Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Am I a collection of memories


A couple of days ago I head a line on a TV show. Naturally, being memory guy I can’t remember which show it was to give credit.

The line was very short and went something like: “we are our memories”. My first reaction to hearing that was, nah, I am a lot more as a person than just my memories.

That line just keeps banging around in this empty head of mine. I know I am over simplifying this tremendously. When I am talking about “me” I am thinking of the real Bill, the one deep, deep down inside of me that the world doesn’t see.

How did I become the person I am today? By experiencing life both the good and the bad. There has been a lot of good, but I have had my share of the bad.

I was not born into this world as “Bill” the person I am today. Now here you can argue genetics and things like that and there are exceptions but every child is born almost as a blank slate ready to be taught the lessons of life that ultimately bring them to be the person they are today. What are lessons in life, they are experiences from which we learn, remember and grow from. Some of those lessons become ingrained in us to that they form who we are today.

I am not sure how well I am expressing this. As I sit here today, I think, my mind, my thought process is as it is because of memories. So I ask this, could it be said that at any specific point in time, the inner, the real me is nothing but a collection of memories?

Many will say, I am much more than a collection of memories, I think, I plan, I live today. All very true. I ask this, is not how you live today based on memories of lessons learned in the past. How you plan your tomorrow, your expectations of tomorrow, are they not really based on memories how things happened in the past?

Our thoughts create who we are as a person. Our thoughts are often created to be as they are from memories of the past. Our own thinking can so often be our very worst enemy as we tend to be harder on ourselves than on others???

As I have come to realize. We live our lives based on our thoughts. Our thoughts are based on our memories. The largest part of any-ones world is based on how they see it in their own heads. Our thoughts, our view of the world can be changed for the positive. Our experiences and memories create our thoughts today. Our thoughts today create our tomorrow. What are your thoughts today, do you want that to be your tomorrow.

I pray everyone has a positive thought filled day.

9 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Am I a collection of memories

  1. AllThingsToNoOne says:

    Just stumbled upon your blog. I find it truly inspiring. I am not a praying person, but I offer you much peace in your journey.

    Memories are a strange thing. My 19 year old son, who has Asperger’s, said to me, “why take a picture of an event when that is what you will remember instead of the actual memories that you have?” Interesting observation, as I look at old pictures and try to connect what is happening with what was really happening at the time. You just can’t replace those memories with a picture.

    Namaste.

    Hello and welcome to the blog. It is indeed an interesting observation. It is indeed the memories of any situation that make it special, memories we can carry both in our minds and in our hearts.

  2. Mariko says:

    Hi hi!

    Came across your blog while tag surfing and I’m definitely adding your blog to my list of links. It’s just so very thoughtful, reflective and inspiring. One of those blogs that can change your life just by reading it.

    Most of all, I find it very admirable that you are using your own experiences to spread inspiration and wisdom to your readers.

    Please keep writing..

    And I love this entry because I really relate with it. Sometimes, it’s so tempting to wish that certain memories, especially the unpleasant ones, can just be eradicated. But at the end of the day, without these memories, we wouldn’t be who we are and our characters would never have been as rich. Neither would our lives have been as meaningful. *Thank you* for that insight.

    Agape.

    Hi Mariko, welcome and thank you for the kind words.
    You are right I am the person today because of all of the events that happened in my past, even the not so good ones. I am happy to be where I am today and for that I appreciate my past. Still it seems it would be nice to have a few memories fade away.

  3. koval says:

    You are a living library. Is your library open, closed, or restrictive. When you die, your library will be closed forever unless the contents was shared with those still living. Collect and share the knowledge of your ancestors. Is your LIBRARY for posterity or is it private. Share your library, including the errors, and educate the ancestors of the future.

    Hi Koval, I had never thought of life as being comparable to a library. But, you are so right. Thinking of it in that way, I suppose that is what I have tried to do here.
    Thank you for bringing it to my attention in this way.

  4. koval says:

    To know your time is limited gives you the opportunity plan the time left to you to help those close to you. You will return to your source with the opportunity to do the greatest good before your soul releases the body back to the earth. I consider myself a spiritual being on a human journey.

    Hi Koval, welcome. Your comment is wonderful and reflects all of my own thinking.

  5. Chuck says:

    I would agree that we are our memories, our lives day to day shape our character over the years. We mature and grow with life’s experiences, without them we would not amount to much.
    But when we leave this world, it is not our memories that carry on, but those we have created for others that we leave behind. Through our journey of life we all cause memories to be formed in the minds of others, both good and bad. All we can do is live our lives in a way to create as many good memories as we possible.

    Chuck, my friend. You are so right. Long after we are gone we shall indeed linger here, in the hearts and minds of others.Living our lives to try and leave behind good and loving memories is a excellent way word it and to indeed live our lives by.

  6. planetcity1 says:

    “Our thoughts create who we are as a person.” That, I think, more than just a film clip of memories, is the more and better point.

    Hi PC, I do agree

  7. Jo Hart says:

    Great post Bill. It has me thinking. We learn from our past mistakes, and take stock in our past happiness. I’m about to become a mum again!!!! Except this time the baby is 15. I am gaining a step daughter today who has lived in another state with her mum. A big jump in life for her, and a lot of healing to be done on both mum and daughters side. This is why this post is good. Unfortunately alot of bad memories need to be healed, mum needs to get help and I pray she can do this, and we need to help a beautiful 15 year old soul find herself and her strength. When life throw’s you curve balls, just ride with it I say. About to turn the lounge room into a bedroom, the junk room, which is suppose to be a rumpus room, will transform into a lounge room. The important point, as long as we are all together, who cares!!!!! When life gives you lemons, make lemonade isn’t that the saying!!!!

    Hi JO, this is wonderful, congratulations on becoming a mum again. This will be undoubtedly a huge adjustment for you all and it may even take a little time for everything to settle. Love and patience will win the day.
    You are all in my prayers.

  8. Chuck says:

    Bill

    I recently lost my wife of 36 years, the grief I feel is like nothing I have faced in my life and find it hard to face the days alone.
    I don’t know if you remember me as a classmate in Dauphin, but I would sure be happy to hear from you.

    Chuck

    Hi Chuck, I could never forget a good friend such as yourself. I even remember being at your wedding all those years ago.
    I am so very sorry to hear that Terri has passed. I wish I had some magic words that could ease what you are feeling right now. She was indeed a wonderful lady while on this earth and know even Heaven is a little better as she is now there.
    I am glad you found me here on the blog. It has developed into a loving supportive community. I invite you to join us here, express your feelings everything. You will receive much support.
    An email is on it’s way to you this evening.
    Bill

  9. Mel says:

    *sending warmth and peace filled thoughts to Chuck*

    ((((((((((( Chuck ))))))))))))

    Oh–and Jo……congratulations on becoming a ‘mom’…..again! What a loving thing to do. I do hope for healing and peace for the whole of the family

    Breathed into through the love of My Maker, I am all that I am…..today.
    Memories, experiences…. I’m clear the experiences have been many–more than I’ll ever be able to store in this wee little brain of mine…LOL (this is why all sorts of things just ‘fall out’, there’s just no more room!!) πŸ˜‰

    But I’m all about creating more memories for those around me. (I’m sure they have more storage space in their heads….LOL)

    Interesting post…..but there’s something that’s missing here, for me. Dunno what….LOL
    Guess that means more coffee!!! πŸ™‚

    Maybe I had already had to much coffee when I wrote this.LOL. I have to agree with you, I am not totally comfortable with this whole idea. As always when I write I just ramble on with thoughts as they come to my head. Maybe that is also why I put a few questions in the post. Could it be: “we are greater than the total sum of our parts”?

Leave a Reply

