Dying Man’s Daily Journal – My Birthday


I think I am feeling very nostogic or something. Plus overwhelming feeling of being blessed and so so lucky.

Today is my birthday, I am now 56 years old. There have been so many times in the past when I really never thought I would reach this date or age. It seems almost surreal or something to be able to sit here and say, I can remember 50 years ago when……

OK, I have very few memories of way back when. I do remember crying on my first day of grade one. Actually that is the last time I can ever remember crying, Howdle men don’t cry. I wasn’t crying because I was lonely or scared or anything like that. I had a very sore bum. No the teacher hadn’t given me the strap. There was a teeter tooter in the play ground. My cousin Rick who was a couple of years older than me and therefore bigger and heavier than me. He was on one end I on the other. Because he was heavier he could keep me up in the air. Suddenly while I was up there, he jumped off. I came crashing down and hurt my bum.

Grades one to four I attended a country school. One classroom, one teacher for eight grades. About 3/4 of the kids in the school were my cousins. I think there were likely about 30 kids in the school. I don’t have any real specific memories. The teacher must have divided her time each period between the various grades. Remember how it was back in school. If you didn’t have the answer to a question you could try and hide behind the kid in front of you hoping the teacher wouldn’t see you and ask you for the answer. Now this was a small school 30 kids spread over 8 grades. Well I was the entire  grade one class, I was the grade 2 class….

Took a break, my brother Eric dropped in for coffee and to wish me a happy birthday. Honoring my request for acts of kindness, He and Lynda made a donation to world vision buying school supplies for needed children. I thank you very much.

It is now Dec. 14th. I never did make it back to the computer yesterday Other than to quickly respond to a few wonderful comments.

Yesterday, was my birthday and it was a nice day. I thank all for the phone calls, the email messages, the comments here on the blog and the messages through faceboo. You all helped make my day special and I do thank all.

5 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – My Birthday

  1. Irene says:

    Dear Bill,
    Just had to drop a quick message to say Happy Birthday!! Thought I’d let you know the gift I got you too: We went to Winnipeg a few days ago and stopped at a very busy restaurant for lunch. There I watched a cheerful and friendly elderly waitress dole out coffee to a myriad of customers. With each one she had something nice to say or some helpful errand to run with a smile. When I looked down at her swollen ankles, I knew that each step must have been uncomfortable and that there had to be some really good reason for her to continue to work at her age. So when she came to our table, I thanked her for working so hard to help all of us. I have to admit there were a few moments of silence while we both stared at each other and then she quietly whispered, “I’m all right, deary. Don’t you worry…” God bless her and all who work for a living. Their work is their prayer. Always thinking about you and hope you’ve had a really wonderful birthday. Take care, Wiseman.
    Irene

  2. Jo Hart says:

    Hey Bill, Happy Birthday for Saturday. I hope you had a fantastic day. Love reading all the presents. Your a spoilt man…….

  3. Mel says:

    Oh, Irene……ya made me teary. Bless your soul. Amazing things, kindly words.

    And another fine birthday day to you, sir.
    Birthday MONTH don’tchaknow!
    (cuz I’m greedy like that…..LOL)

  4. Juanita says:

    I HOPE YOU HAVE A VERY HAPPY, HAPPY, BIRTHDAY!!!!!

  5. Amy Klinka says:

    Hey Bill Happy Birthday!!! Belated. Every day you are a present to your family, and a gift for all of us, thank you for letting us into your life.
    Amy

Leave a Reply

