Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Real life Earth Angels


It is really nice to be back on internet land. I feel almost like it is a home coming, getting back with dear friends and family. I must admit I was surpised to find how much I missed the blog and all of you. It is nice to be back.

Have you ever had one of those situations where there was a problem and the more you tried to fix it, the worse it seemed to get. I am blessed to have friends that are very computer knowledgable, unlike myself. (my computer skills are limited basically to pushing the power button, then it works or it doesn’t). After several misadventures a true Earth Angel came to my rescue.

Now this is a gentleman, whose true passion is computers and whose knowledge seems to be unlimited. He took the computer, cleaned it up getting it running about 10 times faster than it had been. Gave us new updated virus protection, replaced a defective CD burner, installed a new DVD burner, installed another 6 or so programs some for added  safety and some for enjoyment (games). When it was all done, he brought it back here to the house and gave us about a 2 hour tutorial on how to use it all.

We were both thrilled and so very appreciative. Naturally, I expected to pay him for all of his time and work. He refused any sort of payment of any type and I offered a couple. He simply stated he doesn’t do this for any sort of remuneration or recognition but to help people. In our discusions it had come up that he often is up until even 2 or 3 in the morning working on these computers. This being in addition to his regular job. I know of many that have benefited from his knowledge and willingness to help. I told him of how I would be writing about him here on the blog and he asked me not to, the no recognition thing.

I am honoring his request for anonymity and will only identify him as Dave. Dave, you are truly an Earth Angel and we thank you so very much.

This world is just full of kind, loving and generous people. It is such a shame their acts are some how lost in the seemingly endless flow of bad news that we hear. It causes us to loose sight of the goodness that is all around us. Have we allowed ourselves to get to the point where we are almost like programed to look for the worst in the world? I suppose that could be almost understandable as that seems to be almost everything we hear or read in the media. We seem to focus on the problems so much we fail to see the goodness right in front of us.

Everything so far I wrote yesterday. I intended to end the post with a bit of a medical update. I got tired, took a rest and just never seemed to get back to it.

But, something special happened last night and I have to write about it. I suppose it illustrates my own blind eye, seeing something and automatically assuming the worst. Was I ever wrong. Thankfully this was a time when my mouth wasn’t working in advance of my thinking and I kept quite until I understood what was going on.

First off to set the stage. We live in a good safe area of the city. Over the past several years though a group of younger teens have discovered the “joys” of partying with alcohol. I can remember going through that stage myself. Vandalism particularly to the local school has become an issue. We have a local neighborhood watch (doing a wonderful job) that keeps us all informed of any activity in the area very often this group of kids are mentioned. We are advised to be on the watch etc.. It is likely the same thought everywhere. What is up with the kids today?

Back to last night. I was laying on the bed watching TV when I heard yelling out in front of the house. Have to check it out and out I go. Right across the street between 2 elderly neighbors homes, I see a young teen. As I heard yelling there must be more than one or he was confronted by one of the elderly neighbors. I’ll have none of this and off I go across the street. This was after I went back into the house and told Vi to be on the look out ready to call the police. I could only see one guy but who knows maybe there were 8 or 10 of them.

After talking to Vi I come back out but this time I can see the young man walking very slowly forward. A head of him I can see a rabbit that is very obviously seriously hurt. He asks me to help him catch this injured rabbit to get him to a vet or somewhere that can help him. Apparently this young man had been going by on his bike when he saw a cat catch the rabbit. The yelling was to chase the cat away.

This is how I met Conrad. I don’t know Conrad other than from our brief meeting last evening. Together with a towel we were able to quite easily catch the injured rabbit. We took it back to the house, put it into a box. It must have been for about 20 minutes or so that Conrad sat at the door with the injured rabbit showing amazing loving care for this a wild rabbit. This was while I was on the phone trying to find somewhere that was open to which we could take the rabbit.

Conrad, you never knew what my thoughts and suspicions were when I first came out of the house. Even so I do appologize to you. You were and are a kind and brave young man. A young man with a big and loving heart. You are an Earth Angel, doing yourself, your family and your entire generation proud. It was my honor to have met you and I wish you well.

Sad note to end the post. Got the rabbit to an animal hospital. From it’s injuries, they felt it had likely been hit by a car prior to the cat getting a hold ot it. It was put to sleep.

4 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Real life Earth Angels

  1. Jo Hart says:

    I like you Bill am so quick to judge. I too would have had the thoughts that this kid was some kind of thug, on some sort of drugs etc…. How sad life has become that these are our first thoughts 😦
    Conrad – What a champ you are, like Bill said, you do your generation proud.
    Dave – Bless you – You got our Bill back on the air. We kinda have taken internet ownership of him, and miss him dearly when he’s not online. 🙂

  2. Irene says:

    Dear Bill,
    Well, ain’t life just plain funny???!!! While we think life is headed up in one direction, in reality, it’s really going in another direction entirely.

    To Conrad: You never get a second chance to make a good first impression. Thanks for doing what you did. What a manly action!! Keep it up!

    To Dave: Earth angel for sure!!…thanks for helping Bill get back to us. A techno-angel?? Cool!

    Take care of yourself, Wiseman.
    Irene

  3. Cat says:

    Oh, so sad for the rabbit! You did a wonderful thing by getting it to the animal hospital so that it could be put down humanely. It is so nice to know that people like you and Conrad exist.

    And kudos to Dave, also! How wonderful that he did so much to help with your computer, expecting nothing in return.

  4. Mel says:

    Thank you, Dave!

    Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

