Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Punishing our bodies


Starting to feel a lot better, not that I was feeling anything but tired. It is amazing how traveling can tire me out. I flew home from my wonderful visit, but based on how tired I was, you could have thought that I had walked the entire way.

Usually, if I decide to have a nap I can drop off the sleep pretty much anywhere. That is unless I am sitting in an upright position. I learned something on this trip. Now I am not sure if this applies to all planes or just the model I was on. If your seat is right infront of one of the emergency exits, the seat doesn’t recline at all. Who knew? Well not me anyway.

Past few days I have been felling a little down. Partly, because of leaving my little princesses and partly I know from just being tired. I slept very poorly my last night there. It was almost like I didn’t want to go to sleep as I knew as soon as I awoke I would be leaving. I wanted to extend my waking time there as long as possible. I think I got about 3 hours sleep and then missed my cherished afternoon nap. I was pooped, but have caught up and the world is better.

Accepting physical limitations is difficult for anyone. I think that this is even more so the case if indeed you limitations are lessening with time. Lessening with time but at a gradual rate almost sneaking up on you. On a day by day basis you don’t even realize it is happening. It is only when you try to exert yourself or push yourself even a little that you can see a difference. A difference in what you can do today compared to say a year ago or sometimes even just a few months ago.

I can now look back over virtually my entire life time and see how I ignored what my body was often telling me, that it needed rest. I was caught on the fast tread mill of life and just pushed harder and harder. No time for a  break or a rest just push through. I can rest later when things aren’t quite so hectic. It seemed though that life just never got any less hectic and proper rest was always that elusive goal down the line somewhere. It is no secret everyone know I take my afternoon nap. I am not sure how many people have made some sort of a comment as to how much they envy that. How they wish they could get a little extra rest but just have no time. Caught on that ever rushing never ending treadmill of life. Constantly rushing forward, but to where and to what? Struggle and fight, push yourself to get through today, just so you can get up and do it all over again tomorrow.

I have heard the expression countless times, “Your health is everything.” We all know this but still fail to take it to heart. We push our bodies beyond their limits eventually to the breaking point, and why? If we truly look at the big picture of life by pushing go hard, by working so hard, what have we accomplished? I can assure you when you realize you are dying, the size of your house or the price tag on the car in the driveway will suddenly make no difference at all. The reality of what is important in life will suddenly hit you in the face and it does have nothing to do with money.

I would hope that any that may read this, would just ask themselves one question! Am I trapped on that “treadmill” of life? Pushing, working, punishing our bodies thinking, life will be easier or better when I just get over that next hill in the road of life. When I get past this one obstical or reach that one goal, life will be better and I can relax a little. If that is the case then wonderful. But, I have to wonder for how many that is true. Is it more likely that we will get ourselves past this one “issue” only to find ourselves immediately facing another. We go in a circle as now we think, once I get past this life will be golden. I think it is more likely we just jump from one “treadmill” to the next, with each moving a little faster than the past. We push harder, punishing our bodies more and more.

When is enough, enough? I am not sure, is it human nature that causes us to constantly strive for more, for bigger, for better? We punish and use up our bodies in this never ending quest.

Wow, just started going and got onto a real ramble here. I started off simply going to say something like: It is only now at this point in my life that I can really appreciate the need for our bodies to rest. That not only applies to me now, but to everyone. In times gone by I have just never realized how important it is.  I suppose my point is happiness, contentment, satisfaction all come from within.
We don’t need to punish or abuse our bodies to attain that.

5 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Punishing our bodies

  1. Irene says:

    Dear Bill,
    I’ve always lived by the motto of “Better to wear out than to rust out,” and prayed for BALANCE. It’s not easy to do. It’s difficult to find and draw the line between our job and our life as sometimes the distinction between the two becomes a little fuzzy. We need to ask frequently: Are we doing things right?, or more importantly–Are we doing the right things?
    Thinking about you often and praying for you always, Wiseman.
    Irene

  2. Jo Hart says:

    Treadmill is the story of my life, and like Irene said, it’s trying to find the balance between it all. I only said to my husband last night, We need to slow down, I’m exhausted. You are right, we put so much pressure on ourselves, gotta pay the house off, gotta pay the car repayments, gotta try and have a life, Gotta, Gotta, Gotta….. Sometimes the Gotta’s get so big, that you do loose focus. Gotta cherish our moments is more important.

  3. Mel says:

    Boy, Bill…… There’s been a few folks (quite a few) that have spoken to me about the hours I spend involved in ‘work’ stuff.

    I don’t think they ‘get it’. It ain’t work! (well–cept for the silly budgety stuff…..ick…..) Honestly, it’s effortless stuff for me.

    I’m a mission based person–and I have been ‘mission based’ long before ‘mission’ became this ‘in and popular’ thing to have. I mean–show me a company today that doesn’t have some ‘mission statement’. But when I talk ‘mission’, I’m talking ‘driven by a higher authority’.
    I’m called to be where I am, doing what I’m privileged to do.

    Between the hours I spend working with kiddos and families for the worksite and working with recovering alcoholics and their families/friends–I know I put in a whole lot of ‘time’ doing what I do. No–I put in a whole lot of time doing what I’m ABOUT. I really don’t consider it ‘work’, though I refer to it as such for the purpose of other’s understanding it’s earthy function. (have I lost ya yet? LOL)

    I don’t spend a lot of time worrying about balance. And mostly the times when I whine and carry one about ‘balance’ it’s more MY deal than it is anything else. It ain’t the bigger car, the bigger house or ‘MORE’ that drives me.

    Honestly, The Big Guy tends to take care of ‘balance’ for me. Somedays I have a fuller ‘agenda’ than others–that I’ll admit.
    It amazes me that I can be weary and suddenly have arrangements made for an afternoon off, or a freed up evening….or even a long weekend. VERY few by my own doing, of course–most clearly orchestrated by The Big Guy.
    There’s also times I’ve thought I couldn’t do any more and I’ve been given the energy TO do more.
    He does a much better job of taking care of me than I do–that I’ll admit.

    I know, in general, we tend to live in a society that’s pushing for the ‘MORE’. Yup–we can set a pretty full agenda for ourselves when we’re letting that drive our bus. Maybe that’s the difference between what you’re describing and what I tend to do.

    *laughing and kicking the soapbox*

    OR…..maybe it’s denial on my part and I really DO need a vacation to Tahiti!?!?

    *laughing laughing!!*

  4. Jo Hart says:

    Go Mel!!

    This is so why we love you!

    (((((((Mel))))))

  5. Cat says:

    I can relate to this one. I’ve had to learn to accept my own physical limitations due to the rheumatoid arthritis. When I think of how much activity I used to be able to cram into one day, it wears me out just thinking about it. These days, if I pack my schedule too tightly and overdo it, boy does my body let me know! Right now I’m enjoying a weekend with no plans or obligations whatsoever, after six weeks or so of overdoing it with a whirlwind of work, social engagements, errands, appointments, and home improvement projects. I was about ready to drop from exhaustion, so it’s wonderful to have this weekend to just hang out in my pajamas and relax.

Leave a Reply

