Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Understanding/Frustration


Of  late I have been feeling a little down. But, when I really think on it I realize it is not so much down as maybe frustrated. I know I need to retreat to my meditation chair.

I share things like this in the hope it may give someone, anyone a little better understanding of not just my situation but that of anyone with any illness.

I am not sure if this is a good comparable, but hey, this is my blog and I can use any comparable I like and I like this one. I am trying to relate this to “real” life so maybe everyone at least gets an idea of what I am talking about.

Let’s talk about something even as simple as a TV show. It could be any TV event that is special to you. It could be a sporting event, say like the Super Bowl. It could be the finale of anything say Canadian or American Idol, the season’s premier of a much loved series. You get my point, it is a much anticipated event, eagerly waited for. Let’s go with the Super Bowl as it is an event eagerly awaited for each year by many. You may have even planned a party around the event, much planning and preparation has gone into it. Now picture this, the day has arrived, friends have gathered and mere seconds before the game is to begin the TV goes out. Your cable or satelite system has crashed. How frustrated or upset are you likely to feel, try and imagine. Pretty frustrated and upset I would imagine.

Now sit back and think about it, IT IS ONLY A TV SHOW. Or what you missed watching was ONLY A GAME. Now, while you are thinking about that think of the lives some people are living. It is their bodies that are failing to work or shutting down. Try to imagine the frustration you may feel, if say it was you eyes that has failed to work. There are so many different medical conditions causing so much suffering and with that suffering often comes the frustration of not being able to do the “normal” things in life. I hope that puts a different prospective on things for some. Possibly giving an understanding of the frustration or even impatience shown by ailing loved ones.

I am most certainly not trying to elicite sympathy for my self or anyone else really. Speaking for myself I don’t want or need it. If I want anything I suppose it is to promote a little awareness and understanding of what the ailing may be going through.

A second point just came to me as I am sitting here. Every moment is life is precious and should be enjoyed. Now going back to my TV comparable. If by chance you do find yourself in a situation where say you do miss a show. What is the point in getting upset and depriving yourself of enjoyment, IT IS ONLY A TV SHOW. Here I am using a TV show as an example but this should be applied to virtually all areas of our lives. Before you get upset over anything, stop and think. How important is this in the overall big picture, is it really worth wasting precious moment on.

3 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Understanding/Frustration

  1. Mel says:

    ((((((((((( Bill ))))))))))))

    I thought I got what ‘sick and tired of being sick and tired’ meant.

    And then I got a different dose of it and discovered a whole new level of ‘sick and tired of being sick and tired’.

    *HUGE hugs*

    Mel, my friend you are always in my prayers. Please tell me about this whole new level.

  2. theunhappycamper says:

    Great stuff, I am a homeless man, and reading the stuff you have shared here, is helping me a lot. Thank you for the great gift you have.

    Thank you. I pray that your situation improves quickly. I often say there are two ways to look at everything. Now being homeless is never a good thing no matter where you are. But maybe try to take some comfort knowing you are in Florida. The homeless here are facing temperatures in the -30 to -40 range. I know that is likely no comfort to you, but keep trying and God will see you through this time.
    You are in my heart and prayers.

  3. psychscribe says:

    Hi Bill, Its been a while since I wandered over here. I scrolled down to this post and it was just perfectly what I needed. I was just thinking this morning of how frustrating it is when my own body is failing me, and how no one, NO ONE understands except someone else with a chronic, serious illness. Thank you. This helped.

Leave a Reply

