Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Becoming a grandpa TODAY


I can’t really describe how excited I am feeling right now. Today is a day I have been waiting for, for 9 months. Does mentioning 9 months give anyone an idea of what I am excited about.

Yup, I am going to become a grandpa again today. Am I excited, you bet I am. Picture me sitting here squirming with excited and nervous anticipation. Alternate that with a picture of me dancing around the house in excited joy at the pending event.

My daughter Billie and hubby Rob have already blessed me with one grand daughter. My wonderful beautiful, “little princess” Sage. Well today “princess” Sage is getting a baby sister.

As I am writing this Billie is in the hospital having her labor induced. I just got off the phone with Rob and she has had her first contraction, things are moving along. Rob tells me the ETA of the newest blessing to our family is anywhere between 2:00pm this afternoon and 9:00 pm this evening. It is the 1,100 or 1,200 hundred miles that separate us that is stopping me from being outside the delivery room door. Actually, maybe it is a good thing I am not there. If I was in the maternity unit somewhere and dancing around the way I am here at home, it could be a little disruptive. The picture of me dancing around may not be the prettiest one. Hey, I don’t care, I am dancing for joy.

I wasn’t going to write anything about this until after the blessed event occurred and I could make a big announcement introducing my new grand daughter to the world. It is just my excitement, my love, my joy is just bubbling over, I can’t keep it in any longer, I have to share.

I will post updates as events unfold. I have to go and dance with excitement a little more.

UPDATE

I am overjoyed to announce Miss Emery Tache Stapleton has entered the world. A very happy and emotional daddy called me just after 2:00 my time with the wonderful news. Picture me floating on a cloud right up there beside the new mommy and daddy.

I realize when you have an ecstatic daddy talking to an equally ecstatic grandpa that I may have neglected to get all of the details. Exact time of birth, gee, I don’t know and really don’t care. She is here and both baby and mommy are doing fine. I do know she weighed in at 9 pounds even.

The happy daddy declares her to be absolutely beautiful and that they both “kind of like her”. Congratulations to Billie and Rob. I know she is absolutely beautiful and can hardly wait for pictures to come and you know what, I “kind of like her” myself.

To Emery, welcome to this world. You are my little Angel and I love you with all of my heart. You will find yourself surrounded by love coming to you from a lot of different people. Everyone is so very very happy you are here. You are likely very lucky I am not there. You are less than 2 hours old but if I was there you would have likely received about a million grandpa hugs and kisses, already. I can hardly wait to be able to see you, hold you in my arms and give you a great big grandpa kiss right on the forehead. For now at least I have to settle for blowing you a kiss… there I just did.

10 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Becoming a grandpa TODAY

  1. Jennie says:

    Oh, I’m glad you told us that the birth is underway. Now I get to be excited along with you today.

    Bill’s gonna be a grandpa again. Yipee!

    Hi Jennie, it is a really exciting time, thank you for joining in with my excitement.
    Bill

  2. novice101 says:

    Dance away!

    Hi novice101, thank you for stopping by. I am dancing away well sort of

  3. venus00 says:

    I’m excited for you! I LOVE babies. Congratulations grandpa!

    Thank you Venice

  4. Talita says:

    Congratulation grandpa!

    Hi Talita, I thank you very much

  5. Mel says:

    OMGosh!!!!!!!

    She’s HERE already!!!!

    Welcome, welcome, WELCOME little angel!
    (((((((( Emery )))))))))
    What a beautiful name.
    Sage is one lucky sister! (as are you, as are you!)

    Congratulations to the mom and the dad!
    And YEAH for G’pa Bill

    Thank you Mel, I am one happy and proud grandpa

  6. Martha Mihaly says:

    Congratulations to you and your family Bill. Being blessed with joy of a new family member is the most any of us can ever hope for in this world.

    Enjoy.

    Hi Martha, I will enjoy you can count on that. You are right about the blessing.

  7. Juanita says:

    May I please, be the first to wish Miss Emery Tache Stapleton “A VERY, VERY, HAPPY BIRTHDAY”!!!!!!!!!!!! & CONGRADULATIONS, GRANDPA, YOU DESERVE THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Juanita my friend I thank you so very much

  8. Jo Hart says:

    Welcome into the world little Miss Emery. Congratsulations to mum & dad “Billie & Rob”. Another little cherub to love & cherish.
    Congratsulations also to Miss Sage – What a very important role you are about to play as a Big Sister.
    And congratsulations to the dancing Grandpa another little girl to just melt your heart.
    How very blessed you all are, I just love babies…..

    Hi Jo, I thank you very much. I spoke to princess Sage yesterday and she is happy. I am not sure if she is old enough to really understand what has happened. I am excited to see her also, the next time I see her she has promised to teach me “again” how to do jig saw puzzles. Us grandpas sometimes need lessons you know.

  9. Sharon says:

    Oh Bill

    Your excitement was tangible reading that post. I’m moved to tears as with all births of babies, just can’t help myself and soooooo happy for you. Gorgeous name and what an impressive weight.

    Congratulations Grampa Bill – hehehehe!!!!

    Way to go Bill – Wooooooohooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Awwww – with love

    Sharon xx

    Hi Sharon, I do thank you so much. I am one pretty excited grandpa.

  10. mspennylane says:

    Congratulations Bill! I have missed reading your blog for a while! What a beautiful name your new grandaughter has 🙂

Leave a Reply

