Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Birthday request


I have a lot of saved drafts, being posting that I partially completed but didn’t finish for one reason or another. The most likely reason is that when I returned to it I just couldn’t seem to regain the same train of thought I had started with and just didn’t know if there was some sort of point I was trying to make, I have forgotten what is there and just started an new one on the same lines. Occasionally, I will go back to them and can maybe complete them.

I was poking through them last evening and found one that I had started exactly one year ago today. The timing is right so I am picking it up and finishing it off. Here we go:

Every year I flat our ask for a birthday present from any and all that may read this. Well I am doing it again, flat out asking for birthday presents from all. I am in fact asking for the same present from all.

What is it I am asking for? A simple random act of kindness. This gesture of kindness can be done for anyone. Who it is done for doesn’t matter at all. The what it is exactly again doesn’t matter at all. It can be big, it can be small, it doesn’t matter at all.

I know all do countless act of kindness on a daily basis, I realize and appreciate that. What I am asking for is for just one little extra act be done. Where we specifically look for, watch for any opportunity to do a little something for someone else. Not because we have to, not because it is expected of us. but purely from the love and goodness contained within our hearts. Ever act we preform has ripple effects and will be passed on, how far will it be spread we are never to know. How great will the ripple effect be again we may never know. We are content within our hearts knowing we did something good for someone else. Not because we had to but because we wanted to.

The gift to me is knowing acts of kindness are being done, well to celebrate my birthday. Something like that has to make a person feel good. My birthday is coming up on December 13th and I hope you will share with me what you have done.

Again, as I said the size of the act doesn’t matter or for whom it is done doesn’t matter. What matters is that something is done.

I remember reading a saying some where that went something like this;

“For want of a nail a horse shoe was lost,

For want of a horse shoe a horse was lost,

For want of a horse a message was not delivered and lost,

For want of the message not being delivered a war was lost.”

Did this ever actually happen, I have no idea, but it really illustrates my point about the ripple effect. Can I see that such a scenario could be possible , yes I can. Something as tiny and seemingly insignificant as a simple nail or I suppose the lack of one created such a huge ripple effect. We just can never know how far and how deep a simple act can spread.

Please, let’s all get together and create so many ripples it creates a tidal wave that will sweep the world with kindness and good deeds.

At the top of this page you will see a line containing the various pages I have created within this blog. Click on any or all but today please check out the “spirit within me” page and maybe join my very non exclusive club. I hope to hear from you all.

7 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Birthday request

  1. mspennylane says:

    What a great gift to ask for your birthday 🙂

    Thank you, are you going to grant me my wish? I hope to hear back from you on this.
    Bill

  2. Irene says:

    Dear Bill,
    I love it when you ask for this kind of birthday present! “The hand that gives, gathers.” I’m not exactly sure yet what I’ll do but I’m sure the opportunities will be abundant. It’s always so interesting to see the reaction to these random acts of kindness on the faces of total strangers…what a blast!!
    You’re always in my prayers, Wiseman.
    Irene

    Hi Irene, you are right about how wonderful it is to see the surprised and even shocked looks on the faces of strangers when they unexpectedly receive an act of kindness. I do think the granted of the act receives more than the recipiant.
    Please let me know what you come up with.
    Bill

  3. Mel says:

    Oh, you know me–I’m game!

    Actually, it’s an honour and a privilege.

    *hugs*

    Happy Thanksgiving to you, sir.

    Hi Mel, I thank you for this and am looking forward to what you come up with.
    Bill

  4. Douglas says:

    Dear Bill, I came upon your blog by mere accident and am very happy to have done so. I have just spent the past 4 hours reading many of your posts in an almost mezmarized state. You are showing such courage and strength in doing what you are. I am sure you are helping many, at least me for sure.
    Everything considered I think it is both wonderful and amazing the amount of caring you are showing for others. Should I be in your situation I can’t imagine I could be dealing with it as you are. I see you as being both a hero and an inspiration and I thank you.
    To think you are dealing with all that you are and you still ask for acts of kindness for others, almost unbelievable. Count on me doing many acts of kindness and telling all they are being done in your name.
    I do hope I am not being to blunt in saying this, but I feel I can as I am sure you have already thought of it and that it is not news to you. I am so sorry if this next bit upsets you in anyway. I have read the numbers on survival rates for heart failure patients and see that the odds are against you seeing another birthday. I am sorry if saying this upsets you, but I feel I can say it as I am sure it is something you already realize and are thinking of. Knowing this very well may be your last birthday and for it you are asking for gifts of kindness to others in mind boggling to me and I am sure everyone else. This is such a wonderful thing to be doing.
    I call on all of your readers, let’s spread the word of what this man is doing. Fellow bloggers, use your blogs spread the word. Everyone tell your families and friends, contact your newspapers, radio and TV stations. Think of the human interest story this would be, dying man’s last wish is for kindness to others. We can give Bill his tidal give of kindness.

    Hi Douglas, I do appreciate the eagerness in which you are taking on in granting me my wish and I do thank you for that.
    Be assured your comment did not upset me in any way. I appreciate your candor, direct and to the point is the way I like things. Facts are facts and there is no changing them to suit my or really anyone’s individual preferences.
    Believe me, I am fully aware of the fact I may in fact not reach my next birthday, that the odds are stacked against me doing that. Such thoughts could take the shine off of various times, Christmas, birthdays etc. if I allowed my self to dwell on the fact that this very well could be my last chance to celebrate this event. Such thoughts take me down in spirit and could deprive me of the festive time I have today. None of us know how much time we have left, I want to make the most of each day as it comes. There is nothing I can do to change what tomorrow may bring so no point in worrying about it, just celebrate and enjoy today.
    If anyone should decide to take you up on your suggestions to bloggers and all, that it be done with the emphasize on the acts of loving kindness as opposed to say my health issues.
    Again, I say thank you for your eagerness in this and I do hope to hear from you again.
    Bill

  5. Gina says:

    Happy Birthday Bill. I will definitely give you a birthday girt. I’ll let you know when it happens.

    Thank you Gina, looking forward to hearing more from you.
    Bill

  6. Karen says:

    Dear Bill,

    Happened by chance to your birthday post-I have not gotten the word from the Doctor what is wrong with me,But sence in my heart that it wont be long-Every year we do a christmas party for kids-This year I am unable to fufill the obligation-But many people stepped up to the plate and are doing all of it for me with me just able to sit and delegate. In years past we have had 5-15 kids sign up-this year we are at 37. So I may not beable to do the act of Kindness but all my ladies of the Aux. Have bestowed a great act of Kindness on me.
    Happy Birthday-Our Party is December 13th!
    Karen

    Hi Karen this is so wonderful I thank you for sharing it with me.
    Bill

  7. Count me in! What a fantastic birthday wish.

    Thank you

Leave a Reply

