Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Faith/Different Religions


Haven’t been feeling to spry this past while, I think it is due to a change in one of my heart medications. I am not sure if is just adjusting to some side affects or it isn’t working as well, am talking to the doctor today. P.S. Started this post yesterday, have spoken with the doctor and medications adjusted. I KNOW I will be feeling better soon.

This past while of what I suppose you could call quiet time. I have spent time reflecting back on the past year, my life in general and this my blog. The more I have thought about it the more I do really realize I am a lucky man. I know I have said that so many times, I say it because it is true. OK, this whole dying idea kind of sucks and it is sort of a “major” factor in your life. Now, I said the “idea of dying” sucks and it does, I really know. But, until we reach the “big day” it is just an idea, a thought.

So many times I have read the saying that goes something like: “yesterday is but a memory, tomorrow but a dream all we really have is the present.” Today is a present, it is a gift to each of us directly from God. How can we not cherish, appreciate a gift we know comes from God. I know I have, so I assume others have turned to God to pray for a miracle in times of stress or woe. I have come to realize and appreciate that every single day I am here on this earth is a gift from God and is a miracle in itself. We never know when we will be called home and leave this earth for the Spiritual world. Now don’t take me wrong I think that in itself will be a beautiful thing. It is just maybe I am greedy but I am going to snatch up as many gifts from God as I can. (days on this earth). I am going to enjoy and appreciate every day for the blessing, the gift it is.

Here through the blog I have had the pleasure of meeting people from literally around the world. This has just re-enforced in me the knowledge that people are people, it really doesn’t matter where you are from. The entire world really is packed full of nice, wonderful people. Nationality, skin color, religion nothing makes any difference. People are people.

The only thing that separates us is our thoughts, our beliefs.  How can that be enough to cause us to hate each other? As an example let’s take it right back to basics and use one of my “Bill” comparables. Two people go out to buy a car. One is a fan of say GM and buys a GM product, his father always bought a GM and that is good enough for him. The other is a fan of Ford and buys a Ford product, again father always bought a Ford so good enough for him. Each believes the product they purchased is superior or they wouldn’t have bought it. Now think about it they have different thoughts, different beliefs in a particular product. Does that make one right and the other wrong? Different thoughts, different ideas, different beliefs, would that warrant killing each other over. Obviously not. Couldn’t this same comparable or idea be applied to virtually every thing in our lives, in our world. Think about it.

People are people, separated only by thoughts, ideas and beliefs. Whose, thoughts, ideas and beliefs are correct is not for me to judge. While granted there are a few nut cases out there as there always will be causing problems. But, I think communication and understanding play a huge part in the problems of the world. I think it is time we all make a bigger effort to get to know our neighbors. I imagine there are a lot of people that don’t even know their own neighbors just 2 or 3 doors down the street. As individuals, as countries, as religions are we tending to isolate ourselves too much. Are we becoming intolerant of any thoughts that differ from our own? What makes my thoughts better than yours or visa versa?

Maybe, we need a common ground on which to at least start the communication and understanding. As I have been thinking, I realize that dying is one thing each and everyone of us has in common, irregardless of anything. At some point we are destined to die, I hope and pray for many years of loving life time for any that may read this. But, ultimately the day will come.

Now this idea may sound morbid and I certainly don’t mean it that way. It is just that it is something everyone of us has in common and can relate to. Is this a place to at least start dialogue between the regular people. Let’s by pass the politicians and governments and talk as people.

I have today expanded the catagories I normally post into. I have added as many of the great Faiths of the world as I could think of while sitting here.

Often here, I share some of my Christian beliefs. It is not my intent that this be a “Christian” site. I invite and would welcome comments from all. Please share with me your individual beliefs on death and dying or on really anything I suppose.

7 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Faith/Different Religions

  1. i dream of heaven alot. it is real, i know that. i just have complete faith that it is. sending caring thoughts your way friend, nita

  2. ThomasLB says:

    I wrote a post kind of on the same general topic that you might like: link

  3. Mel says:

    “Talk as people”–not as positions or faiths or any of those other things that join us to smaller groups……but as people.

    What a novel idea.

    Seems to be my question for today: Why can’t people just get along?

  4. babychaos says:

    Spot on, I’ve always aimed to treat people as just that the same as me. Sometimes they’re flattered, sometimes they’re deeply insulted!

    Cheers

    BC

  5. Lisa says:

    Hi Bill, I wrote you a long time ago and hadn’t checked in on you in a while but you were on my mind…I had someone say “wonky” to me and it reminded me of you. I love that word and think it is cute. I just wanted to say I know your new meds will help you too. I have such a hard time thinking positive sometimes and my faith is one of the only things that makes me feel better some days. I know others feel the same and am glad for all the faiths which try and heal people…all people. Bless you and I hope you have a wonderful year.

    Kind regards,
    Lisa

  6. serendipity hopeful says:

    Bill, I don’t know which part of the US you are from. I hope you are keeping yourself warm.

    http://novice101.wordpress.com/2009/01/17/calling-all-my-friends-in-america-canada-and-europe/

  7. vicki says:

    and that’s what makes you special Bill… Your beautiful open heart and may such words give strength everyday to your physical beating one 🙂 vicki x

Leave a Reply

