Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Lost Dog


Today I have to admit I smell like a dog. Granted I haven’t showered yet this morning but there is more to it than that. Was having my morning coffee in the kitchen. Window is open. I hear a dog whining. I go to the window to check it out and there is this husky type looking dog sitting outside looking right up at me. We made like immediate eye contact, sort of caught me by surprise.

Now we are talking a big dog and one that I don’t recognize. Is it friendly, I don’t know, will it bite I don’t know. I don’t really know how to describe this in anyway that will make sense but in that intial eye contact it was almost like I felt a bond of something???? The whining got to me, I wasn’t sure if it was lost or maybe even hurt. I had to go and check. Tail was wagging so I took that to be a good sign. Scratching and patting the head just brought on more vigorous tail wagging. I could see a collar and tags. I squatted down to see what was on the tags and that is when she went on the “attack”, not with teeth but with her tongue. She jumped up to start licking my face, now me being in the squatting position was a little off balance and she sent me flying into the wet grass, yes it is raining. Yup, right on my butt. This gave her the chance to give my face a real tongue licking. As it was raining she was obviously wet and this was also the moment she chose to give herself a good shake. Yup, I smell like a dog but will be changing that in just a few minutes, I need to finish that coffee before I hit the shower.

Oh, on her collar was a city license tag. I called the city and they attempted to call the owners, who are not home. Found out her name is Lizzie. She is obviously well cared for and good dog, just it seems she has decided to take off on an adventure. Have her penned in the back yard until the city gets a hold of the owners. Because of privacy issues they won’t tell me any of that sort of thing.

Now let’s face it this is no big deal. What I do find I suppose unusual about this all is that I have lived here for 4 years now. In that time this is the third time a lost dog has shown up whining on my door step. One was even scratching at the door and No, none of them lived here before with the previous owners of the house. Don’t understand it.

Off for my shower.

4 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Lost Dog

  1. Chippy says:

    Some folks have it, most don’t, I’m the same with cats, regrettably my lovely Nimi died of old age back in May and I can’t really afford to keep another, still miss her though, animals ‘know’ who has an affinity for them and will seek out people like that whenever they can….
    Pete

    Hi Pete and welcome to the site. I am so sorry to hear of the loss of your pet. I do hope you are in a position to get a new cat soon.
    Bill

  2. Irene says:

    Dear Bill,
    I think animals sense when they can trust someone and when they can’t. They really are a lot smarter than we are. Obviously, this big guy figured he needed help and I suspect that dog rumors have it that you are a pretty good guy and that you’d do what you could to help out. On behalf of all of us humans and on behalf of all of the critters out there, THANKS!!! It must be terribly frightening and very confusing for animals that can’t find their owners. Here’s a thought: Heaven goes by favour. If it went by merit, you would stay out and your dog would go in. (Mark Twain) Animals generally ask for so very little: a little food, a little water, a little love and yet they give unconditionally so much back to us. Thanks for giving someone’s companion a safe haven.
    Thinking of you often Wiseman.
    Irene

    Hi Irene, I hadn’t thought of it that way but I am sure you are right about Heaven and the merit thing. I hope and am assuming the story actually has a happy ending. When I contacted the city they wouldn’t give me the owners address or phone number for privacy reasons. At the time I called they were unable to contact the owners but said they would keep trying. I gave them permission to disclose my address and to tell the owners that the dog was in my back yard. I had to go out for a couple of hours, getting my new glasses. When I returned the dog was gone. I hope reunited with the family.

  3. Jo Hart says:

    I agree with all of the above. He obviously new he was in a safe place. God love ya Bill.

    hi Jo, I think the dog must have sensed something, I don’t know. Or maybe just a very friendly dog, certainly seemed to like licking my hands and face.
    Hope all is well with you and yours.
    Bill

  4. Mel says:

    Awwwww……what a good choice for a lickin’ good time!
    Sounds to me like the pup knew exactly where to go.

    LOL I woulda loved to have been a mouse in the corner when she had you on the ground, giving you the once over!

    Hi Mel, I am sure it may have been quite the sight, me on the ground with this big dog jumping all over me. Actually, it was kind of nice, would have been even nicer if it the grass had been dry.
    Be good to yourself my friend
    Bill

Leave a Reply

