Dying Man’s Daily Journal – International Woman’s Day


Today is International Woman’s Day. I have to admit until I heard about it on the radio this morning, I didn’t even know there was such a day. Or, if I did, memory guy, has forgotten. So happy Woman’s Day to all.

I checked on the internet and found there is an actual International Woman’s Day Site. I learned a lot from it. Until reading that site I suppose I just had not given it enough thought, but I was shocked when I read of some of the hurtles women have had to overcome. Of, the battles fought though the years to gain equality for women. In many parts of the world huge advances have been made other areas of the world are still sadly lagging behind. Congratulations to all the women that have taken on the cause bringing about the advances we have today. Congratulations to those that are still working and struggling to bring about total equality though out the entire world.

It honestly baffles my mind that anyone could see either gender as being superior or inferior to the other.

If you are a woman, stand tall be proud, celebrate who you are.

If you are a male, show these Ladies the respect they deserve and everyone does deserve it, no exceptions. If you are male and have trouble with that thought, pick up a baseball bat and hit yourself sharply on the side of the head.

7 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – International Woman’s Day

  1. Juanita says:

    “I AM WOMAN HEAR ME ROAR, IN NUMBERS TO BIG TO IGNORE.” Thank you Helen Reddy She helped make me proud that I am a WOMAN!!!!!!!!!!!! THANK YOU BILL.

    Juanita, you roar loud and proud

  2. Mel says:

    Ohmygosh…

    Helen Reddy!

    And Bill, ya made me laugh.
    And you made me even prouder to call you ‘friend’.

    *HUGE hugs*
    Thank you, sir.


    Hi Mel, the pride about the friendship is just as great from this side.

  3. Jo Hart says:

    “Go Girl Power” – We rock

    Jo, yes you do

  4. roy says:

    Hi Bill.
    Good to hear that you are up and going again..albeit, maybe a bit slower, but slow and steady wins the race.
    Couple of things to discuss today:
    1) Too bad we need to designate one day per year to recognize the woman of the world and the progress that they have made. what’s really sad is that for every 1000 days we live, we officially only set aside 2.74 days to show these ladies that they are appreciated. On days like this, names such as Mother Theresa, Marie Currie and Gloria Steinem are often bantied about. I like to look a little closer to home at ladies such as my own mother (Aunt Isabel) who raised 11 children on a labor-intensive farm with large gardens to plant and harvest, chickens, cows, horses, pigs etc. three meals/day to cook, no benefits, no two week holidays in the summer, no cell phones to keep track of us, no microwave (at the time), no tv dinners etc. And she made it look SO normal.
    #2) You wonder what your purpose is with this blog. I think your purpose is to simply reach out to others. Its theraputic for you and its healthy for us to understand some of your travails. It keeps our perspective focused. We live vicariously thru you and then we can slip back into our safety net.
    I have to disagree with “you are part of God’s master plan”. No such thing. I have spent numerous days with clergy discussing this point. God is not leading us around by our noses. God gave man the earth, He gave us free-will. No master plan. I shudder to think that our lives would all be nothing more than a piece of a huge cosmic puzzle that we are never allowed to fully inderstand. If we are all part of a master plan designed by a loving and benevolent God, how do we explain Hitler? Stalin? Tsumanis and Earthquakes? Droughts and famine? Barry Manilow’s music when you are trapped in an elevator? SO MUCH PAIN!!!!!
    Your ability to reach out around the world with this blog is because YOU have chosen a path….trying to made lemonade out of life’s lemons. It’s the wonderful thing called “BILL”. Many people in your situation tend to pull into a shell and wait for the end to come. So much wasted time! You are redefining your own master plan. And I applaud you, I thank you.

    Since we are apreciating women, try this one on:

    Never Lie to a Woman

    A man called home to his wife and said, ‘ Honey, I have been asked to
    go fishing
    up in Canada with my boss & several of his friends.
    We’ll be gone for a week. This is a good opportunity for me to get that
    Promotion I’ve been wanting, so could you please pack enough clothes for
    a week and set out
    my rod and fishing box, we’re leaving from the office & I will swing by the house to pick my things up’
    ‘Oh! Please pack my new blue silk pajamas.’

    The wife thinks this sounds a bit fishy but being the good wife she is, she did exactly what her husband asked.

    The following weekend he came home a little tired but otherwise looking
    good ..

    The wife welcomed him home and asked if he caught many fish?

    He said, ‘Yes! Lots of salmon, some bluegill, and a few swordfish. But why didn’t you pack my new blue silk pajamas like I asked you to do?’

    You’ll love the answer…

    The wife replied, ‘I did. They’re in your fishing box …’
    Never Lie To A Woman…!

    Hi Roy, I really appreciate the comment. Sorry it has taken me a few days to reply. I have had a few things going on and didn’t want to just dash off a few words.
    You are so right about the Ladies and how they seem to go unrecognized or appreciated for all that they do. There are the select few, Mother Theresa etc. that are honored as they rightfully should be for the huge contributions or gifts they gave to this world.
    Approx. 50% of the population is female, and each and every one of them make a contribution. This contribution is sadly so often over looked as it is their job or “lot” in life. Phooey I say to that.
    You mention of your mother, my Aunt Isabel causes me to think of my own blessed mother. I think of the contribution they made to this world or the work and hardships they endured for love of family. They are deserving of much recognition just as are literally millions and millions of others around the world. They should truly be recognized, appreciated and thanked every single day. I say again to all males that don’t see or realize this, go and pick up a baseball bat and apply it firmly to the side of YOUR own head.
    Ah, now to your second point. God’s will vs. my will. This is a subject that often just goes around and around in my head as I do try to understand it. I could go on and on about this, so I am going to do a post on it in the next several days. I will explain how things “really” are “according to Bill”. I do hope you will jump in and share your comments and thoughts on it.
    I thank you for your so kind comments about the lemons and lemonade. Well that is easy to explain, I don’t particularly like lemon but I love lemonade so what else would I do with them. This is a thought that can be applied to so many areas of our lives.
    The joke was a good one, thanks for sharing it, humor is something always appreciated. When we talked on the phone a while back you mentioned how you will be coming to Winnipeg a couple of times in the not to distant future, really hoping to see you. While you are here do you want to go fishing? lol

  5. clary says:

    We have come a long way but there is still more to do. Thank you and congratulations to all the women around the world!!

    Hi Clary, thank you for the visit and comment. You are right huge steps have been made and much is still needed. Let’s just hope we can get our acts together so things do progress much more quickly going forward than they have in the past.
    Bill

  6. Jo Hart says:

    ****Ha Ha I love your joke Roy ***** Must keep that one in mind when my husband has his fishing weekends away…… Only problem is, he does come home smelling like one….. Must remember to put something in the fishing box…..

    Hi Jo. Trev is a good man

  7. Mel says:

    <– laughing at Roy’s joke!!

    G-d love ya, Roy.
    I hear ya! Leastwise about the jammies in the tackle box. *snickering*

    Bill–he’s a keeper. We CAN keep him, right?

    Mel, you have the choice about keeping him or not. I am “stuck” with him as he is my cousin. Don’t tell him, but I am very proud to have him as a cousin. Don’t let him know that though, I wouldn’t want it to go to his head. lol
    Bill

Leave a Reply

