Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Kindness can change the world


I realize that over time this journal of mine has almost had different faces as I write about my beliefs and thoughts on a lot of different issues.

Yes, I write about death and dying as those are issues close to my reality. Even more though, I think I write about living. I am not going to try and say all these health issues of mine are a blessing. It is fair to say though that through all of this my thinking about just about everything in life has changed. It is like I see the world through different eyes, that is a blessing. I look back over my life and see so many situations and the way I reacted to them at the time. Now, I just shake my head in wonder. I through my thinking made my own life so much more difficult Maybe, it is better to say, at the time I saw my life to be so much more difficult or the situations to be so much more serious than I see them now. I was my own worst enemy in causing myself stress and worry. My reality was how I saw things at that exact moment in time. I so often judged the quality of my life based on the happenings of a particulat moment.

I came to think that people, all people lived in their own little bubble. Everyone fighting their own battles dealing with their own struggles in life. By far the vast majority are good people just caught up on the frantic treadmill of their own lives. So often I guess that is the way I felt and maybe assumed others felt they were in the same position as I was. Maybe just tying to ease my conscience a little if I was “too busy” to lend a helping hand.

One view I have always held is based on a “Bill Statistic.” It makes no difference where you go you will find: 90% of the population is made up of good, honest and kind people struggling on that treadmill of life. 5% are what I call Earth Angels, the ones that are always there to help in any worthy cause or to just lend a hand. The remaining 5% are just plain jerks at varying degrees. The trick is that none of these generalizations are craved in stone.  Depending on the circumstance we all drift from on catgory to the other. Yes, we are all jerks at times.

I think a lot of time the “silent majority” the 90% group have it in their hearts to do more to help others, but don’t know how. Now by this I mean thoughts prevail like: “What could I as one individual do, that would make any difference”. To that I say LOTS. Can one person change this seemingly messed up world of ours? Yes!!!

OK, we are individually not likely to bring about world peace or discover a cure for cancer. But that doesn’t mean we can’t do our part to contribute to making this world a better place. In my eyes a perfect world would be one filled totally with kind, gentle, loving people. People that care about others and are willing to help out if needed. Picture a world if everyone was like that. I don’t think many if any would disagree with me in saying that would be fantastic.

I think everyone would be willing to pitch in a help create a world like that. Will the world ever change over night, NO. But every journey has to begin with the first step, no matter how small that step may be it is a beginning.

I invite all to go to the top of this page.  There you will see across the top of the page a row of titles. Each represents a different page or segment I have set up with the journal. Please click on the title:  Spirit within Me.

I invite you to join my very non exclusive club. We can change the world or at very least make it a better place to live for not just some but for all. Know to join my club you have to pay weekly dues. What are these dues you must pay? There is no money involve, check it out.

One Response to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Kindness can change the world

  1. Mel says:

    211,103

    And you’re right.
    And I need to recommitt cuz I let things fall out of my brain.

    Maybe I need a weekly check in. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

