Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Inspirational followup


I recently can across a post in another blog. It made reference to my blog here in a very complimentary way. Memory guy here can’t remember where it was or I would acknowledge them here. I did not in their comment, the mention of the fact that, inspite of the name of my blog I don’t often mention death.

Well actually, I think I have quite a few times but that is besides the point. I am trying in my own little way to promote living. Living life to the fullest irregardless of our circumstances. We have to face it that often the circumstances of life can suck. Living life doesn’t so much matter the hand we are dealt but instead how we play our cards. How we live our lives with what we have. Do we focus on what we don’t have be that good health, money or what ever or do we focus on what we do have. Live life as it is and enjoy it to the fullest.

Attitude it key. How many times have I written, there are always 2 ways you can look at anything and everything. OK, from my own experience. My life expectancy is much shorter than I would like it to be, now that sucks, it really does. But, then when it comes right down to it, that I am sure will be the feeling of everyone when their turn comes. Life will never be long enough.

I suppose what I am trying to say can be best summed up by a line I heard on a TV show. “The time you have left is shorter than you think. What are you going to do with it.”

Adversity can hit and what are we going to do. The 2 choices, we can curl up in a ball and quite living. “I don’t like the hand in life I have been dealt, so I am not going to try and play it, I quit.” Or, you can say, “I don’t like the hand I have been dealt in life, but this is my life and I am going to make the best of it.” Over the long haul the end result is going to be the same. What is the only difference. It is the way we chose to live our lives, the enjoyment we got out of it.

Every once in a while I hear of a story of someone that is such an inspirational example of what I am talking about. Kendra McBain is a truly amazing example of a person dealt a handful of lemons in life. She with her courage, strength and positive attitude chose to make lemonade. Her story is an inspiration for all and to think she is just 17 years old. I said it in my last post she is my hero and I say it again.

For the past 2 years she has battled a rare form of cancer. She has been denied the vast majority to the high school experience. Her memories of that time will be of chemo etc.. Has all that she has gone through, soured Kendra on life, made her feel sorry for herself, not in the slightest. In fact it is the exact opposite, she is grateful for all those that were there for her and she want to give something back to help others. This leaves me at a loss for words.

Kendra, I don’t know you, but I have gained and grown as a person  from reading your story. I pray all of your life goals come to be. With your positive attitude and obvious internal strength, I have no doubt you will be inspiring others such as myself for many many years to come. Bless you.

Please watch Kendra’s You tube video. I spoke to her mother this morning and do have her home address to which donations can be sent. I am just reluctant to publish it here in such an open form. Should anyone wish to make a donation to her cause please let me know and we will figure out how to get it to her.

Here is the video:

8 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Inspirational followup

  1. shadywilbury says:

    Dear Kendra,

    As somebody who knew somebody who was affected by cancer, I am touched by what you are doing, and wish you the very best of luck in your endeavours. I am sure you will do very well.

    Best wishes,

    “Shady”.

    Hi shady, thanks for stopping by and leaving your message.
    Bill

  2. planetcity1 says:

    Bill:
    Does Kendra or her Mom have a PayPal account? That’s the simplest way to get money to people without them having to publicly divulge a home address.

    Hi PC, thanks for stopping by. from Kendra’s message there is no PayPal in place. Maybe we can figure out something else.

  3. Jo Hart says:

    Hi Bill, I needed this post today. A good kick in the bottom for me. We just found out last night that we have lost another friend 32 who died in a tragic accident. Over the last 6 weeks, we have had 4 friends pass away, family friends run over by a car to spend months in hospital for rehabilitation, mum in hospital, it has just been endless. We had people say to us last night, Geez we don’t want to know you guys any more, your cursed. It really upset me. I have never experienced so much death and misery in such a short period of time, and I am thinking to myself, when is this going to end. Your post today really confirmed for me, stop taking life for granted, feeling sorry for myself and enjoy each and every day we have, as we never know when is our last, no matter what age, sick or not sick. Thanks Bill, you have cheered my spirit up.

    Hi Jo, I am so glad the post helped you. You most certainly have had more than your share of issues over this past while.
    Your friend was joking with the cursed comment but at the moment it was said I can understand you finding it upsetting. Hey, “cursed” or not. lol. I am happy to have you as a friend.
    Draw on the strong inner strength that I know fills your soul and I know you will get through all of this.
    You as always are in my heart and prayers.
    Bill

  4. Kendra McBain says:

    Hi Bill,
    this is Kendra. I just wanted to thank you so much for putting my video up on your blog. The number of people who actually care about what I’m doing is absolutely amazing to me! And I’d also like to take this chance to thank all of you who have commented and said such lovely things. Unfortunately, to answer your question, we do not have a Pay Pal account, the size of the walk is already more than DOUBLE what I could have hoped for, and the response has been overwhelming. I’m hoping to make this walk an annual event so a Pay Pal account is something to consider in the future.
    Thanks again,
    Kendra McBain

    Hi Kendra, I thank you so much for taking the time to comment here on the blog. I am not at all surprised to hear that the response to what you are doing is far exceeding your expectations. The reason for that, young Lady, is YOU. The positive, inspirational way in which you have chosen to deal with the life issues handed to you. Many, including myself are in awe of the brave manner through which you are showing the rest of us, how life should be lived.
    Your cause is a very worthwhile one and I wish you every success with it. Kendra, there are thousands of causes out there that are just as worthy. I see your cause taking off far beyond what many others may, simply because of YOU.
    There is no doubt what you are enduring and have endured over the past 2 years will bring about an out pouring of public sympathy. What can I say it has been such a physically and emotionally painful time for you and your family. Your story can’t help but touch the hearts of any that hear it.
    BUT, you, young Lady have added an even more touching and inspirational aspect to this story. Your wonderfully positive attitude is like a shining light, a beacon we can all follow in our own lives. You inspire others by your example of how to live life. You are a hero. This I believe is what will attract so much well deserved attention to your plans. You are a star and not a victim, good for you.
    I hope as time permits you may return here to the blog and share some of the epic journey of the past 2 years. Many can be inspired to follow your example.
    May God Bless you and yours.
    Bill

  5. Simonne says:

    Kendra,

    What a beautiful and inspiring young woman you are. Clearly you’re an Earth Angel come down to carry pain that others are unable to; here to teach and inspire, that much is obvious. I wish you all the best for the walk and much love and joy.

    Simonne (from Australia) xx

    Hi Simonne, it is so nice to hear from you my friend. I thank you so much for stopping by. “Earth Angel” I think is a fitting description.

    I will try to pop over later for a visit. I do stop by occasionally and see you are as busy as ever. The term “Earth Angel” can just as easily be applied to you.
    Bill

  6. Mel says:

    It’s the effort of the few that bring to so many…. I’m humbled.

    As I should be.

    Bless her heart. And bless the mom who can do no less for her child and the children of others.

  7. babychaos says:

    Made me think. As usual, just when I am feeling a little maudlin (on behalf of my Dad but a bit maudlin nonetheless) I come here and read this.

    Thanks and Kendra, good job!

    Cheers

    BC

  8. Jo Hart says:

    Hi Kendra,
    Please know that my thoughts & prayers will be with you and your family on your walk.
    You are an extremely strong individual who thankfully gives us all a wake up call about what is important in life, and I thank you for that. I’m inspired by your shear strength and courage. Stay true to yourself and know that there is alot of people who are cheering you on. I look forward to the update on how the walk went.
    You rock girlfriend !!!!!
    (((((((Kendra))))))) many hugs to you.
    Keep smiling
    Jo

Leave a Reply

