Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Treating Strangers better than Family


I’m back after a few days rest. Medication is doing the trick and the infection in my leg is almost gone, all that remains is a lump from which it seemed to originate. Just as I was starting the medication a second one appeared. This one on my lower abdomen, well right where my belt buckle rubs against my skin. On my leg I do have an area that is totally numb to all feeling, not so with my tummy. So for the past few days I have been Mr. Droopy Drawers not wearing a belt.

All of this has taught me a good lesson or maybe reminded me of something I have been aware of for a long time. I am becoming less and less conserned about what other people think of me. What ever it is is their business not mine.

Here is a small example of what I mean. Because of my “ouchie” at belt buckle level, I was indeed Mr Droopy Drawers. Hey, maybe I was right in style with some of the younger generation as I was indeed showing off the top 2 or 3 inches of my underwear. I am around the house so who cares? Tighter pants with a belt would increase the ouch factor. Over the years I have experienced my share of ouch time and if I can avoid more I am going to do it.

Wouldn’t you know it, there comes a time when I have to go to a store in the Mall. Now what would be the sensible thing to do? Put on a belt to at least hold the pants up enough not to show off my underwear. It might be a little uncomfortable but not that bad. I mean what would people think if they saw me?

Well, guess what I did. Never even thought of a belt at the time. There was no danger of my pants actually falling off, just that I might show off some underwear. Now I did do my best to hold them in place.

When I think of it, I may have presented quite the sight, an over weight, bald guy holding up his pants. In fact though, did I get any “looks” from anyone? Don’t know, don’t care, never bothered to look around to see.

How much of our lives do we spend worrying about what strangers will think of us. Now I am talking strangers here. Why would I care in the slightest what a passing stranger might think of me? This is someone I have never seen before and very likely will never see again, why do I care what they would think? Obviously, I don’t anymore.

Why do we care so much what strangers think?

I think this is a scenario we can all relate to, or at least I can. Picture this. You have had a terrible day at work, you are in a foul mood and you are on your way home. Some how you have a chance encounter with a total stranger. This “encounter” may only last a minute or two for what ever reason it may occur. But, for that minute or two we push aside the foul mood and suddenly become very friendly and polite. I mean “we wouldn’t want a stranger to think badly of us”. That brief encouter is over, our foul mood returns, we go home and take it out on our families. I think we all do it, why?

I ask please for special prayers for our dear blogging friend Sarah.

13 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Treating Strangers better than Family

  1. planetcity1 says:

    umm…BIll, you could go with a cheap pair of suspenders till your ouchie heals…
    just saying… cuz it’s an easy way to free up your hands and we don’t need you tripping over your britches…

    as to how we present ourselves to strangers, i tend to dress for comfort, even when out and about…if folks don’t like how i look, that’s their problem…

    as for special prayers for Sarah, that one’s easy, as she is in my thoughts on a daily basis

    (((((((Sarah)))))))

    I ran across a nice serenity quote when surfing the internet:

    “Serenity is not freedom from the storm but peace within the storm.” (Anonymous)

    May we all find peace within…

  2. Molly says:

    Wow. You are learning quickly what the rest of us only hope to learn in this life. Thank you for sharing your journey with us. Thank you. You are an inspiration.

  3. Mel says:

    Well, there’s a purple ‘complaint free’ bracelet (that keeps moving from one wrist to another cuz I keep kvetching!) for a reason! Dumping out my complaints on someone who can’t do a darn thing about ’em ain’t cool.

    Do I care what strangers think?
    Yup.
    Do I wanna keep myself available and open as many doors as I possibly can–Yup.

    I know some things are offensive to other people–I try not to do them.
    I know some things create walls instead of opening doors–I try to compensate for those things so I’m more approachable.
    I know whatever someone thinks of me (as in my value and worth) is really not my business. My value and worth just IS and it’s not argueable.

    I also know I want opened doors…..and I wanna be approachable so I can be of service.
    LOL So there’s my ‘why’.

    Ouch……and suspenders might be a reallllllly good plan so tripping doesn’t happen!

    *sending prayers and my better angels to Sarah*

  4. planetcity1 says:

    ya know, it wasn’t that long ago when things were a bit different..”Keeping up with the Joneses” was frowned upon and there were any number of other “get-it-together-without-going-to-the-poor-house” phrases…

    yes, my hometown had an actual poor house at the top of a hill…

    one phrase that a cracker friend of mine always used [cracker = native Floridian] referred to how one got ready to go to town…

    the phrase she used??? i went to the hamper and pulled out my cleanest dirty shirt…

    i guess that means care a bit but not too much when it comes to one’s dealing with others, as the person inside is always worth more than his or her clothes

  5. Sarah Jordan says:

    Bill,
    Thanks for the prayer request for me. The hospice doctor came to the house yesterday. I haven’t been able to take opiate pain meds because every time I dok I throw up. No one knew why and finally they decided it was “just” anxiety. The hospice doctor said it wasn’t the opiates and it wasn’t anxiety…it was the adrenal tumor which robs the body of corticosteroids and produces exactly the symptoms I have. He’s devised a plan to adddress first the vomiting and second the pain. I’m feeling encouraged…at least somebody is finally trying to do something.

    • Sarah Jordan says:

      Hi everyone…I’m having a great day. The hospice doctor’s plan worked…he gave me prednisone to replace the corticosteroids that the adrenal tumor is robbing from by body, and about 24 hours later I stopped throwing up. Then he added a 2nd anti-emetic to the Zofran I am taking and had me cut one of the opiates in half and take it…no throwing-up and no pain and I slept for 9 hours and woke up feeling great and grateful…the great part has worn off now and I’m managing the lighter day pain with Advil and Ativan as always…but the grateful part is still there because I know if it gets too bad I have the ability to take a stronger med now. I must truly be in the hands of Mel’s better angels.
      Peace in the midst of the storm to all of you.
      Love,
      Sarah

      • Mel says:

        ….not to mention a smart hospice doctor! 😉

        *HUGE hugs*

        Peace in the midst of the storm to you, Sarah.
        I’m soooooo glad today was a great day!

  6. Sarah Jordan says:

    Bill,
    Thanks for the prayer request for me. The hospice doctor came to the house yesterday. I haven’t been able to take opiate pain meds because every time I dok I throw up. No one knew why and finally they decided it was “just” anxiety. The hospice doctor said it wasn’t the opiates and it wasn’t anxiety…it was the adrenal tumor which robs the body of corticosteroids and produces exactly the symptoms I have. He’s devised a plan to adddress first the vomiting and second the pain. I’m feeling encouraged…at least somebody is finally trying to do something.

    • planetcity1 says:

      Hi Sarah. I’m glad to hear the hospice doc has pulled together a plan to quell the pain and vomiting, it’s definitely not fun going through that.

      Take care, and check in whenever you are feeling up to it. What you post now may
      make the path easier for those who are destined to trod it next.

      Peace-filled days, my friend, peace-filled nights.

      (((((((Sarah)))))))

  7. Sarah Jordan says:

    Planet,
    I like your serenity saying…so much my vision of the gift of divinity. Thanks.

    Bill,
    Suspenders!

  8. Sarah Jordan says:

    Mel,
    Thank you. I am truly in the hands of the angels now.
    I am not afraid…only sorry to leave my family. Thank you.
    Sarah

    • Mel says:

      (((((((( Sarah ))))))))
      Very cool when prayers are answered, I must say.

      I’m grateful and glad for the presence of angels in my life and in yours–they’ll take good care of you….already are.

      The greatest gift we have to offer– is love. But you already know that…and you gift it well.

      Peace and love to you and yours.
      My better angel remains in your company.

      *hugs*

  9. Sarah Jordan says:

    Thank you, Mel.

Leave a Reply

