Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Respect – Lost????


I read the newspaper, watch the news on TV and here so many others relate daily experiences. I have to just shake my head in wonder.

The more I think of it the more I realize respect is seemingly something a lot of us have lost. I mean all kind of respect, self respect, general respect for others, respect for authority. It just doesn’t seem to be there anymore or at least lacking from what it was in previous generations. Obviously, when I make a statement like this there are countless exceptions to this and I hope you are one of them.

Hey, I am old enough I can look at younger generations and go:  “tsk, tsk, tsk” and wonder what the world is coming to with this next generation. This would be just as my parents I am sure did and as every generation did preceeding them. Then I look around and realize it is not just the younger generation, it is my generation also.

To be clear on what I am talking about I actually went to a dictionary and looked up the word respect.

1. To feel or show deferential regard for; esteem.
2. To avoid violation of or interference with: respect the speed limit.
3. To relate or refer to; concern.

n.

1. A feeling of appreciative, often deferential regard; esteem.
2. The state of being regarded with honor or esteem.
3. Willingness to show consideration or appreciation.
OK, that is what the dictionary says now here is the “According to Bill”:
– to show due respect, all are treated as equals, irregardless of: sex, race, religion or anything.
– to show due respect, males treat all females and all more senor adults (one generation up) with extra consideration.
– due respect should always be shown to authority figures, police etc.. This same respect should be shown back from authority figures. I know this can be a contentious point depend on numerous factors, one of the big ones being where you live in this world. But, think about it and you know what I mean.
I could give dozen of examples of how respect should be shown all According to Bill.
I believe one of the most important area in which all must show is of them selves, Self Respect. Years ago my mother blessed me with this thought.
Every morning at some point whether it be brushing your teeth, shaving what ever, sooner or later you are going to come face to face with yourself in the mirror. Take a good hard look at that person staring back at you. Everything has to have a starting point so for this let it be today. Look at that person looking back at you in the mirror and based on one day only, yesterday. You are not looking at the physical reflection but at the person you know is inside and what they did or didn’t do, said or didn’ say. How do you feel about the person you see before you? Are you proud of the person you see before you? Are you at least content or are you disappointed or embarrassed? If you are pleased, good for you give yourself a pat on the back and carry on to another good day. If you are less than pleased what are you going to do about it? Be accountable for your actions. It can be hard at first but don’t look at the physical you, look at the internal you, the real you.
Why, do I believe self respect is the most important thing of all? With a healthy self respect in place you will stand up for yourself. Settling for nothing but fair and equal treat for yourself. That same self respect will create within you the desire to treat all others with that same fair and equal treatment. Fair and equal treatment, isn’t that what we all really want.
The power that can be contained by just looking into a mirror can be awesome. I have face it for years, lived days, changed actions and many other things, when the thought of having to face the mirror comes to me.
13 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Respect – Lost????

  1. missprofe says:

    Bill, I think that more of us than those in the current generation went to church, where the message of love and respect carried over to home and school. The current generation has lost that.

    Also, people live by their own moral code, no matter how misguided it may be, and, our young people model what they see their parents and the other adults in their lives do.

    I’m still hopeful, but, given what transpires on a daily basis, from Rihanna and Chris to the almost-weekly rampage killings, it’s hard to remain positive about humankind.

    Nice to hear from you my friend. I hear what you are saying and understand where you are coming from in saying it. We just continually seem to be bombarded with more and more stories of what I can only call insanity in so many cases. Based on what we are continually hearing it can be hard to remain positive about mankind.
    As hard as it may be at times we can’t loose sight of the big picture. I believe the vast majority of people are what I call the silent majority. Good kind and wonderfully loviing people that go unnoticed in day to day live. They just blend into the back ground as the small minority of idiots act up and get all the attention, center stage in the drama of our daily lives.
    It is time we recognize that vast silent majority and get them to stand up and be counted.
    Always nice to hear from you
    Bill

  2. babychaos says:

    What’s interesting here is that when you do stand up for who you are and what you believe, when you do manage to do what’s right and not give in it is the most amazing, liberating thing. The world opens up and you suddenly have confidence, the kind of confidence that nobody and nothing can take away. If people made more of that, maybe the herd would stand by its principles a bit more.

    On the up side, t’was ever thus. Don’t quote me but I believe one of the first pieces of translatable written material in existence talks about how the young of today seem to be dissolute and that they will surely bring the world to an end.

    I guess all we can do is stand firm in our own little corner, have faith and hope!

    Cheers

    BC

    Hi BC, nice to hear from you. You are right about the growing confidence that can come from standing up for ourselves. I can only imagine every generation in turn has questioned what the world is coming to with the next generation and we always seem to come out fine. I am sure this will be the case again.
    How is the little one doing?

  3. Cat says:

    Excellent advice! I try to do this self-assessment thing every night before I go to sleep. My goal is always to be a better person tomorrow than I was today.

    The news lately has been awful, but when you start to feel discouraged by it, remember that there is good news out there, too — such as the busload of high school students you wrote about a few posts back who helped someone build a dike during the flooding. The bad news always gets more play in the media, but there are heartwarming stories out there, as well.

    I agree that respect for self and others is severely lacking in our society these days, though. You hit the nail right on the head. If you don’t respect yourself, you can’t respect others. If enough people don’t respect others, then we start to see these horrible stories in the news every day.

    Thank you Cat, you are so right on. What can we do to start promoting respect of others?
    Bill

  4. Sarah Jordan says:

    Dear, dear dying man,
    I am dying too. I’m 63 and female and a life-long smoker who is now predictably dying of lung cancer. I’ve had a turn with chemo and then a few short days with a biological agent called Tarceva which almost killed me. There’s nothing left but a more toxic chemo that the oncologist thinks I won’t survive.
    I’m so sad this morning…so sad to be leaving my three grown children…my babies, my babies I cry at night. Some days I just want to be left alone to mindlessly watch the food network and let the Ativan keep me from screaming…other days I want to be held like a child and comforted. So far the treatments have made me feel worse than the cancer, but that will change. I remember laying motionless in bed after one of the chemos thinking I didn’t know people could feel that sick without dying…and yet now I know that was only a preview. I’m not afraid to die…I’m afraid of the suffering before it.
    I’m sorry, dying man, I’m so sorry you are facing tenacious death at such a relatively young age.
    I’m sorry our measure of life is not what we wanted it to be and that we always thought we had time. I’m sorry that your life is being interrupted right in the middle of your dreams, that your strength is being eroded just as you were about to use it to do that thing you always wanted to do but kept putting off. I’m sorry that no one lets you talk about it the way you want to. I’m just so sorry.
    Love,
    Dying Woman

    Dear Sarah, my heart aches to read of your suffering, you are in my prayers. I wish I knew some magical words that could ease your burden. I would certainly share them with you if I did.
    You are going through a time that is unimaginable to anyone that has not actually been there to know those feelings. It can be a very very lonely time but that feeling together with the physical pain and illness your are enduring, it has to be just unbelievably hard. My heart goes out to you.
    I can not relate to the physical suffering you are enduring, but I can so easily relate to the other feelings you have shared. Like you I do not fear death but I do fear the physical process, something for which we both must be grateful.
    I can understand your despair at the thoughts of leaving your family behind, of having life cut short leaving dreams and plans unfinished, of suddenly realizing all the tomorrows we have always taken for granted as being there for us as suddenly gone. It is hard, almost over whelming to try to deal with, it sucks.
    There is something I can offer you my friend and that is my love, support and understanding. I will always be here for you as will many others that read this blog. I know that prayers are already being said for you all around the world.
    For me, being able to talk about my condition, talk about my feelings, my fears, just to be able to freely talk about everything has been a wonderful benefit for me. I encourage you to do the same, my friend. At the end of your so touching message you stated: ” I’m sorry that no one lets you talk about it the way you want to”. I know that is very hard. I offer my this blog as a safe place where you can talk about anything and everything you would care to. You are welcome to talk about it the way you want to. Please do. Not only will you be receiving my support but that of many many others. Please feel free to lean on us for the support you need.
    I hope you don’t mind but I am sending you an email.
    You and yours are in my heart, thoughts and prayers.
    Bill

  5. Lori says:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_j6IBdHW_rY&feature=related Bill go to this site and listen to the song its beautiful

    Hi Lori, I thank you for sending me this site reference. The song is beautiful, containing such a powerful message. The young man has such a powerful voice for someone so young. Thank you again
    Bill

  6. Mel says:

    ((((((((((( Sarah ))))))))))))))

    I’M sorry. I wish for those things you wish for Bill–strength to do some that you dream to do, the opportunities to love those babies EVERYday and a safe place to just say what’s true for you.
    Please know you can do that here….
    *sending prayers and peacefilled thoughts*

    And Bill–we’ve each been charged with deciding what we want to gift our children with. I dare say you and Vi have gifted your next generation (OUR next generation) with wonderful things…..and for that, I’m thankful.

  7. planetcity1 says:

    ((((((((Sarah))))))))

    i’m also sending prayers and peace-filled thoughts

    Thank you so much

  8. Cat says:

    My thoughts and prayers to you, as well, Sarah, and wishes for your comfort and peace.

    Thank you Cat

  9. Sarah Jordan says:

    Thank you for your kind thoughts.

    Sarah, you are more than welcome. As Mel stated, we hope you will allow us the privilege of your continued company.
    Bill

  10. Jo Hart says:

    Hi Bill,
    I am asking for prayer requests for one of my dearest girlfriends. Her husband has gone missing at sea and we are now on day 5 of the search. They have found the boat, found his friends body, but still cannot find her husband Jason. I will attach the related article in the paper

    http://caboolture-shire-herald.whereilive.com.au/news/story/search-continues-for-missing-fisherman/

    I have spent the last 4 nights on her couch and watched with agony the pain at the thought of not being able to retrieve his body. To have found his mate John yet no signs of Jason is like torture. We have accepted that Jason has gone, but to not find his body is torture for his family. He leaves his wife Tanya & their two girls who are 4 & 6. Please the more prayers we have out there the better.
    Bill I will write a more detailed email to you when I can, I was just wanting to get this prayer request out. We have to have a body, and theirs just no two ways about it.
    I thank everyone for their help
    Jo

    Hi Jo, all are in my heart and prayers as I know you all are with many others.

  11. planetcity1 says:

    Jo:
    I have added Tanya and the Girls to my prayer list. I am thankful that you are with them during this most difficult time, as no one should have to face this kind of loss alone.

    (((((((((((((((((((((Jo & Tanya)))))))))))))))))))))))

    Thank you

  12. Mel says:

    Oh Jo….my heart aches for all of them..and for you.

    ((((((( Jo and Tanya )))))))

    Prayers are being said.

    Thank you Mel

  13. Mel says:

    And Sarah–I do hope you allow us the privilege of your continued company.

    ((((((((((((( Sarah )))))))))))

    Mel, you are so right on with this. It would be a privilege to have Sarah share her journey with us. Sarah and I are exchanging emails, but I do hope she will join us here on the blog.

Leave a Reply

