Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Aging


I got this amazing message, sent to me via email from my dear blogging buddy Jo. It really touched me and so much of it describes how I feel. I have to share this message.
Old  age, I have decided, is  a gift.

I  am now, probably for the first time in my life, nearly the person I have always wanted to be.  Oh,  not my body!   I sometimes despair over my body, the  wrinkles, the baggy eyes, and the sagging butt.   And often I am taken aback by that old  person that lives in my mirror (who looks like  my mother!), but I don’t agonize over those  things for long.

I  would never trade my amazing friends, my  wonderful life, my loving family for less gray  hair or a flatter belly.  As I’ve aged,  I’ve become more kind to myself, and less  critical of myself. I’ve become my own friend.

I  don’t chide myself  for  eating that extra cookie, or for not making my  bed, or for buying that silly cement gecko that  I didn’t need, but looks so avante garde on my  patio.  I am entitled to a treat, to be  messy, to be extravagant.

I   have  seen too many dear friends leave this world too  soon; before they understood the great freedom  that comes with aging.

Whose  business is it if I choose to read or play on  the computer until  4  AM  and sleep until  noon?

I  will dance with  myself  to those wonderful tunes of the 60 & 70’s,  and if I, at the same time, wish to weep over a  lost love … I will.

I  will walk the beach in a swim suit that is  stretched over a bulging body, and will dive  into the waves with reckless abandon if I choose  to, despite the pitying glances from the jet  set.
They,  too, will get old.

I  know I am sometimes forgetful.  But there  again, some of life is just  as well  forgotten. And I  eventually remember the  important things.

Sure,  over the years my heart has been broken.   How can your heart not break when you lose  a loved one,  or when a child suffers, or even when somebody’s  beloved pet gets hit by a car?  But broken  hearts are what give us strength and  understanding and compassion.  A heart  never broken is pristine  and sterile  and will never know the joy of being  imperfect.

I am so blessed to have lived  long enough to have my hair turning gray, and to  have my youthful laughs be forever etched into  deep grooves on my face.  So many have  never laughed, and so many have died before  their hair could turn silver.

As you  get older,  it is easier to be positive. You care less about  what other people  think.  I don’t question  myself anymore.  I’ve even earned the right  to be wrong.

So, to answer your  question, I  like being old. It has set me  free. I  like the person I have become.  I am not  going to live  forever, but  while I am still here, I will not waste time  lamenting what could have been, or worrying  about what will be.  And I shall eat  dessert every single day. (If I feel like  it)

MAY  OUR FRIENDSHIP NEVER COME APART ESPECIALLY WHEN  IT’S STRAIGHT FROM  THE  HEART!
MAY  YOU ALWAYS HAVE A RAINBOW OF SMILES ON YOUR FACE  AND IN  YOUR  HEART FOREVER AND EVER!


FRIENDS FOREVER!

4 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Aging

  1. mel says:

    Okay, okay….I admit it.
    I was moaning and groaning about wrinkles and white hairs and aches and pains today.
    Geeze……who told!!??!!

    <–done kvetching and is now humbled and grateful

    And you think you’re lucky to have US around?

    (((((((( Bill )))))))))

    (Thanks Jo!!)

    Mel, I am lucky to have you all around, I know it and appreciate it.

  2. Jo Hart says:

    I love this myself Bill. I knew you’d like it….. It definately puts life into perspective, and I’m just not going to worry so much any more about flabby tums & bums, tuckshop lady arms and gray hairs……

    It is wonderful and I do thank you for sending it to me.

  3. vicki says:

    ~Beautiful~
    X:-)

    I agree

  4. Irene says:

    Dear Bill,
    You passed that email along at just the right time…I was feeling kinda low about things and was trying to find something to inspire me. Thanks bunches!!! In my search though, I did find some interesting thoughts about ageing. Brigitte Bardot said something that I thought was unique: It’s sad to grow old, but nice to ripen.
    Hope you have a great day, Wiseman. (Snow and all!!)
    Irene

    Hi Irene, I like that way of looking at it, “it is nice to ripen”

Leave a Reply

