Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Accepting other Faiths


I think I may be one of the only Manitobans to be grateful that our summer that really never was a summer is coming to an end. Why do I say a summer that never was a summer, the weather. Cooler temperatures, more cloud and rain than normal. More rain, higher humidity and more difficult to breathe.

Have my wonkie head going on today. I take pills to help me pass water. Being the sophisticated and technical guy that I am, I call them my “pee” pills. I take them daily but even with that fluid builds up and once or twice a week I take a “big pee” pill. Yesterday, was one of those days. I passed 7 pounds, I weigh myself in the morning and then again at night. That messes with my electrolytes of something and the next day I have the wonkie head.

This is something I wrote a few days ago:

I watched a very interesting TV show last night. It talked about the Mayan calendar, various  predictions  and all sorts of things I am not even going to get into.

What struck me was when they talked of the great pyramids.  It was just full of mind boggling facts and statistics, none of which I can remember other than it truly is an engineering  wonder. There were theories put forward on why they were built, how they were built and by whom they were built. Again, I don’t want to get into all of that stuff.

There was one point though, in the discussions of the why they were built that caught my attention and has me thinking. One theory was that the pyramids were built to provide future generations a guide on how we are to survive as a human race. Huh, I am not sure about that either. But apparently there is much study  being done to discover what that message may be.

Now, I am not so sure about any of this but just for the sake of discussion assume that is true. No, when I think about it I believe the pyramids do contain an important message, whether or not they were built for that purpose I don’t know. What potential message do I see:

Let us consider the pyramids. A pyramid is  a perfect triangle. Upon each succesive layer another perfect triangle is built, just a little smaller than the one below it. This process continues with a continuing series of smaller and smaller perfect triangle until a top is reached high in the sky.

Each side of the pyramid is created exactly equal. As all is equal, no matter which side of the triangle you may be standing on, it would be the same.Being a three sided figure no side directly opposes either of the other two. Each of the three sides is position is slightly different from the adjoining one but no two are directly opposite to each other.

Three different people each climbing the steps on a different side will all eventually face the same climb to reach the same top. The climb would be no easier or harder on any of the sides. No matter which side you are coming from the challenge is just the same, the goal of reaching the top is just the same.

Consider, could a pyramid be similar to the great religions of the world. Religions may approach issues form slightly different angles, but is not the goal of each to help everyone reach the top of the pyramid, being Heaven. Could it be that each step in life, each lesson  learned could be compared to each step on the pyramid.

I am certainly no expert on the religions of the world, but I believe. All of the great Religions and Faiths have many, many similarities, true there are differences but the similarities greatly out number those differences. The basic message absolutely none totally directly opposes those of any other, just approached from a slightly different angle.

To climb the pyramid to its peak for any side takes just as many steps, none is shorter or easier than the other, but the destination is the same.

Could we not appreciate that everyone in life irregardless of faith is making the same journey just possibly on a slightly different path. The journey is the same, the destination is the same, just starting out from a different angle. Can we find acceptance in our hearts that all are on this journey irregardless of the angle from which it is approached.

Can we take this to a personal level in our dealings with family, friends and people in general

5 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Accepting other Faiths

  1. Henri says:

    Hi Bill,
    Technically, you are correct. It is however, two triangles laid together on their length to form a square. Did you know the four sides of the great pyramid of Giza (Khufu) are accurately oriented to the four cardinal points of the compass? It is only half the size however, of the Great Pyramid of Cholula in Puebla, Mexico.

    Today the pyramid appears to be a natural hill with a church on the top due to the practice of the Catholic Church repurposing local religious sites. Also, because of the historic and religious significance of the church, which is a designated colonial monument, the pyramid as a whole has not been excavated or restored.

    I digress, and leave you with these wise words from a gentle man:

    The beauty of the trees, the softness of the air,
    the fragrance of the grass speaks to me.
    The summit of the mountain, the thunder of the sky,
    The rhythm of the sea, speaks to me.
    The faintness of the stars, the freshness of the morning, the dewdrop on the flower, speaks to me.
    The strength of the fire, the taste of salmon, the trail of the sun, and the life that never goes away, they speak to me.

    And my heart soars.
    chief dan george

    Hi Henri, the words of Chief Dan George contain great wisdom

  2. Jo Hart says:

    Hi Bill, I think I seen that same documentry over here in Oz a couple of years ago. It completely blew me away. I however just shrugged it off as one of those things we will never know how they got there, another question to ask, if possibly I reach the peraly gates (mind you I have a list of questions once I am there, and when it does come time to reach my maker, he may send me back, because the list is getting bloody long!) Did you know that I was actually kicked off a bible studies group (ME! Huh) yep, apparently asked to many questions, and wouldn’t just accept what they were saying!!! I think I challenged them to much!! When mum came to pick me up, she was asked not to bring me back….. I’ve always been a curious girl, and have a very bad problem of not accepting things on face value, I like to know the nitty gritties of it all, consider all the facts and then make a judgement call for myself. I however, do like your thinking on this one.

    Hi Jo, I think having a questioning mind is a good thing. Life is about seeking the truth for you. I say the truth for you as I believe faith comes in many forms and is not a one size fit all. Explains so many different Churches withing the Christian religion. You keep asking them, keep an open mind in hearing the answers.

  3. Irene says:

    Dear Bill,
    I don’t normally do this, but here goes: Could I ask for some prayer help from you and all who stop by this place? I’ve got some huge challenges coming during the next few weeks that are scaring me right now. I’m not sure I’m ready for them or for their “after-effects”. I’m trying to put my trust in the right spots, but it’s not feeling so good at this stage of the game. I’ve been calling all angels hoping that things would settle in/down but it all seems like a jumble right now.
    Thanks for listening, Wiseman.
    Irene

    Hi Irene I did a post with your request. I hope things are resolving themselves in a manner suitable to you. Please keep in touch and let me know how you are doing. I have sent you an email

  4. Cat says:

    Bill, this post reminded me of a quote I have always liked:

    “Religion is a candle inside a multicolored lantern. Everyone looks through a particular color, but the candle is always there.”

    ~Mohammed Naguib

    Thank you for sharing this Cat, it is a wonderful quote and says and explains so very much

  5. Mel says:

    Oh how I’ve missed the loving company of those who frequent here……

    (((((((((((( Bill ))))))))))))

    “And the greatest of these–is love……”

    Love ya, man!! 😉

    Hi Mel. we have all missed you, it is so nice to hear from you

Leave a Reply

