Dying Man’s Daily Journal – A model Patient


I am out of the hospital and back on my feet (at least some of the time). I am taking it easy and getting lots of rest. My chest feels fine and that actually is part of the tricky business of a heart condition. If you have say and injury to your arm you can see it and realize it takes time to heal. If the injury though is on the inside you can’t see it and can be fooled into thinking possibly you are better off than you actually are. That is a fact I still struggle with.

I have taken my morning medications which include the diuretic pills (pee pill). So for the next few hours any thought of a nap is pointless so I am just relaxing here in front of the computer.

The doctors, nurses, support staff, everyone at unit 6 on the 5th floor of Seven Oaks Hospital are wonderful. I really can’t say enough good things about them all, Earth Angels everyone. They got me through this whole thing some times I am sure it seemed inspite of myself. I thank each and every one of them so very much. How can you really thank someone to whom you owe your life?? Any suggestions here would be appreciated. Everyday that I was able I wrote them little “poems” and left them anonymously at the nursing station. I am not sure how many saw them or cared but it if nothing else mad me feel good, trying to brighten their days. Wait, I call them poems, that would mean I consider myself to be a poet, that would in fact be giving myself way to much credit. OK, don’t laugh but here would be an example of one such “poem”.

“Nurses are sent to us from above,

A reminder to each of us of God’s great love,

He placed them here on earth, indeed

To whom we can turn in our greatest need”

OK, go ahead you can laugh. I have never claimed to be a writer or do I claim to be a poet.

I think I only pushed my call button once. I know how busy the nurses are and tried to be as self sufficient as possible.

Many times I have written of how there are always 2 ways to look at everything or 2 sides to every coin. Everything depends on the direction from which you are looking at it. HOW DID THE NURSES VIEW ME AS A PATIENT? Well obviously as a model patient!!! lol.

Next, I will write about how the coin may have been view if looking at it from the other side. YIKES

12 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – A model Patient

  1. Juanita says:

    This comment is for M.K. whoever you are, you are nothing but an idotic JERK. I feel sorry for people like you. Your life must be miserable. Did you even understand anything this man has written. His writings has even saved a life that, I personally know about,gave them HOPE and the will to LIVE.

    Hi Juanita,
    I found the comment to be offensive and deleted it. I think other than for spam, that was the very first comment I have just deleted.

  2. Juanita says:

    GLAD YOU ARE HOME BILL. HAPPY ALL THE PRAERS WERE HEARD. Take care of yourself and stay with us as long as you can.
    LOVE YA

  3. Mel says:

    (((((((((((((( Bill )))))))))))))))))

    Welcome home, model patient!! πŸ™‚

    You gotta know whole bunches of us spent a chunk of time with you on our brains and in our hearts.
    BOY am I glad to see you back in print. And ever so grateful for those who knew how valued and loved you are by us…..they took good care of you–and they took good care of us. Bless them all, yaknow?

    You’re right– you gotta be a bit careful and make sure you’re letting that internal healing happen. I’m sure you will be. I’m sure Vi’ll help you make that happen. πŸ™‚

    And frankly, I have great admiration for anyone who’ll step outside of that comfy spot (that I sometimes spend too much time in) and just LET it look how it really is…and you did that by leaving those poetic notes for the nurses who took such good care of you.
    Can I just say I’m proud of you for that one?
    And I’m feeling really, REALLY graced that I get to have you in my life today.

    So pffffffffffffttttttttt! πŸ˜›

  4. shirley says:

    Bill, Glad to hear you are back home and on the mend. I am sure the nurses appreciated the notes as often caregivers are taken for granted as that is their job.No matter what unit they work, there is a lot of stress involved and they often have their bad especially when they can’t help anymore. However, speaking of the experience of one who lives with me, she meets so many nice patients and their families who truly appreciate what she does and let her know.
    Sending love and warm thoughts.
    Shirley

  5. Lorri says:

    Welcome home, dear Bill. You are in my prayers.

    Don’t overdo it…be wise in that respect.

    Big Hugs!
    Lorri

  6. DDD says:

    Dear Dying Man,

    In any case that poem is beautiful and I feel I can relate to you a lot. I just wake up every morning knowing death is coming and it is so hard for the human spirit to shine at times like that.

    I pray for your health and pray that God will always be with you no matter what.

    I just stumbled across this blog and it is so refreshing and honest…no fancy uppity writing…just pure honest from the heart words.
    I loved it.

  7. Kim says:

    welcome home. you are truly playing the hand you are dealt. i find that inspiring.

  8. Trent says:

    Looks like no more wild latenight parties for a while eh. πŸ˜‰

  9. Betty says:

    Welcome home Bill……so glad that your heart episode was dealt with quickly. Please relax and continue to be positive. Prayer, a positive attitue, and caring family and friends are great healers as we have witnessed through you.

  10. Irene says:

    Dear Bill,
    Just thought I’d stop in and say a quick Hello!! I’ve been thinking about and praying for you. Sure hope you’re having a good day and that you are behaving yourself. Take it easy, Wiseman.
    Irene

  11. Jo Hart says:

    Hey Bill, so glad you are home. Your daughters and brother were our saving grace in keeping us updated with your progress, so please thank them from us for that and taking into consideration us at this time. Rest and get well, we will wait for you to feel better before you come back here. I have some amazing spiritual angel stories to tell you, I have started studying it, and it is amazing. I am loving it.
    So glad and so blessed that we still have you.
    Take care my good friend.
    Jo

  12. Vicky from SA says:

    You have been on my mind, prayers and all since I heard the news…. So happy you are home and back in the land of living. I recently was in the trauma unit in Umhlanga Hospital in SA for a very bad peanut butter allergic reaction .. with a racing heart and breathing problem…on oxygen and 24 hour drip of hydrocort. So I kind of know a little of what you were feeling that awful day. This was my first scare in my life. However, I just kept saying.. I know I will be alright if it is for my highest good and if it is God’s Will. I guess He felt that I had not finished my work here on Earth. So here I am still. This also applies to you Bill… Your blog has inspired so many people and I am sure you are still here to continue with that good work. Your poem is beautiful… you do have a gift (amongst many others). We here in SA wish you well. I have here an affirmation which I ask you to say 3 times each morning and evening out loud in your Sanctuary Room …

    ” Joy! Joy! Joy! I lovingly allow joy to flow through my mind and body and experience. ”

    as taken from Louise L. Hay’s Book “Heal your Body”.

    Lots Love VICKY

Leave a Reply

