Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Infections


Well I am back on what I hope to be a little more of a full time basis or at least that is my plan. Life so often seems to have a way of jumping up and changing the best laid plans. Hey, no one ever said this journey we call life would always be easy, not always easy but always worth it.

On the health side, I am feeling just fine. It seems that somehow I got an infection in my left leg. Us diabetics are a stingy bunch once we get a hold of something we don’t like to give it up. I think we take it a little over board when that includes things like infections. Ah well, the doctor has me on antibiotics. I have said so many times that I am such a lucky guy. Here is another example.

I have a spot that includes most of the left side of my left leg, from the hip to the knee that is totally numb. I have no feeling in it what so ever. Now that can be good or bad.

How can it be good? Well I won’t go into a lot of detail about this leg infection of mine other than to say it grew (spread) quite quickly. It looked quite nasty and it really had the look that says: “that has got to hurt”. Now picture me, hitching up my pants, sticking out my chest and strutting around saying: “Yea, yea I am sure that would hurt the average male, but not me.” So how can it be good? I had a really nasty looking infected sore and didn’t feel a thing.

How can it be bad? I had a really nasty looking infected sore and didn’t feel a thing. I didn’t even know it was there. Thankfully I saw it and sought medical help before it became worse.

14 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Infections

  1. Sarah Jordan says:

    I’m sorry about the infection, Bill. I get my first hospice visit tomorrow, so I think I’m gonna beat you to the end. Just keep fighting until you can’t…or don’t want to…fight any longer. Life is short for all of us…it just seems so much longer when we’re young. Thanks for being here when I was surfing around trying to find something relevant to my situation. You have all made dying easier than it would have been without you. Please pray for my soul as I pray for yours.

    Hi Sarah, first I hope you know you are always in my prayers. You say that we here on the blog as a group have made what your are facing easier to deal with. That is very nice to hear as in some way it makes this all worth while. We have become like an online community helping each other as we go. You my friend have become a valued and respected member of the community. Your presence here has added much for us all.
    I hope and pray you will continue to grace us with your presence for much time to come. Fighting the good fight with a positive mindset will carry you a long way.
    I have experience with hospice and know they are all a wonderful group that will go out of their way to do anything and everything they possibly can for you.
    You say you will beat me to the end. I certainly don’t want to get into a race to see who can get there first. How would it be if we make a pact. That which ever one of use gets to the other side first, will be waiting to greet the other when the time is right.
    Bless you my friend, you are in my heart thoughts and prayers.
    Bill

  2. planetcity1 says:

    Bill:
    I too am sorry about the infection; I hope with proper diet and meds that nasty infection will heal.

    Sarah:
    I have heard nothing but good things from the families who had loved ones who entered hospice. My uncle spent his last days, a bit before Christmas, with the folks at the Hospice of Cincinnati; his last hours were spent playing with his late brother’s grandkids, as though nothing serious was on his mind.
    He was quite jaundiced by then, but the kids just saw him as having his usual tan.

    May you find as much peace as he did in his final days.

    (((((((Sarah)))))))

    Thank you PC and big
    ((((((((hugs))))))))) to Sarah

  3. Mel says:

    Well……it’s sorta good news that you didn’t feel it?
    LOL It’s a bit of a stretch for me, Bill–but I’ll go with it!

    I’ll just be glad it’s getting treated now…..hopefully effectively and swiftly.

    thanks Mel, of course a macho guy like me wouldn’t feel something as small as that. lol

  4. Jo Hart says:

    Hope the infection clears soon Bill. I’m with Mel, lucky you didn’t feel it, but good you did see it….

    Thanks Jo, it is on the mend

  5. Mel says:

    (((((((( Sarah ))))))))))

    I do, and will continue, to pray for you.
    I’m grateful that our paths were allowed to cross and for the messages you delivered here.
    Rest knowing you have been heard.
    Rest knowing how proud we are to have had your company, if only for a little while…
    Time is precious–every day, every minute.
    You made yours count.

    May you be graced with Hospice staff who will help you celebrate all that you ARE today.

    Thank you Mel, such a beautiful message to Sarah. So very well said and so true.

  6. Mel says:

    You take your eyes off the mark for ONE MINUTE and darnitall…..

    200,322!!!

    Who’da thunk it’d ever happen?!!

    (just all of us, of course..LOL)

    ((((((((((((( Bill )))))))))))

    Thanks Mel, that number sort of did jump up on me. I was even thinking of having a goofy little contest or something for who ever hit the 200,000 mark. This all just amazes me. Hey maybe for #222,222 will have to think of something, any suggestions.

  7. planetcity1 says:

    200,342 now…

    that’s one heck of a lot of clicks 🙂

    Thank you PC

  8. Jo Hart says:

    200,529 – How’d that sneek up on us so quickly. I was keeping an eye on that and all of a sudden your there !!!!! How exciting. I remember the 100,000 hit. Okay going for the 300,000 now. Not that I’m being greedy !!!! It just show’s how much people love your site Bill – Congratsulations you should be so proud of yourself, just like we are proud of you.

    Thank you Jo, I did sort of loose sight of the numbers there for a while. OK, 300,000 it is, but for now I think I will be satisfied with the thought of 222,222

  9. Jo Hart says:

    Sarah – you are in my thoughts and prayers. Thankyou for your wisdom and honesty in such a personal journey. Thankyou for allowing us to be part of the journey with you. May the angels be with you and guide you through.

    Thank you Jo

  10. Irene says:

    Dear Bill,
    Hope the infection stuff doesn’t slow you down one single little bit. I doubt if it will, Wiseman.
    Irene

    ((((((((Sarah))))))))
    I’m calling all angels for you. May you feel their presence…
    Irene

    thank you Irene

  11. roy says:

    Hey Bill.
    Sorry to hear about the infections. Back on the farm, a hot soaking of Creolin water would straighten those kinds of things out. Ughhhh!
    Infections? Yours right now is a nasty thing, Thank Heavens you caught it in time and sought treatment.
    However I didn’t hear you complaining when you were “suffering” from infectious smiles while visiting the grandkids a short time ago. Or the infectious hugs. Or the infectious laughter. Some infections are pretty amazing.
    You have been affecting thousands world-wide with your infectious spirit, determination and resiliency.
    Keep up the good work! Who was hit #200,000?
    My bet is Mel. Living in Winnipeg, he would have time to blog with no Jets in the playoffs! (20 years running!!)
    Sarah Jordan…hang in there. Not one of us are rooting for each other because we are dying. It’s because we are all living. We all have the give of tomorrow. Let’s se how that goes before racing onto the next day. I wouldn’t skip tomorrow for a million more days after it. Would miss too much. Just found out one of my part-time employess’ wife was just diagnosed with cancer this week. They have financial fredom, their first granddaughter (one year old). Really great people. Tough breaks!! But the sun will rise tomorrow and Man!!!, I going to chase it hard. Keep fighting!
    I am attaching the lyrics to an amazing song.
    Its by Monty Python from the movie “life of Brian”.
    You can find the video on Youtube.
    One of my favorite sanity tools (and trust me, I need a million)

    Some things in life are bad
    They can really make you mad
    Other things just make you swear and curse.
    When you’re chewing on life’s gristle
    Don’t grumble, give a whistle
    And this’ll help things turn out for the best…

    And…always look on the bright side of life…
    Always look on the light side of life…

    If life seems jolly rotten
    There’s something you’ve forgotten
    And that’s to laugh and smile and dance and sing.
    When you’re feeling in the dumps
    Don’t be silly chumps
    Just purse your lips and whistle – that’s the thing.

    And…always look on the bright side of life…
    Always look on the light side of life…

    For life is quite absurd
    And death’s the final word
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.
    Forget about your sin – give the audience a grin
    Enjoy it – it’s your last chance anyhow.

    So always look on the bright side of death
    Just before you draw your terminal breath

    Life’s a piece of shit
    When you look at it
    Life’s a laugh and death’s a joke, it’s true.
    You’ll see it’s all a show
    Keep ’em laughing as you go
    Just remember that the last laugh is on you.

    And always look on the bright side of life…
    Always look on the right side of life…
    (Come on guys, cheer up!)
    Always look on the bright side of life…
    Always look on the bright side of life…
    (Worse things happen at sea, you know.)
    Always look on the bright side of life…
    (I mean – what have you got to lose?)
    (You know, you come from nothing – you’re going back to nothing.
    What have you lost? Nothing!)
    Always look on the right side of life…

    Hi Roy, it is so nice to hear from you. That song really does contain a good message, I have always liked it. Thank you for reminding me of it.
    I hear congrats. are due to cousin Doug on becoming a grandpa. Being a grandpa is an amazing thing. But Roy, how did this seem to suddenly happen. Your mother, my Aunt Isabel remains the wonderful, wise head of the entire family. But, how have we all become the older generation? Where has the time gone?
    Is a visit to Winnipeg still a possibility, you had mentioned it some time ago.
    I thank you so much for your kind words on the blog. It has indeed been a success far beyond anything I could ever have imagined. I have gained so much from it, to think others may have benefited and the same time is just such a win/win situation.
    Will be emailing you in the next day or two.

  12. Jennie says:

    I’m so glad you saw the infection so you could treat it Bill.

    Many years ago, most of my left hand was temporarily numb from a nerve injury. Because I couldn’t feel a thing,I rested my hand on a steam radiator so long that I got a third degree burn and had to have a skin graft. A well meaning friend said “Good thing you can’t feel it.” I chuckled because it was true that it was not painful, but if I could have felt the pain, the burn wouldn’t have happened in the first place.

    So I’ve decided that pain, physical and emotional, is usually a good thing. Pain tells us something is wrong so we can do something about it. (I’m also glad there is pain medication to help when there is physical pain we can’t do anything more about.)

    Hang in there Bill and heal that leg.

  13. Mel says:

    *chuckling*

    A bit of Monty Python from Roy–makes the whole evening! Thank you, sir.

    And Bill–I’m good with 222,222. NOT that I’m not greedy….I’m good with 222,222 AND 300,000!

    Fact is, Roy’s probably right…LOL I’m sure I was the 200,000th! (If there’s that recipe for Vi’s lasagna attatched to it, I’m doubly sure!)

    ((((((( Sarah ))))))))

    *sending my best angels*

  14. planetcity1 says:

    (((((Sarah)))) thinking of you and hoping you had a peaceful night…

Leave a Reply

