Dying Man’s Daily Journal – “Good” Friday


Today is Good Friday. A very special day on the Christian calendar. Today is the day we stop to reflect on and appreciate the sacrifice made by our Savior, Jesus Christ as He died on the cross for our sins.

As I am sitting here, it suddenly makes me wonder how did this date become known as “Good” Friday? I suppose I could google it but am to tired right now.

I am in a very deep reflective mood today. Thoughts of death, dying and the After Life are running though my mind much more than they have of late. It took heart attack #5 to jolt my mind back to my reality. If I had to have a heart attack I am glad it was just a month or so before Easter. The heart attack gave me the reality check I obviously must have needed. Easter gives me the chance to recharge my “Spiritual batteries” so to speak.

I write of my strong Spiritual beliefs that have helped my so very much and that is all true. I do have to admit though that there are times especially when I am not feeling well or am really tired, that little questions, doubts or fears can enter my mind. Thoughts like, “what if I am wrong’? No one has ever come back from the otherside so how do I really know? When thoughts like this hit me, I know it is time to recharge those “Spiritual” batteries, which is what I am doing now.

So here is how I see it playing out. Now this is “According to Bill”:

Now, I am really over simplifying. Jesus died, was sacrificed on the cross so that our sins could be forgiven. By “our” sins I mean all generations to come, which includes all of us.

To me this says that God, recognized us as being human beings that would make mistakes and commit sins. If He expected perfection from us or if we were able to attain perfection, there would have been no need for the sacrifice. If we were perfect we wouldn’t be sinning, now would we.

Our Heavenly Father love us all equally, no exceptions. He sees us for what we are, human beings with all the weaknesses that come with that. Does He expect perfection, No. BUT, I believe He does expect us to keep trying. Trying to live the best lives we can on a daily basis, will we always suceed, no, but we must keep trying. What more could a Loving Father expect of his children?

As I see it, living the best lives we can, is doing our part to daily try to make this world a little bit of a better place. The best way I see to do this, is to work on ourselves at becoming a better person. Opening our hearts to others. By helping and supporting others in their quest to become better people we are helping ourselves much more. We develop a love heart to all. Some may think, there is nothing I can do that would be significant enough to make any sort of change. This can be so wrong. Any act of kindness makes a difference, a kind word makes a difference. It well may be that the biggest difference we find with in ourselves.

God Bless to all

10 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – “Good” Friday

  1. Mel says:

    Blessings to you and yours on these Holy Days, Bill.

    (((((((((((( Bill ))))))))))))

    You know me– Love is the greatest gift, always.
    And really, it’s in each of us to give, yaknow?

    *hugs*
    Consider it passed on from this little corner in Iowa. And know I’m thinking of you……

    (((((((((((((((( everyone ))))))))))))))))))

    Blessings to you and yours!!

  2. planetcity1 says:

    Blessings to you and yours, Bill, and to everyone who stops by to share this bit of cyberspace…

  3. Sarah Jordan says:

    Bill,
    I think it’s called Good Friday because if Christ had not been crucified, we would not have received forgiveness and eternal life, so ultimately Christ’s death brought good to human beings.
    When I begin to doubt that God is really there, I remember that our uncertainty is why it is called faith. Does it matter anyway? If God exists, he will have saved us from this life and if God does not exist, death will have saved us from this life.
    I have been up most of the night in death’s fearful grip. I can feel him draw close in an irregular heartbeat, in pain that is new, in breathing that seems more labored, in fear and sadness that are so much worse when I am alone and wrapped in the night. Sometimes I think the worse of this is not knowing when I will die…will it be today? tomorrow? If I knew I wouldn’t have to be so frightened by my heartbeat or the new pain or the labored breathing. If I knew I could treat death as I always have…that blip out on the horizon that doesn’t mean anything yet. The first light of morning is turning my window from black to dark gray…one more night is almost over.
    God’s peace be with you all.

  4. Mel says:

    ((((((((((( Sarah ))))))))))))

    G-d’s peace be with you…..and with us all.

    ((((((((((((((((((( Bill )))))))))))))))))))))
    Joyous Easter Holiday to you, sir.

  5. Cat says:

    To Sarah and Bill, I would like to share something that may help — Sarah with the fear of the other side, and Bill with the occasional uncertainty that there is another side.

    My brother died nine years ago. He had an earache on a Wednesday that became meningitis on Friday and he died on Saturday. It was all very sudden and completely unexpected, but fortunately, there was enough time between his being rushed to the hospital Friday night, shortly after which he lapsed into a coma, and his death on Saturday shortly after noon, for the entire family and many of his friends to come to the hospital to say their goodbyes.

    He and I were only a year apart in age and were very close. He was my best friend. When he died, I felt as if half of my body had been amputated.

    I was at his bedside when he died. Moments later, after everyone else had left the room, I was still standing at his bedside crying and holding his hand. Suddenly, out of nowhere, I felt a jolt of joy and realized, with no small amount of wonderment, that I was no longer crying — I was looking at his face and smiling this beatific smile, and I felt completely at peace. I later mentioned this to his wife, who at the moment that had happened was in the waiting room delivering the news to the rest of the family. She told me that she had felt the very same thing at about the same time.

    I have never again doubted that there is a God or that there is a heaven. That jolt of joy and peace that we both felt was my brother letting us know that he was okay on the other side, and I know that when my time comes, I’ll be joining him there.

  6. Sarah Jordan says:

    Thank you, Cat. When my father died, his grandfather’s clock stopped working at the exact moment of his death. We brought my mom home to gather a few things so she could come to our house to spend the next few days, and the clock had stopped at 7:14…the time of my father’s death. The clock stopped one second in the 50 years he had it? One second out of all the seconds of his life? There is something after this.

  7. Cat says:

    Sarah, that is a really cool story — thank you for sharing it. I don’t believe in coincidences.

    Not long after my brother’s death, his wife moved out of the apartment they had shared. After she carried the last of the boxes down the stairs, she wondered whether she should go back up to the now empty apartment for one last look around, for the sake of closure. She was standing at the bottom of the stairs thinking about this when something shiny on the ground caught her eye. She picked it up. It was a little piece of confetti, like some people put inside greeting cards. It said “I love you” — like this: http://www.chicoparty.com/rediloveyouconfetti.aspx

    She put it in her pocket and got into the moving truck, deciding she didn’t need to go back upstairs after all.

  8. dave sexton says:

    How about Daily Living with Heart Disease as a blog name

  9. JeanL says:

    Praying for you daily.

  10. JeanL says:

    Praying for you daily

Leave a Reply

