Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Global Warming Phooey


Just a quick note to say, I am feeling much better, the increased dosage of the heart medication seems to have done the trick. Plus, I got a different model CPAP machine which is working much better. My world is good, EXCEPT

There is so much talk these days about global warming. Phooey, I say to that. Here in Southern Manitoba we have been experiencing record breaking cold weather. This past Wednesday with the wind it was -50. Try to explain this warming when you are talking to someone outside when it is -50. According to the radio, today we have a little reprieve from the cold it is only -43.

There is a saying, if you don’t like the weather in Manitoba just wait a minute. Now that is not too far off the truth. Tomorrow the forcast is calling for -2. That is a 40 degree change in temperature over night. I think we are all ready for that.

OK, actually, I know the term global warming is a term used to describe the actual warming but also includes overall changes in weather paterns.  I am not sure if this applies to what is happening here, but what ever it is it is GREAT

5 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Global Warming Phooey

  1. dixiegolfer says:

    Hi, Bill. I just recently stumbled upon your blog and have been catching up on your blog. I have read up to May 18, 2008. I was a little concerned when for the last couple of days, the last dated post from you was Jan 10, 2009. Just wanted to say it is good to see you back as I enjoy your point of views on life and on people. As far as the global “warming” comment, I live in SE Georgia, USA and I cannot imagine the cold you guys have up north. We are shivering here because it is supposed to be +16* F tonight.

  2. Jennie says:

    I’m so glad to hear you are feeling better Bill. That must be nice.

    And brrrrrr. It’s hard for me to imagine temperatures that low even though I’ve lived some pretty cold places. I wish I could send you some of the 54 degree sunshine I enjoyed today.

  3. Irene says:

    Dear Bill,
    So glad to hear you’re feeling better and back to posting. I was getting a little concerned as we didn’t hear from you for awhile, but I thought I was having a computer “glitch”!!
    Anyways, about the cold…We’re prairie people. We understand the cold. We know that in those temperatures we don’t fight back by complaining and getting all upset. We use “aikido”–an ancient Chinese martial arts that redirects the force of the opponent rather than opposing it head on. Therefore as prairie people we learn how to bundle up properly and we go outside to ENJOY IT!!! That usually confuses the weather gods. They eventually give up and go away–just like what’s happening now–it’s beautiful weather even though it’s sub-zero. The weather gods will be back though (I guess they’re slow learners!!) But they’ll be wary of us and a little more tired than before. And us prairie people?? We’ll just stare them down and dare them to try and beat us. We’ll win…they just haven’t figured that out yet.
    I’m off to a wedding this morning so even more reason to enjoy the day. Hope you have a great one, Wiseman.
    Irene

  4. Mel says:

    *laughing*

    Himself chastised me for celebrating the 30 degree warm up from -51 to -21.

    *shrugs*

    It’s IOWA–get over it. 😉

  5. ceeque says:

    Hi Bill, just catching up with the world in general and found this about temp. changes. I cannot for the life of me even believe that temps that low are even real!! Here I am in temps as lows as -5 thinking that the whole universe is going to end and that life as I know it must have stopped altogether and then I read stuff like this that simply drops my jaw on the floor!!!
    Brrrhhhhhh …. way toooooo cooollllllddddd….. 🙂

Leave a Reply

