Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Self Fullfilling Prophacies


Seem to be having real problems shaking this chest cold. It is much better after the antibiotics the doctor had me on. Seems to have cleared up the bronchitis and just left a chest and sinus cold. Just an annoyance and I know that is all it is but after more than a month with it, it gets to be a little much. Just thought about what I just wrote and got sort of a little chuckle thinking, woe is me, lol. I can just imagine many thinking “Oh, POOR BIG BABY you have a cold”. To that I reply, “yeth I do and my nose is all stuffed up and EVERYTHING”. Poor me, obviously my cold is the worst ever experienced by anyone, oh woe is me.” LOL

Actually, other than this silly cold I am feeling pretty good and am looking forward to the weekend.

I have been thinking of the expression, self fullfilling prophacy.  To me that all applies to your attitude. Suppose something like you have to attend a social function of some sort and in your mind you already know you are going to have a miserable terrrible time. Guess what, you very likely will. Life so often seems to have the uncanny ability to “live up” to or “down to” our expectations. Suppose you have to undertake some sort of complicated work project. If you go into it already just “knowing” in your mind that you can’t do it, that it is beyond your abilities. Guess, what with that attitude you will very likely find you can’t do it, that it is beyond you. Recognize that you need to make changes in your life but just “know” you can’t right now, just don’t have the time or energy to make those changes. Well guess what, those changes will likely never happen, you were defeated before you even started and just never did start. Nothing changes and we just plod on through life.

This all does seem pretty depressing and dismal. Life will seem that way and stay that way, until we realize there is a flip side to the attitude coin. If we flip the attitude coin over in our minds we will see the bright and shiny positive side. It really is amazing how much more we can accomplish in life, how much more we can enjoy life, with the right attitude, the positive attitude. Isn’t what we all really want is to be able to enjoy life in the best way we can. Your attitude will take you a long long way towards being able to really do that.

I am going to try and give 2 examples of what I mean. One from general life as I am sure everyone will be able to relate to it, having experienced it at one time or another. The second as to how I try to use it in my own life.

I know I have written of this before. Let’s assume you have to go to a social function of some sort be it at work, a family gathering what ever. You just plain don’t want to go for what ever reason. Maybe you had “better” other plans or maybe it is something like you know a particular person will be there. Say someone like a cousin coming to a family gathering and you just can’t stand that cousin. You just “know” there is no way you can have a good time with him/her there. For what ever reason you are forced to go. You are upset at having to be there for what ever the reason is. You go in upset, resentful, irritable and sulky. With an attitude like that what are you likely to do? Park yourself in a corner somewhere, ignor most of what and who is around you and have yourself a miserable time. But, hey when it is all over and you make your escape you can have the self satisfaction of being able to say, “see I told you I wouldn’t have a good time.” Life is just to short for that sort of attitude.

The flip side of that coin is so obvious, if we could just see it. Just think, “OK, this isn’t exactly what I would like to be doing but I might as well just make the best of it and try to enjoy myself. Guess what you will find you can enjoy yourself and not waste precious moments being upset. So what if your cousin or who ever is there. Don’t let anyone or anything take way from life as it should be lived. You are giving a person or a situation power over your life. A power that should be held by no one but yourself.

How am I trying my best to apply this to my situation with this whole heart failure business. I admit it took me close to a year to get my head wrapped around this whole thing, it is a bit to take in, especially when you find it applying to yourself. I still have times, days when I struggle with it, but overall I think I have it put properly in place. Many times I have written of how there are always 2 ways you can look at everything. This really fits in here.

Yesterday, I put up a post showing some statistics I found on mortality rates for heart failure patients. OK, I am a heart failure patient so what does it say.

Yikes, 40% of patients die within one year of diagnosis, now that sucks. But, hey just wait a minute that means 60% of patients live longer. There we go the odds are in my favor. I am going to be in that group, no question in my mind what so ever, I am in that group. Hmm, let’s think about this a little more. Who cares about statistics or what other people think? I am not a statistic, I am me, I am Bill Howdle. The good Lord will call me home when He knows the time to be right and I am sure God doesn’t refer to or consider any man made statistical charts.

Am I living in denial? To that I would say no or at least I don’t think so. I consider it to be more of a state of not worrying about it.  I know what the reality of the situation is, I accept that and am prepared for when ever my day may come. I just want to have my attitude in place so I can enjoy and live the party while it lasts.

My doctors have told me a positive attitude can add years to my life. I am ready when the Good Lord calls me but if I can get a few more years through something really as simple as attitude, I am going for them.

Am I creating a self fullfilling prophacy, I suppose only time will tell

9 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Self Fullfilling Prophacies

  1. Mel says:

    OH BOY do I know that I can choose my attitude and determine the quality of whatever gets dropped in front of me.

    Self fulfilling prophecy–over and over and over again.
    I DO like the power I have to decide, today.

    Now, that being said…..I’m SURE you’ve talked with the doc who’s validated that, indeed it IS a chest cold/sinus and nothing more.

    JUST sayin’, Dr. Bill……. LOL

  2. Attitude and outlook are everything…..I love the way you put it as “Self Fulfilling Prophecy.”

  3. Mel says:

    Hmmmmmm…..

    k….I’m just sorta KINDA concerned about you with this ‘cold’ thing going on….. (can’t help it, it’s how I’m MADE, dangit…..)

    Check in, please?
    Thank you muchly, sir….

    Hi Mel, I do apprediate the concern. I am fine just taking a few days off for rest.
    I do thank you for being my friend.
    Bill

  4. Laura says:

    Self-fulfilling prophecy: I like your idea of doing a flip-flop on it. Finally, a positive flip flop.

    When I lived in Israel people in the states used to ask if I was afraid to go out.side My response was that you are aware of the situation, take whatever precautions you can, but you still need to live your life. I guess it’s the commitment to living–and enjoying–life as much as possible that lets us enjoy whatever life brings to us, and which lets us try to reach out and grab that shiny coin on the sidewalk.

  5. Joe Average says:

    Statistics are for populations. They don’t apply to us as individuals. It’s either 100% or 0% for us. You’re alive and kicking… praise God! The ups and downs are part of life; they’re not necessarily bad. They just are.

    Best wishes.

  6. Mel says:

    🙂

    <– joyously and happily going into the day knowing that all is well

    Rest.
    And rest knowing you’re being prayed for and cared about!

    *hugs*

  7. Talita says:

    I have enjoyed reading your journal. I am praying for you! Take care! Talita

  8. Talita says:

    Iam praying for you and your family. Regards. Talita

  9. novice101 says:

    Go for it, my friend. Sure you will get more than a few years. Our beliefs, attitudes and actions mean much.

Leave a Reply

