Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Let Mother Nature decide for you


Weather here in Manitoba right now is not so nice. A nasty combination of freezing rain and snow. Had some tentative plans that would have me away for the weekend. I guess right now we are in a holding pattern, waiting to see what Mother Nature has in store for us today and tomorrow.

Strange how we change over the years. When I was much younger, weather wasn’t even a factor in deciding whether or not to so something. I just cursed bad weather as it would slow down travel time. Storm, no storm it didn’t much matter, if I was going somewhere off I went.

That is until my kids came along. My world was turned upside down and I suddenly became a weather fanatic. NO WAY was I taking them out if there was a chance of a storm. Now, remember I am talking winter storms here in  Canada, they can be brutal.

Maybe, I became older and wiser or something but even after the kids were grown, I never regained that same sense of bravado I once had. Now, particularly in the past few years with my health, I am back to being a total wimp when it comes to strormy winter driving. At least it is early enough in the year that there won’t be that -40 temperature thing to deal with. So I may or may not be gone for a day or two. This is one of those situations I have no control over, that being Mother Nature. So I am not going to sweat it, what happens, happens and I am good either way.

2 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Let Mother Nature decide for you

  1. Mel says:

    Well, I’d like to think it’s wisdom that I’ve found.
    Face it, I was a pretty ‘not smart’ gal–wreckless and invincible, dontchaknow!

    I learned a lot–grew up a bit..and discovered that the very thing I used as a challenge, I also used as an excuse. Bad weather never kept me from getting in the car and going to party away. Bad weather, however, was my excuse to not show up in places that I just didn’t wanna be.

    Was a time when folks said “Mel will be there–she’ll drive in ANYthing!”

    Nowadays, bad weather is bad weather. And I KNOW I’m not invincible and that folks are watching me–including my own kiddos and the staff I’m responsible to. Can’t rightly be saying one thing and doing another.
    And I do have the responsiblity to model what it is that’s ‘responsible’.

    Frankly–there’s nothing exciting about being in a ditch when it’s 40 below! In case you didn’t KNOW that–lemme be the first to assure you that’s TRUE. LOL

    I’ll stay home, thanks.
    Cocoa and a warm fuzzy blankie sound like a better deal to me.

    Cocoa and a warm fuzzy blankie, Bill…….trust me on this one! 😉

    Hi Mel, I can relate to what you are saying about being in the ditch when it is 40 below, not fun at all.
    You brought up an interesting point that I hadn’t really thought of. That being about the bad weather giving an excuse to not go somewhere, maybe there is a bit of a silver lining even in that cold cloud.
    I am getting to old to take the crazy chances I once did with the weather.

  2. 79sparrows says:

    This was very interesting to read. I am much different than my parents when it comes to factoring in the weather and driving. They even frequently remind me that wet leaves are on the asphalt so it may be more slippery. I tease them about it. So this blog made me think….I’m sure I’ll turn out to be the same as they.
    As unbelievable as it may seem some times we do seem to turn out more like out parents as time goes by, maybe it is the aging thing.
    Nice to hear from you
    Bill

Leave a Reply

