Dying Man’s Daily Journal – My Advice for living


I was recently asked a question. If I could give one bit of advise or get one message across to the world what would it be?

I have thought about that quite a bit. My thinking my attitude about life in general has changed so much in the past few years that I see so many things differently. I realize I am a completely different person than I was even a couple of years ago. By that I mean in my thinking and my attitude.

There are so many things I can look back over my life at and think, geesh, If I were facing that now, would I ever deal with it differently. Picking one thing is hard so I will likely be writing others, but for now:

I heard a song yesterday, sorry can’t remember the artist or even the name of the song or I would give due credit. But, one line stuck in my head and the wording to that I am sure I likely don’t have correct. It went something like:

“how far is Heaven. I am tired of being locked in this prison, I call my life.” It was a beautiful song, but if I have the words to that line correct, such a sad song. Think about it, considering yourself locked in the prison of life.

I look back and realize there were many times when that is how I felt. OK, maybe, I didn’t use those exact words but that is how I felt. I was locked in the prison of my life. I was not happy, I was enduring rather than living. There seemed to be no options open to me other than to just keep on plodding ahead, one foot infront of the next. Dragging myself from one elusive goal to the next. Reaching one goal only to realize there was an other further ahead. I spent so much time focusing on one goal after the next, always thinking when I get there my life will be so much better. I achieved the goals but not the elusive  part in which my life would suddenly be better.

I so often spent so much time looking to something in the future, I forgot about the present. I consider life to be like a journey and often refer to the highway of life. We travel down this highway, as we do when on any other highway, we have a destination in mind. We so often become so focused on reaching our destination/goal we forget to enjoy the journey. LIFE IS THE JOURNEY.

I would say, relax, slow down to enjoy the ride. Plan for tomorrow but live for today. Live and appreciate what you have today while striving for what you want for tomorrow.

Relax and enjoy this journey down the highway of life, see it for what it is, the ride of a life time.

Don’t take things to seriously or to personally. I heard another saying that went something like: “Relax and enjoy life, don’t take it so seriously. It is not like you are going to get out of it alive anyway.”

Every morning when you wake up you have a decision to make. Am I going to be happy and have a good day or am I going to have a bad day. The decision really is yours.

Now I see things: there maybe something happening in my life that I don’t like and legitimately can’t change. For me the heart failure and brain tumor definitely qualify as things I don’t like. I can’t change them and while it sucks having them, I can still accept that there is nothing I can do and carry on as I am able in a happy way. If it is something I can change but maybe not necessarily right now, I think, well this sucks but I might as well make the best of it until I can change it.

Live Life don’t endure it and see it as your prison of life.

PS.  A special thank you to my dear blogging friend Cat. In her comment below she identified the song I was refering to. I am copying her comment here to giv e credit where it is due:

“I believe the song you are referring to is “Heaven” by Los Lonely Boys:”

Huh, can’t seem to copy the site address to go to watch the song on U tube. It is a beautiful song and worth a listen. Go to Cat’s comment and click on the site from there.

9 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – My Advice for living

  1. Jo Hart says:

    How true, how so very true. Good message and a good kick up the bum as usual. I’m over enduring and I want the living part…… Hopefully successfully working on this, but geez, how funny the brain is when you are so used to old habbits….

  2. Mel says:

    Relax.
    Slow down.
    Enjoy the ride.
    Don’t take life so dang seriously. (aka: Draw on sidewalks)

    *nodding*

    Sounds like I have my ‘marching orders’ for the day, sir. 🙂

    Thanks!

    (and more hugs and prayers for Jo…..hoping for healing for the dad.)

  3. Irene says:

    Dear Bill,
    As usual, your posting comes at just the right time! I’ve got some big challenges coming up soon and I’m not sure how to get ready for them. Guess I’ll try to enjoy the ride even though I don’t know where it’s taking me to. I guess it’s kinda like taking a trip to what I think is Sweden but actually landing in Italy. This ride’s going to be interesting!!
    Praying for you always, Wiseman.
    Irene

  4. Cat says:

    I believe the song you are referring to is “Heaven” by Los Lonely Boys: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kSoUGzrhK6U

    One of my favorites! 🙂

    Thank you Cat. That is the song I was referring to. I hope you don’t mind I am going to copy your comment here and add it to the post. Giving credit where it is due, thank you again

  5. Cat says:

    You’re welcome, Bill! I’m glad I was able to help. 🙂

    I like what you said in this post, especially about the things in life that you cannot change. If it’s something you really cannot do anything about, it’s best to just accept it, deal with it as best you can, and carry on as happily as possible. That’s so much better than allowing yourself to dwell on the negative and allowing that negativity to take over your life.

    Thank you for leaving this Cat. Very well said.

  6. clary says:

    “I was not happy, I was enduring rather than living.” Sounds awful familiar, it is the way my life has been going lately. It seems like there is always one more situation, feeling, or challenge to deal with on a daily basis. There most be a better way, I’m sure. Thanks for the reminder that many times most of it is in our hands; to laugh or to cry, to be happy or sad. God bless.

    Thank you clary. It is nice to hear from you, it has been a while. Sorry to hear you are facing seemingly endless challenges. I pray life will straighten out for you as you continue to grow through these situations.
    I hope to hear more from you my friend
    Bill

  7. […] 22 08 2009 Today I want to share with you wise word from a friend of mine, and in his blog he talks about living something many of us forget to do so many times. It is interesting to read that at times we have no […]

  8. samnangp says:

    Someone once told me: “Live your life as if today were your last day. Plan your life as if you will live 100 years.” The balance of life.

    Hi samnangp, welcome to the blog. This is a very wise saying.

  9. charityslamb says:

    I am new to WordPress and just happened upon your blog and I am certainly glad that I did. Your message is very true and often forgotten. We all need to slow down and not take things so seriously. Thank you for reminding me.

Leave a Reply

