Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Two Ways


So very often I have written there are always two ways of looking at everything. I have received this email several times in the past but I just read it here again and it somehow really got to my heart and I need to share it. I love the story and the message at the end. Who can ever know what even the smallest kindest can mean to another. I have written many times of how I never edit or proof read my posts. I just type what ever is in my head and off it goes. I mean who proof reads their own journal and this is what I consider this to be. I copied one of those inspirational emails that we all get and posted it. It seemed to copy over just fine but when published was virtually unreadable. I do thank my dear blogging friend Jill for bringing that to my attention.

Well I have learned I should at least look at it after it has been posted. Yesterday I received a beautiful email. Many times I have written of how I believe there are always 2 ways we can look at everything, 2 ways we can react to any situation or 2 ways we can deal with our daily lives.

I have also done posts specifically requesting all go out and do just random acts of kindness. This is maybe a good time to take another look at one of the special pages I have set up within the blog. Now for any that may not be familiar with the blog if you go to the top of this page you will see a row of titles printed across the page. I believe it starts with home – “spirit within me” – about ect. Click on anyone of those titles and it will take you to a specific page I have set up for a special purpose. Click on “spirit within me” and see I am inviting all to join my very nonexclusive club. OK, actually it isn’t a club at all but just a group of people banding together with a similiar goal in mind. That goal simply to perform acts of kindness, simple as that.

I challenge, I urge all to commit to just 5 minutes a week. Now I know we all have busy lives but I don’t think there is anyone that can’t squeeze in 5 minutes a week. Now I know we all do acts of kindness on a continual basis and that is wonderful. My challenge is to actively look for and then do just one more. What the actual act is doesn’t matter, big or small. What matters is the fact we went out of our way looking for one extra way of showing our love, our support, we did our bit to make the world a better place.

It really is a win/win situation. Obviously the recipiant of our act benefits, but so do we in a much greater way. We get the warm feeling in our heart, we get to feel go about ourselves. Just that extra little bit can make a huge difference and who is to know how far the ripples will travel from that one act. It is a wonderful feeling to know: “I did something good, something kind, not because I was asked to, not because it was expected of me. I did it just out of the goodness of my heart.” Try it, the feeling is wonderful.

This was the end of the email I tried to post.

“We all have thousands of opportunities every single day to help realize the natural order of things.

So many seemingly trivial interactions between tow people present us with a choice:

Do we pass along a little spark of love and humanity or do we pass up those opportunities and leave the world a little bit cooler in the process?

A wise man once said every society is judged by how it treats it’s least fortunate amongst them.

4 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Two Ways

  1. Jill says:

    It isn’t very readable – can you repost in another smaller font so we can read it? Thanks.

    Hi Jill, thanks for bringing this to my attention. I have often mentioned how I never proof read my posts. I guess with especially something like this I should at least look at it after it is posted. Just copied an email over. Not sure how it gets so distorted, will try doing something or even just take it down, that is just to hard to read. Any suggestions on what I can do?
    Hi again Jill, I played with the font and everything I could think of. You are so right about it being difficult to read. I took it down and replace it with my own ramblings. I do thank you for bringing that to my attention.
    Bill

  2. Jo Hart says:

    Hi Bill, thanks for the reminder. I have been so caught up in my own life at the moment that I haven’t had the chance over the last couple of weeks to do anything. If I could get away with cleaning out my childrens wardrobe and sending all the clothes to my cousin for the kids counts,(the mother only packed them a pair of jocks, pj’s and socks each !!) then that would have to be it lately. But as far as strangers go, I haven’t done the random act at all. Thanks for bringing me back to what’s important. (Again !!) I’m bloody hopeless.

    Jo, my friend don’t be so hard on yourself, I know from our emails you have a million things going on right now. We do what we can when we can. You are all in my prayers.
    Bill

  3. Mel says:

    “I did something good, something kind, not because I was asked to, not because it was expected of me. I did it just out of the goodness of my heart.”

    <– joining the ‘bloody hopeless’ corner

    *sigh*

    Dangit……again…….

    Good for you my friend, I am proud of you as always.
    Bill

  4. I enjoy reading through an article that will make people think.
    Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

Leave a Reply

