentration camps.
    It is so inspiring and I felt the need to share it with you. That even though they saw loved ones imprisoned, and knew they were being persecuted that they had the hope and the faith to get them through and when it comes down to it that is all that really matters.
    You take care, have a wonderful birthday as I’ve just reached 50 and I know I am so blessed. I am going to celebrate my birthday and my Dad’s who is going to be 80 on the 26th of October this coming weekend. God has surrounded me with such a loving family. I keep you and your family in my prayers.

  15. Amy Klinka says:

    Oh and for your celebration I am going to donate canned goods to the food pantries in our area. There is a high demand for food this year and it will give me a chance to reach out to others. It really wouldn’t take much to fall into the same category as those in need and who knows some day it may be me needing the help. I think all who are blessed should remember those less fortunate. I’m glad you are alive to see all the positive things you generate. You see God does have a purpose for you, you may not see the big picture but God does.

Leave a Reply

