Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Gifts for the dying


Even as I was typing this title “Gifts for the dying” I realized that it is incorrect. It would be more accurate to call it gifts for all.

I am struggling with the wording for this post as I have it in my heart but getting it out in a way that makes sense, the way that I feel it is difficult. Saturday was my 56th birthday. There have been many times when I doubted I would ever reach this birthday. But, then I doubted I would reach birthday 55 or even birthday 54 and here I am still typing away. I am a very blessed and lucky man.

OK, I give up for 4 days now I have been trying to write a post that has some sort of meaning of message in it. Trying to find words that really convey my thanks and gratitude for all that contributed to making my birthday so wonderful. What more special thing could anyone ask for than to know that acts of kindness were done on my behalf. I do firmly believe that with every single act of kindness no matter how big or small, the world does become a better place. There are what about 6 billion people on this planet. Just think about our world, how much better it could be if each and everyone of those 6 billion people did just one extra little act of kindness each day. Our world is a beautiful and wonderful place to live, not perfect but still wonderful. There is always room for improvement and we are doing that one small act at a time. With the ripple affect of kindness who can ever know how far and wide these wonderful acts have spread. Far and wide I can only hope.

I am struggling with this post because it really has touched my heart so deeply. Finding the words to express that is proving to be impossible for me. I have been writing, editing, deleting, rewriting going in circles until I loose my train of thought give up to try again later. I give up, I am a rambler not a writer. I just hope my rambling conveys the depth of my feeling and gratitude.

I was going to write about each individual act here on this post to acknowledge and thank each individual. But here I kept getting lost flipping from the comment to the post remembering who did what. Instead I am going to respond to each individually on their original comment.

The fact of the matter is, none of these wonderful people did their individual act of kindness expecting or seeking any recognition. All were done from the goodness and kindness of their hearts.

The very best acknowledgement or recognition of something like this comes from within. That special warm feeling, the internal glow that comes from within each of us. You know what I mean that warm fuzzy feeling that we can get inside when we do something unexpectedly nice for another. In a lot or ways I think we often do ourselves an injustice. We are so busy, our minds are so busy we actually fail to realize or recognize when we are doing a kindness. Pass a coworkers desk, see a pen on the floor, pick it up and put it on the desk and carry on without giving it a thought. That my friend was an act of kindness, you didn’t have to do it, but did out of the goodness of your heart. See it as such and allow yourself a moment to enjoy that warm fuzzy feeling.

Why am I encouraging people to allow themselves of feel that warm fuzzy feeling inside over even the slightest thing. To allow themselves to recognize themselves as the good, warm and kind people they are. I am not talking in a boastful way, more in a self awareness way. Plus, I hope when the wonders of that warm fuzzy feeling are in you, it will encourage all to actively seek out that feeling more and more, doing more and more.

To all my wonderful friends that left me all the messages of your acts. I thank you so very much for doing so. What better gift could there possibly be for a dying man or for anyone, than to know I made a difference in the world. Every act of kindness does exactly that. Dear friends I do hope you have that much deserved warm fuzzy feeling going on withing you.

I know you are likely going to be thinking “man oh man” this guy is never satisfied. Well I admit to being very greedy when it comes to receiving wonderful gifts such as these. Guess What?  Christmas is coming!!!!!!!!!

5 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Gifts for the dying

  1. vicki says:

    THAT my dear Bill was elegant and beautifully written and something i have had such a hard time with lately trying to express myself, and so unable to, i chose instead to send a small gift each to those bloggers who have been by my side willing me on… It is such a blessing and i find it impossible to express the power of their support… Because l guess it is the power of their hearts, invisible and yet something i often feel as a ~real~ and tangible thing… It is the gift of Grace that my ‘bloggy friends’ give me, unconditionally and without any selfish thought and it is this that sustains me, on some days it is this that keeps me alive, i am sure, until i find the power again within my own spirit… THIS i believe, as you do, is the stuff of life, the very essence, the life force, these small acts of love from the heart are what life is all about Thankyou today Bill for your beautiful words Love vicki x

  2. clary says:

    Thank you for posting this, it reminded me that acts of kindness cost nothing, I have been worried about not being able to give much this Christmas financially. There is always something we can give others from our hearts. And in relation to the title of this post: Gifts for the Dying, that is all of us, we are all dying my friend, I hope we don’t ever forget that as well and give life all we got.
    Merry Christmas and Happy Belated Birthday!!! Many more for you!!!

  3. Irene says:

    Dear Bill,
    I just love starting my mornings with you! That doesn’t sound quite right, but I usually start my day by checking out this website and it helps me set my daily priorities. It usually makes me straigten them up, set them on a meaningful course, and reminds me that I am here to serve, not to be served.
    About that warm feeling after doing acts of kindness…it’s totally addictive!! Once you start really looking for opportunities to do them you can’t stop. Japanese proverb: One kind word can warm three winter months. (Lord knows we need that quite literally.)
    Thanks again, Wiseman.
    Irene

  4. Mel says:

    Thank you.

    Saying what you said–offering up the gift of a reason.
    Isn’t it funny how sometimes we require?

    k…..not ‘funny’…..yaknow?

    *HUGE hugs*

  5. Amy Klinka says:

    Did you just ever have one of those days, or weeks possibly when you thought no one cared, or maybe just everything seemed to be going against you? I remember a time when I worked in a paper factory and felt this way, but going to work there would be one or two people who would greet me with the biggest smile and say “hello Amy” and I’ll tell you it was maybe a small thing to them, but to me at that time was such a huge thing. You’re right, be kind to others you have no idea what a simple heartfelt gesture can do to a person’s self esteem. It made my day so much better and gave me a little more strength to face the day or week knowing someone cared.
    Smiles don’t cost a thing and can give back so much in return.
    Amy

Leave a Reply

