Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Friends


Just a few days ago here on the blog I had a message left for me by an old high school buddy, Chuck Paxton.

Chuck and I were quite good friends through high school. I can remember when he met and started dating another friend of mine, a very nice young lady, Teri. They were high school sweet hearts that went on to marry. I am known as memory guy but I am almost certain I even went to their wedding, a year or two after high school.

Sadly as so often seems to be the case, we lost contact with each other as all moved forward with careers and family etc.. I did often think of them wondering where they were and how they were doing. I know it would have taken very little effort to track them down, even just to say hello. I was living my own hectic life and just never seemed to have the time. How often is it that in our minds we just have no time to do this or that, but in our hearts and minds we know, time really could be made, even should be made to keep in touch with friends.

Then I received Chuck’s comment here on the blog. He spoke of how he is struggling to cope with the lose of his bride of almost 38 years. Teri had lost the battle with cancer. Since then Chuck and I have exchanged a couple of emails and are hopefully rekindling the friendship from those years ago. We will hopefully be seeing each other in November when he will be in Winnipeg. I will have to ask him to bring some pictures of Teri, a friend I haven’t seem in almost 40 years and sadly left it too late to be able to see on this earth.

I checked my email today and got this poem, it sort of sums up the situation:

Around the corner I have a friend,
In this great city that has no end,
Yet the days go by and weeks rush on,
And before I know it, a year is gone.
And I never see my old friends face,
For life is a swift and terrible race,
He knows I like him just as well,
As in the days when I rang his bell.
And he rang mine but we were younger then,
And now we are busy, tired men.
Tired of playing a foolish game,
Tired of trying to make a name..
‘Tomorrow’ I say! ‘I will call on Jim
Just to show that I’m thinking of him.’
But tomorrow comes and tomorrow goes,
And distance between us grows and grows..
Around the corner, yet miles away,
‘Here’s a telegram sir,’ ‘Jim died today.’
And that’s what we get and deserve in the end.
Around the corner, a vanished friend.
Remember to always say what you mean.
If you love someone, tell them.
Don’t be afraid to express yourself..
Reach out and tell someone what they mean to you.
Because when you decide that it is the right time it might be too late.
Seize the day. Never have regrets.
And most importantly, stay close to your friends and family, for they have
helped make you the person that you are today.

3 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Friends

  1. babychaos says:

    I’m sorry to hear about that, sorry for you and your friend and the poem, yeh, AMEN to that. I’ve been thinking about a friend of my own and was just saying the other night to Mr BC that I should look him up.

    I’m going to make a start now.

    Thanks.

    Cheers

    BC

  2. Mariko says:

    Hi Bill!

    Thanks for dropping by! šŸ™‚ And, for adding me to your blogroll!

    Thanks for this entry too – Bill. It’s so timely for me… New to the working world, in the past few months, I’ve been absorbed in work and admittedly, family and friends have been somewhat neglected. Yet, they’re always there.. This entry was an important reminder not to take the people who love me for granted.

    Your entry makes me think of the environment too. We take it for granted all the time even though we are so dependant on it because it doesn’t *scream* for our attention. Only when we realize that we are losing it, do we sit up and start giving it more importance…

    Keep writing, Bill! Love your entries because they’re truthful, honest and yet uplifting.. Just what many of us in this modern world need. šŸ™‚

    Take care lots,
    Mariko

  3. Cat says:

    I’m so sorry for your friend’s loss, but glad the two of you have reconnected.

    I recently reconnected with my best friend from high school. We had gradually lost touch during our college years, and she recently found me online. We’ve gotten together a couple of times since, and the first time we saw each other, twenty years just melted away and it was as though we’d never lost touch at all. I’m so glad she made the effort to find me.

Leave a Reply

